Snow? It Must Be Time To Get Out The Knitting.

The first snow has appeared on the mountains opposite our house.  Despite taking this from my bedroom window on the top floor, I couldn’t omit the wires but there you go – that’s the reality, I won’t whitewash it.  I could have gone out in the back garden and taken it I suppose but I happened to be in the bedroom when the photography mood came upon me.

First Snow on Pyrenees

Anyway, with the snow my knitting mojo comes back into play although this embryonic lacy scarf doesn’t look as if it would keep anybody particularly warm but I had a 25g ball of Rowan Kidsilk Haze left over from the boyfriend cardigan I made last year and Sheila at Sewchet made some beautiful scarves with this pattern last year so I was inspired.  I’ve never knitted lace before and I found the first few rows a little difficult – I kept losing count of the stitches because the yarn is so fine  – but once the pattern started to establish itself I was away.  I didn’t thread beads on to the first row as the pattern (available here for free) has you do because I’m not sure the intended recipient is a ‘beady’ person and also, that might have been a step too far for my tolerance with ‘fiddly’.

Lace Knitting

What bothers me a little is how this scarf is going to grow long enough to go round somebody’s neck.  I appear to have used about a third of the 25g ball already and it’s supposed to end up around 53inches (135cm) long and the bit above is only about 8 inches so I can’t see that happening.  Does a miracle happen at the blocking stage?

Unlike with sewing, I don’t normally have two knitting projects on the go at once but, as the lace will be a gift, I had to make a start on it and I had already begun a second Drew (boyfriend cardigan) in a different colourway as I already had half the yarn I needed to make another one.  As you can see below, the fine Kidsilk Haze is knitted together with Rowan Kid Classic so is much easier to handle than the skinny one on its own.

Kim Hargreaves Drew Cardigan no.2

Last year I knit a jumper while my Mum was visiting because she knits and we can have some mother daughter bonding time over the needles.  I sort of knew I wasn’t going to like it much so, once finished, it languished in my ‘I Like Big Balls and I Cannot Lie’ knitting bag all summer waiting to be sewn up.

Marble Chunky Jumper

The sleeves were supposed to be holey too but I didn’t do that for a reason I now can’t remember but I’m glad anyway.

It’s O.K. but I don’t love it.

What I do like is the shape – it’s quite hard to find a knitting pattern that is fitted and has a nice scoop neck.

The yarn – and pattern – is from James C. Brett and it’s called Marble Chunky, in case you’re interested.

Marble Chunky Jumper Back VIew

I like the variegated colour and, if I were to knit it again, which I won’t, but if I did, I would omit the holes from the front too.

As with the vast majority of my knitted garments, I will probably only wear this ‘around the house’ as, although I love to knit, I’m not a big knitwear wearer.  Bizarre I know.

It’s always good to end with a cat (or dog) photo in my opinion so here is one of Mac who climbed into my antique bowl while I was trying to photograph it for my shop. (It is a very big bowl)

Cat in Antique French Confit Bowl

I was going to use it as a product photo but thought it might put people off who are allergic to cats but it was too cute to waste so I’m sharing it with you instead.

 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on November 17, 2016 - 12:49

    That lace knitting looks very accomplished, but I am not the one to answer the blocking question, as you know… Just a thought, though; will there be any of the gorgeous heathery colour Kidsilk left? Because if there is, could you integrate it into the grey scarf as an extender?
    And golly, snow already!

    • #2 by tialys on November 17, 2016 - 13:53

      It’s actually a very easy pattern – it’s just the very fine yarn that’s fiddly for somebody more used to using big needles and big wool. That heather colour is lovely isn’t it. I’m hoping I might have some left afterward to knit another lacy scarf. I do have another, part used, ball of the grey so I should be O.K. Nobody else has mentioned having trouble with running out of yarn before the end so maybe it all works out fine eventually. I’ll let you know.

  2. #3 by nanacathy2 on November 17, 2016 - 13:37

    First up beautiful scenery. Are those Alps or Pyrenees? Secondly beautiful knitting, All of it. Lacy scarfs look gorgeous but I have yet to try to knit one. Thirdly beautiful bowl and cat. Mmm a very pretty post.

    • #4 by tialys on November 17, 2016 - 13:55

      Those are the Pyrenees – we’re in the foothills. If you can stand using such fine yarn, it is quite satisfying to see the lace emerging.

  3. #5 by claire93 on November 17, 2016 - 15:41

    lovely knitting and I think your sweater is brill’.
    Cute kitty in bowl too

    • #6 by tialys on November 18, 2016 - 09:44

      Thanks Claire – cats always know how to get your attention don’t they?

  4. #7 by lilbitbritlit on November 17, 2016 - 19:39

    You always sew and knit such lovely items. Cat in bowl is a winner.

    • #8 by tialys on November 18, 2016 - 09:43

      Thanks so much 🙂

  5. #9 by Janice Marriott on November 17, 2016 - 20:02

    No snow here yet ( and this is Canada!) in fact, we are having a remarkable autumn.
    I also like the scoop neck.
    How is etsy going?

    • #10 by tialys on November 18, 2016 - 09:43

      Not too bad considering I’m not putting as much effort in as I used to. How about you?

  6. #11 by Laughing Dakini Tarot: Readings by Donnalee on November 17, 2016 - 20:22

    Lovely photos! The grey scarf is especially beautiful–good luck making it reach the length you hope for!

  7. #13 by Chris on November 17, 2016 - 23:38

    It’s uncanny – I might be your secret doppelganger because I, too, love knitting but don’t wear a lot of knitwear. I just tend to get too hot most of the time. But I’v decided I should teach myself to wear more knitwear and I have started using finder yarns so maybe somewhere knitwear and I will meet.
    The scarf looks lovely. How nice you are to undertake such an involved selfless project!

    • #14 by tialys on November 18, 2016 - 09:42

      It’s true that, if and when I buy knitwear, it tends to be in fine knit (cashmere preferably but that’s not very often!) although I did buy a big chunky jumper from Boden which I almost lived in last winter, although again, only in the house and only when my husband wasn’t here and I couldn’t be bothered to light the log burner. The boyfriend cardigan I made last year is a winner though as I can wear it instead of a jacket or coat and the yarn is so luxurious you couldn’t fail to feel good in it.

  8. #15 by Kim on November 18, 2016 - 10:48

    How strange. I also knit when it gets cold, and rarely wear everything I knit! I’m not sure about the holes in the front of that jumper either – maybe because of the variegated yarn? The pattern looks to be a good one though.
    We had our first snow last week in Northumberland, and it got seriously cold too. Definitely sweater weather!
    Use that cat picture. It’s fabulous 😃

    • #16 by tialys on November 19, 2016 - 14:38

      Luckily the snow is up in the mountains only for the moment – and I hope it stays there as we live on a steep, slippery hill. Just got my winter tyres put on today though, just in case.

  9. #17 by jendavismiller on November 18, 2016 - 20:19

    Oh that view! Not a knitter at all, but love seeing all your makes. Odd that you don’t wear them? I think the holes look nice in the jumper (see how I’m picking up the cross-the-pond lingo?), although I’m glad you left the sleeves without them. I do love your nice boyfriend cardigan. And that shawl will be gorgeous! Our first snow didn’t even stay on the ground, but we’re expected to have the real thing next week! In my opinion, a resident cat makes any bowl more appealing.

    • #18 by tialys on November 19, 2016 - 14:41

      I am getting much more selective about what I knit now as thngs take a long time and there’s no point if they’re not going to be worn. It’s partly the reason I started to knit the big blankets but it has to get really cold before I can bury myself under such a huge woolly project.

      • #19 by jendavismiller on November 19, 2016 - 16:44

        Oh those fabulous big blankets! (They are made with gigantic needles I presume?)

      • #20 by tialys on November 19, 2016 - 20:04

        20mm needles plus 6 strands of Aran weight yarn held together – it’s great fun though!

  10. #21 by Mary S Rickles on November 18, 2016 - 23:26

    Oh use the cute kitty in bowl photo for your shop ~ it is adorable and if anybody is allergic, they can wash the bowl. Besides, a kitty lover would probably buy the bowl just because of that photo. Love your blog ~ it always makes me smile.

  11. #23 by Hila on November 18, 2016 - 23:38

    Ditto what everyone said. Lace knitting = superwoman to me. It really looks so complex. I like the colours of your James C Brett jumper. I must say I have not yet tried variegated yarn and this has made me want to. The cat picture is too adorable not to use. There are plenty of cat lovers out there 🙂

    • #24 by tialys on November 19, 2016 - 14:44

      Where I really like using variegated yarn is in socks. I love seeing the stripes, or even fair isle, effect appear with no effort from me in the colour department at all.

  12. #25 by Oh Sew Tempting on November 19, 2016 - 00:48

    Looks like lots of your readers love to knit but not wear what they make. Me included. It’s the aftercare that puts me off, including washing seperately, lying flat to dry and so on. I love the colours and the shape of the sweater 🙂

    • #26 by tialys on November 19, 2016 - 14:49

      I must admit, a lot of my woolly items lay forgotten in the bottom of my laundry basket waiting for me to be in ‘hand washing’ mood and t can take days for a jumper or cardigan to dry out completely when you have to lay them flat can’t it? I suppose that’s why lots of people like to use acrylic but I’m never completely happy if I don’t like the yarn I’ve used. It’s good for kids stuff and home decor items though as they need frequent washing. There are quite a few washable wool blends around now – although of course some people can’t wear wool next to their skin anyway.

  13. #27 by Molly on November 19, 2016 - 03:45

    Love the kitty in the bowl….I’ll take both of them!

    • #28 by tialys on November 19, 2016 - 14:50

      Ah well, if it’s affected you like that perhaps I should use it as a product photo – it seems to be the consensus of opinion anyway.

  14. #29 by Thimberlina on November 19, 2016 - 17:14

    You kitty photo….it reminds me of the big posters they used to sell in Athena that I couldn’t afford with my pocket money! 😃

    • #30 by tialys on November 19, 2016 - 20:03

      Remember the half naked handsome bloke holding a baby?

      • #31 by Thimberlina on November 19, 2016 - 20:09

        I do, I really think you should have some cards printed at least tho, the pic really does have the ‘aw factor’ 😺

      • #32 by tialys on November 19, 2016 - 20:14

        I should have stuck a sprig of holly next to the bowl and I could have used it as my Christmas card.

  15. #33 by Beads and Barnacles on November 19, 2016 - 18:54

    That lace knitting looks lovely. I love the marble chunky wool but have never knitted anything more than a headband/hat out of it yet, it does make the most squishy headbands though.
    No snow here yet but it is most definitely knitting weather 🙂

    • #34 by tialys on November 19, 2016 - 20:07

      The last things I made with the marble chunky were dog coats and I liked the colours so decided to see what patterns James C. Brett did specifically for that yarn. It was the fitted shape and scoop neck that tempted me but I think I could do without the holes.

  16. #35 by sewchet on November 20, 2016 - 17:56

    I made seven or eight of those scarves as gifts last Christmas, and one ball really is enough unless your tension is very loose and yours looks perfect. What cables? The snow capped mountains are what you see, not the cables – until you pointed them out, lol.

    • #36 by tialys on November 20, 2016 - 20:14

      I know you did Sheila – what a good woman! 😉 I was hoping you would reassure me as to the one ball being enough. It’s funny but, when anybody comes to visit and admires the view, they never notice the wires either.

  17. #37 by Dartmoor Yarns on November 21, 2016 - 00:25

    Love the cat pic! And the jumper is fab. 25g certainly doesn’t sound enough for your pretty lace, but if Shelia say it is, it must be 😉

  18. #38 by Mani on January 9, 2017 - 19:21

    Frankly, I think it’s impossible to waste a cat picture! Do you have any interest in knitting up some pussy hats for the Women’s March on Washington, & regional events? There is a free pattern available.

    • #39 by tialys on January 9, 2017 - 20:05

      The Pussyhat Project sounds like a great idea. As I’m in France it would be very expensive to send any hats to you from here so I’m afraid I’ll have to decline but I wish you every success with your march on Washington and I also hope you have some fun on the day.

      • #40 by Mani on January 9, 2017 - 20:14

        Thanks! Solidarity all over the world makes us all stronger. Be well:)

Leave a Reply

