My Specsavers Moment

My daughter went on her Christmas ‘works do’ on Friday night.  I vaguely remember her telling me where it was being held but it had slipped my mind.

She has a friend called Ricarda.  a pretty young german girl with long blonde hair.

So when she sent me a text with this photo of herself  – in something I took for a flight simulator – I texted back  ‘Fantastic photo – is that Ricarda?’

 

Star Wars Exhibition Madame Tussauds

It was only when Mr. T. , through his incredulous laughter,  reminded me that the company she works for had taken over a section of  Madame Tussauds in London where there is a Star Wars exhibition on at the moment, that I realised  I obviously need some stronger reading glasses.

https://www.madametussauds.com/

chewbacca

Wookie warrior, pretty young german girl – what’s the difference?

Here she is later in the evening fraternising with somebody from Game of Thrones.

 Star Wars Exhibition Madame Tussauds

Only joking about that one but I know this isn’t Carrie Fisher.

Star Wars mania passed me by.

I want to say this was a real Specsavers moment for me but I don’t know that anybody outside of the U.K. would know what I mean.  Specsavers is a high street optician which has the tagline ‘Should’ve gone to Specsavers’ – they’ve even had approval to trademark the word ‘should’ve’ I believe – and, over the years,  they have produced a series of ads with various situations where the person comes a cropper through not being able to see properly.  I know I’ve directed you to a few ads lately so I won’t do it again.

Oh, go on then.

 This is a very good one because of the beautiful music but, I must confess, I’m rather partial to the one where the vet starts to panic when he can’t find a cat’s heartbeat, only to realise he is trying to operate on his assistant’s furry hat.

I blame it on the hideous cold I’ve had – I think it might have affected my eyes.

Back to the arts and crafts next time – I promise.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Janice Marriott on December 12, 2016 - 17:58

    Oh its sad,,,,but at least I have figured out how to see your ads. Apparently I do not get the link on my ipad and have to chuck R off the main computer,,

  2. #2 by Janice Marriott on December 12, 2016 - 18:04

    Forgot to say, I love English advertising, humour sells!
    The only funny North American ads are unintentional,

    • #3 by tialys on December 12, 2016 - 18:48

      Oh dear. Yet, they do write some very funny shows.

  3. #4 by Emmely on December 12, 2016 - 18:30

    They run the same type of ads here in the Netherlands. Now the question is, did she tell/show her friend? 😉

    • #5 by tialys on December 12, 2016 - 18:49

      I daren’t ask!

  4. #6 by katechiconi on December 12, 2016 - 18:47

    Oh, we have Specsavers too… Along with some uniquely Australian-style ads.

  5. #7 by Heather Wadsworth on December 12, 2016 - 19:23

    Oh my goodness that made me laugh! X

  6. #9 by nanacathy2 on December 12, 2016 - 19:28

    Chuckling away to myself. In all honesty I don’t think there is much to choose between the back of one head or another.

    • #10 by tialys on December 13, 2016 - 09:45

      My thoughts exactly!

  7. #11 by Thimberlina on December 12, 2016 - 21:08

    Brilliant!! I’m going to have to show cyber mom this, her life is one big spec saver moment!
    The best being when she went into the opticians in Morley to wait for my sister. The man asked if he could help her, she said no she was waiting for her daughter. He asked her again half an hour later and she said the same again. To which he replied – I think you should’ve gone to spec savers….it was next door, and he was right, my sister was there. 😂😂😂

    • #12 by tialys on December 13, 2016 - 09:45

      Hilarious! I’m surprised the man in the shop didn’t pitch the idea to Specsavers to use for one of their ads 🙂

  8. #13 by Frivolous Monsters on December 12, 2016 - 23:05

    How have they taken over part of Madame Tussauds? How does that work? I don’t think I’ve ever been, but think we got tricked into going to another cheaper version! I forget…age comes to us all.

    • #14 by tialys on December 13, 2016 - 09:42

      I assume that, after they close in the evening, they hire the space out for corporate ‘dos’. Megan’s company were supposed to be in the Marvel comics section which she was very happy about but they obviously crossed frontiers.
      I have no idea what risks Madame Tussauds takes by letting lots of inebriated merry makers loose amongst their waxworks but I expect the money they make from it is worth it.
      When I was a child I went to MT’s a few times but, when I took my own kids I really couldn’t understand the appeal. It was at the time the film ‘Pirates of the Caribbean’ was out and it was rammed to the rafters – mostly with foreign tourists – of full grown adults jostling and pushing kids out of the way to get their photo taken with Johnny Depp, as if he were the real one. Bonkers!

      • #15 by Frivolous Monsters on December 17, 2016 - 02:13

        It’s funny you should say that as just a couple of weeks ago it was a task on The Apprentice to run an after dark event and one team had Madame Tussauds. I didn’t realise they only got a bit of it and find it confusing why MT would lose money and not run these events themselves. The Apprentice people made a disaster of it and all I saw was that they were in the Downing Street bit. You’d think the Marvel section must use a whole lot less wax and a whole lot more plastic.

      • #16 by tialys on December 17, 2016 - 10:28

        I’ve given up on the Apprentice now as the annoyance factor started to outweigh the enjoyment factor but it’s a shame I missed that one – I might get it up on iPlayer if I remember.

  9. #17 by dezertsuz on December 13, 2016 - 06:02

    Love the ad! Now I want to see the vet. LOL Your daughter is very pretty. I looked at that picture, and I thought, “That’s not Game of Thrones … is it? Am I losing it?” LOL Funny about the wookie!

    • #18 by tialys on December 13, 2016 - 09:26

      I don’t know who that girl is – it’s from one of the more recent Star Wars films I think – she certainly doesn’t look very happy that Megan has hold of her spear thingy.

  10. #19 by dezertsuz on December 13, 2016 - 06:07

    Okay, found the vet and that IS a good one, but I also found … John Cleese! Oh my gosh, that was funny.

  11. #21 by themateriallady on December 13, 2016 - 13:09

    Oh dear. Comes to us all eventually 😂

    • #22 by tialys on December 13, 2016 - 13:12

      It’s all downhill from here.

  12. #23 by Postcard from Gibraltar on December 15, 2016 - 00:43

    Haha that’s brilliant!! 😂

Leave a Reply

