Zip It!

 

Considering I’m always trying to avoid making clothes with zips, I have been taking the bull by the horns, facing up to my fears, throwing caution to the wind, putting the zipper foot on and making zippered bags like a woman possessed.

Here are some boxy ones – a shape that I think would make a cool man’s washbag too in the right fabric. Β It’s always difficult finding hand made gifts suitable for blokes I find. Β Unless you knit socks, which I do, but very slowly.

Boxy Zipped Pouches

Some cosmetic pouches (or anything you want pouches).

Cosmetic Bags

I’ve got some lovely linen/canvas type fabrics in my stash that I don’t use for patchwork or clothing so these are ideal.

Everybody’s getting one of these for Christmas this year – maybe even my Stitching Santa partners but I’m not spilling the beans.

A sneaky peak at what I’ve sent my stitching partner and, no, that’s not a cot bumper at the back.

Stitching Santa Wrapped Up

Not to be opened until Christmas morning!

Stitching Santa Sneak View

I found the knitting Stitching Santa a bit more of a challenge for reasons I won’t divulge.

Wood and wool sheet

However, it is packed up – just looking for the right size box and it will be on its way.

dsc_0018-2

So, speaking of handmade gifts suitable for men, I now need to get my act together and finish Mr. T’s quilt otherwise his stocking will be a bit empty on Christmas morning.

How are your festive preparations coming on? Β Why does time appear to pass much more quickly at this time of year?

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by nanacathy2 on December 17, 2016 - 13:51

    I think you should branch into cot bumpers! Very impressed with the zippiness! Your secret Santa recipients are in for a treat and I should know having been the lucky lady last year. I have dispatched my packages now. Zips are my challenge for next year! Good luck with your sewing this weekend.

    • #2 by tialys on December 17, 2016 - 14:51

      I still feel a bit challenged by zips so I think I’ll join you in trying to get really good at them next year. I want to be so good, I can do them without thinking πŸ™‚

  2. #3 by katechiconi on December 17, 2016 - 14:14

    The boxy pouches are great! I really love the dark blue one with the foxy print. I now understand what you meant when you said you’d been in a pouch-making frenzy!

    • #4 by tialys on December 17, 2016 - 14:53

      That’s a nice one isn’t it? – probably destined for my daughter. The first pattern I followed for the boxy shaped ones left the seams of the lining exposed on the inside and I wasn’t 100% happy with that look, even though I’d neatly overlocked them. Afterwards, I found another pattern which hides the seams but I don’t know why I didn’t work it out for myself really – I do tend to slavishly follow instructions, assuming that whoever has written them knows what they’re doing which isn’t necessarily always the case.

      • #5 by katechiconi on December 17, 2016 - 16:00

        I quite often find myself looking at instructions and thinking “Why are they making this so difficult for themselves…?” I think she’s going to love it!

  3. #6 by sewchet on December 17, 2016 - 14:41

    Mine’s arrived and is under the tree! Still working on my sewing parcel….

    • #7 by tialys on December 17, 2016 - 14:54

      Ooh, you’d better get a move on in case the Royal Mail goes on strike or something hideous.
      I’m impatiently awaiting your Lapland photos btw.

      • #8 by sewchet on December 17, 2016 - 14:56

        Ha! Haven’t even put my day out with Marriane in Amsterdam yet!!

  4. #9 by claire93 on December 17, 2016 - 18:46

    lots of lovely zippy pouches Lynn, and I’m admiring all your lovely prints – birds, lamas, boy you have a wonderful selection

    • #10 by tialys on December 18, 2016 - 13:00

      Yes, I am a fabric fiend. I particularly like the linen cotton blends (often Japanese) which are a nice weight and have lovely designs but, although they are a little thick for patchwork, are ideal for projects such as this. They are usually quite expensive too so I general buy small pieces or wait until somebody has a sale.

  5. #11 by dezertsuz on December 17, 2016 - 19:09

    Uh-oh, my stitching one came yesterday and I opened it right up! LOL Your pouches are wonderful, and I can definitely see those square ones for a man. Good for you for tackling something fearsome.

    • #12 by tialys on December 18, 2016 - 12:57

      Susan – you are a devil! I go to great lengths to make sure everything is a surprise on Christmas morning. I have no idea why but I’ve always been the same. I know some people buy their own presents – from their partners or family who don’t know what to buy them – then re-wrap them and put them under the tree. That, I don’t understand, but we are all different I suppose.

  6. #13 by Postcard from Gibraltar on December 17, 2016 - 20:13

    I’m feeling reassured that zips don’t come naturally to you either! Umm glad I’m not alone!! Love your little boxy bags πŸ™‚

    • #14 by tialys on December 18, 2016 - 12:55

      I think I just need to put them in more often instead of chickening out and going down the stretch knit fabrics and overlocker route.

  7. #15 by Dartmoor Yarns on December 18, 2016 - 09:33

    Your bags look so neat. I’m not scared of zips, but they don’t always look great when I’ve done them πŸ™‚ Found my parcel more of a challenge too this year. Still waiting for mine and still need to wrap the one I’m sending.

    • #16 by tialys on December 18, 2016 - 12:54

      I’m still waiting for both of mine too.

  8. #18 by Thimberlina on December 18, 2016 - 11:08

    You’ve been super busy! Apart from my stitching Santa I’ve not made any hand made gifts this year, I’ve not done much shopping either 😳 Is it really only a week away?!?!?!

    • #19 by tialys on December 18, 2016 - 12:53

      It is! I went to a Christmas market this morning – it was literally down at the bottom of the road so I had no excuse – and I saw Santa Claus so I know it’s nearly here. I haven’t done any shopping at all in ‘real life’ shops just online so it was nice to go and mill around somewhere with a bit of a festive feel to get me in the mood (it’s a bit early to start hitting the Bucks Fizz – need to wait until Christmas morning for that).

      • #20 by Thimberlina on December 18, 2016 - 13:08

        Too early for Buck’s Fizz? I didn’t know that was possible πŸ˜‚

      • #21 by tialys on December 18, 2016 - 15:00

        True! and as wine and bubbly stuff is about the only thing that is cheap in France it would be a shame to limit oneself.

  9. #22 by themateriallady on December 18, 2016 - 19:05

    All looking very impressive – I’m sure any given as gifts will be very well received πŸ˜ƒ. I’ve been ill so had The Management post my parcels mid week.
    Enjoy Christmas!

    • #23 by tialys on December 18, 2016 - 23:39

      I’m sorry to hear you’ve been poorly. I hope you are on the mend and will be in fine fettle for Christmas. x

  10. #24 by poshbirdy on December 19, 2016 - 11:08

    Those bags are beautiful. Absolutely love the grey llama fabric. We are well and truly knee deep in Xmas with the first big family gathering under our belt yesterday. Lots of fun (and lots of tidying up to be done) and now really looking forward to the holidays

    • #25 by tialys on December 20, 2016 - 09:54

      Have a wonderful time! Are you in France or the UK for Christmas? – I’m thinking the UK if you at having big family gatherings. I hate the tidying up bit.

  11. #26 by sew2pro on December 19, 2016 - 23:37

    I’ve come to the conclusion that 2016 has been the fastest year on record, and the last two weeks are frankly a blur. But I’m glad I signed up for Stitching Santa (after your recommendation) and sent just the sort of modest, colourful bundle that I’d be delighted to receive myself. I was a bit concerned that nothing had arrived for me till the kids came down with a parcel that had been in the house for a days, bundled up by the postman with something that had arrived for them. Aw!

    I’m sure all who receive them will love the presents you made. Have a wonderful Christmas with your fab sounding family… and other animals.

    • #27 by tialys on December 20, 2016 - 09:57

      I haven’t received mine yet and there are only four more sleeps ’til Christmas – five really but there’s no post on Christmas Day.
      You have a great Christmas too – it sounds like you’ve been working hard and deserve a bit of a rest πŸ™‚

  12. #28 by Jana on December 20, 2016 - 20:20

    Hello Lynn, I just received your parcel and am sooooo excited! U hope I can wait until christmas eve till I can open it all πŸ™‚

    • #29 by tialys on December 20, 2016 - 20:28

      Yes! You must wait – not long now. Is it traditional in Germany to open presents on Christmas Eve instead of Christmas Day? I hope you will like what I sent you – I found it a bit of a challenge as I sew and knit but don’t crochet. Have a lovely Christmas x

      • #30 by Jana on December 21, 2016 - 23:24

        Yes… opening the presents on December 24this traditionally in Germany. Santa Claus is coming on that evening as well. My kid is also very excited about the parcels. He definitely wants to help me and is sure its all for him πŸ˜‰ I am sure I will love it all β™‘β™₯ did you receive your parcels by now?

  13. #31 by Born To Organize on December 26, 2016 - 00:41

    Those are charming little cosmetic bags. I like that boxy shape. I hope you made all your make and ship deadlines. That can feel like a lot of pressure this time of year.

    I think the challenge this time of year is that everything else in life continues (work, household, family) but then you add in gift making or buying, wrapping and shipping, parties and gatherings, etc. It’s a lot. I can’t wait to see all the Secret Santa reveals. What fun.

    Merry Christmas

    • #32 by tialys on December 26, 2016 - 10:05

      Thank you Alys. I hope you’re enjoying the festive season. I’ve got to make another box pouch today – a manly one! My daughter who is living and working in the U.K. is home for Christmas and her boyfriend’s parents (and grandparents) had bought her multitudinous gifts even though they’ve only met her a couple of times. I hadn’t bought him a thing. So I’ll make him a pouch today and fill it with some goodies and she can take it back to the U.K. with her tomorrow and pretend I’d meant to do it all along πŸ˜‰

      • #33 by Born To Organize on December 27, 2016 - 18:40

        You made me smile. I’m glad you can whip up one of these fabulous pouches and fill it with treasures from France. They must be quite fond of your daughter which in turn surely makes you even prouder. I’ve ordered one of your gorgeous sewing boxes for a friend’s upcoming birthday. I can’t wait to see it in person. xo

  14. #34 by Jana on December 27, 2016 - 00:22

    Lynn… I opened my parcel two days ago and I am in love with all things! 😍 The bag, the yarn and the crocheg hook are just great! πŸ€— I am already thinking about what to crochet out of the yarn. Am not sure yet. Any ideas? Scarf, soap, sheep and buttons are also just great. Thanks soooooo much for everything πŸ˜™

Leave a Reply

