Signing Off

F2F Block Swap 2016 Finished Quilt Folded

Just a quick post to show you that I really did manage to finish my ‘man quilt’ in time to give it to Mr. Tialys for Christmas.  Thanks to Kate for organizing nine quilters for the F2F block swap again this year  meaning that,  apart from the blocks I made for myself , I also received 24 blocks from Australia, the States, Sweden, the Netherlands and France all diverse and gorgeous in my chosen colours.  This swap,  just as last year,  helped me to improve on my existing skills and develop some new ones –  foundation paper piecing is my new addiction.

Finished F2F Quilt Full Length

Thanks also to Kate for encouraging me to finish it by blogging about the Quilt As  You Go method which we were both using  to finish our quilts, mine for a Christmas gift and her own for another charity auction to raise money for Ovarian Cancer Awareness which you can see here.

Here’s the back in case he gets fed up with looking at the front where you can see more clearly  – though not too clearly I hope as my seaming wasn’t always spot on (or anywhere near) –  how the blocks are sandwiched together, quilted and then joined with strips.

F2F 2016 Finished Quilt Folded

This quilt will go and live in London to keep Mr. T. warm in his ‘commuter flat’.

Some lovely blocks were sent to me and, because the full length photo doesn’t do them justice, I folded the quilt in half and photographed them separately so you can see each block more clearly.  Unlike Kate I don’t live in Australia and the quilt was too long to hang on the washing line without draping on the frosty grass so I had to take the photos indoors on a larger bed than the quilt is intended for – although it is fairly large at about 65 inches wide x 78 inches long (1.6m x 1.9m).

Here’s the top half

F2F 2016 Finished Quilt top half

and the bottom half

F2F 2016 Finished Quilt Bottom Half

The new – and unintentional – member of the family was testing it out for comfort while I was attaching the binding and I think it passed.  (More about him at a later date!)

Sleeping Cat on Quilt

I just need to ‘sign off’ on the quilt by making and attaching a quilt label which I will do tomorrow and I will sign off on the blog now until just after Christmas when I will hopefully be able to share the contents of my Stitching Santa parcels with you. (Update – received the knitting one today – phew!)

I hope you all have a very enjoyable festive season with lots of good food and good company. Lynn x x 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on December 21, 2016 - 18:04

    Bravo! It looks amazing, and you got yourself over the line with time to spare. Personally, I can’t see much wrong with your seams, but I don’t think other people look with such a critical eye as you do! Happy Christmas to Toute La Famille Tialys, stay warm and enjoy the festivities 🙂

  2. #2 by knettycraft on December 21, 2016 - 18:06

    Wow Lynn, that is really looking great!

  3. #3 by nanacathy2 on December 21, 2016 - 18:15

    It looks fabulous. Congratulations. Happy Christmas. Xx

  4. #4 by poshbirdy on December 21, 2016 - 18:25

    Lovely colours and designs here. Stunning

  5. #5 by Carole Mayne on December 21, 2016 - 18:30

    What a handsome quilt! Beautiful job! Merry Christmas!

  6. #6 by jendavismiller on December 21, 2016 - 18:35

    Marvelous quilt for your hubby. Cozy, gorgeous, and manly….all in one. Enjoy your days off and have a Very Merry Christmas!!

  7. #7 by M. L. Kappa on December 21, 2016 - 19:19

    Wow! Absolutely gorgeous! I love everything about them! Well done! And happy Christmas 🎄🎄🎄💝

  8. #8 by knitnkwilt on December 21, 2016 - 19:32

    That is a stunning color combination and quilt!

  9. #9 by Janice Marriott on December 21, 2016 - 19:50

    what a busy and productive year you have had.
    Have a lovely holiday season, Lynn.

  10. #10 by claire93 on December 21, 2016 - 19:54

    oh well done Lynn! it really is a gorgeous quilt and the backing fabric is brilliant too.
    Happy Christmas to all the family.

  11. #11 by ipatchandquilt on December 21, 2016 - 21:12

    Hip hip hooray! This is an awesome quilt! Your hubby will love it.
    Hugs
    Esther

  12. #12 by magpiesue on December 21, 2016 - 22:24

    It looks fabulous! Congrats on finishing by your deadline. Now you and yours can sit back and enjoy the holidays. All the best to you!

  13. #13 by Frivolous Monsters on December 21, 2016 - 23:18

    I hope you have a happy Christmas.
    All my best,
    S

  14. #14 by Kim on December 22, 2016 - 22:15

    Absolutely gorgeous. I’m sworn to starting The Managements quilt in January. Gulp!

    • #15 by tialys on December 28, 2016 - 11:00

      Ooh, I’m looking forward to seeing what you’ve got in mind. I’m sure you’ll do a great job, a woman of your talents!

  15. #16 by Born To Organize on December 24, 2016 - 17:58

    What a gorgeous quilt! I love the process you’re all following to get these done. And the exchange of ideas, squares, all of it, is inspired.

    I just feel head over heals in love with your kitty. Oh my goodness what a dear.

    • #17 by tialys on December 28, 2016 - 10:59

      Thank you Alys – I find the method much less stressful than trying to fit a whole quilt under the needle of a normal domestic sewing machine.

      • #18 by Born To Organize on December 28, 2016 - 20:25

        No kidding. There are quilt shops here where people bring their finished pieces, then have them quilted on massive machines. I’ve always been intrigued. Years ago I worked in a costume shop for a local theatre and was tasked with machine quilting a border on a period dress. It took me four full days. It was tedious work as it was white fabric quilted with white thread, but oh, what a gorgeous dress. I wish I had photos of the costumes I worked on in the day. I have just one or two.

      • #19 by tialys on December 29, 2016 - 11:00

        I would be very tempted by a long arm quilting machine service I must confess – I understand it’s quite a common thing in the States, not so much perhaps in the U.K. and certainly not in France.

      • #20 by Born To Organize on December 31, 2016 - 03:24

        I’ve often wondered if the quilter feels like they’ve left the finishing work to someone else? It seems like it was once so integral to the whole process. I’ve seen that amazing stitching though, and it’s quite beautiful. Further, why go to the expense of a long arm quilting machine if you are only going to use it a few times. Like anything, lots of pros and cons. I find quilts both gorgeous and fascinating.

  16. #21 by magpiesue on January 1, 2017 - 21:20

    I looked at this finished product when you first posted it and was impressed then by how well it turned out. Now I’m back to actually tell you how fabulous it is – well done! I’ve finally put the binding on my F2F quilt (the first one) but haven’t got much of it stitched down yet. It WILL be finished in 2017, and maybe my F2F2 quilt as well!

    • #22 by tialys on January 2, 2017 - 10:51

      Thanks Sue – I feel so much more confident with my patchwork skills now – although my quilting is still only ‘adequate’. It’s the piecing I enjoy the most though so I’ll live with that. I’m looking forward to seeing everybody else’s finishes and hopefully there will be some to see soon.

  17. #23 by Oh Sew Tempting on January 2, 2017 - 00:20

    It’s absolutely fabulous Lynn! Well done on a great finish 🙂

    • #24 by tialys on January 2, 2017 - 10:48

      Thanks Avis. I will miss the swap after it finishes in February as Kate and Sue can’t organise it again – those two years of F2F really made me step up my patchwork skills and gave me back the enthusiasm for it again too. I should perhaps look out for another, similar type swap to join.

Leave a Reply

