When January is the Cruellest Month

A bit of culture for you today – you can’t say my blog posts aren’t eclectic.

April is the cruellest month, breeding

Lilacs out of the dead land, mixing

Memory and desire, stirring

Dull roots with spring rain.

from The Wasteland, T.S. Eliot (1922)

Yes, yes, that’s all very well but it’s obvious that Mr. Eliot had never tried ‘Dry January’ because I can’t tell you how glad I will be when the 1st of February comes around and I can have a glass of wine.  Here are my own thoughts on which month has a lot to answer for –

 

January is the cruellest month, drinking

Water is dead boring, mixing

Syrup and lemonade, stirring

Dull concoctions without wine.

     from The Wagon, Tialys (2017)

 

bottle-wine-friends-my-chateau-ecards-someecards-share-image-1479837057

Just to be clear – I haven’t got a drink problem but I do like a glass of wine (or two) when I’m cooking the evening meal (and when I’m eating it) – but only at weekends, although I do count Friday as being the weekend.

I expect my liver will thank me but there are four weekends in January – one more to go! – and it has seemed like an incredibly long month.  Now I know how to slow down time.

Cheers!

 

, , ,

  1. #1 by lovelucie1 on January 26, 2017 - 14:48

    I’m somewhat doing dry January. I had 1 glass of wine with a Sunday dinner (twice) and half a bottle of Prosecco last weekend. But for me, that’s pretty dry!!!
    I’ve felt a lot better for it. Slept loads better and generally feeling brighter first thing in the morning so i’m going to try to continue my restraint into February. Your restraint is MOST impressive!

    • #2 by tialys on January 26, 2017 - 17:45

      ‘Somewhat doing dry January’ 🙂 – we could call it ‘Dryish January’. I think I’m only persisting because I know there’s an end to it although the end still seems far away. I must admit that, although I do still tend to wake up once or twice during the night, I am going back off to sleep much more easily but, apart from that, I don’t feel any different.

  2. #3 by onecreativefamily on January 26, 2017 - 16:31

    Dr. will tell you a glass of wine a day is good for your health.

    • #4 by tialys on January 26, 2017 - 17:47

      Exactly! Especially the French doctors. When my doctor asked whether I drank alcohol and I said ‘just wine’ he waved his hand and dismissed it as if wine doesn’t count.

      • #5 by onecreativefamily on January 26, 2017 - 19:21

        Doctor told my grandfather a glass an evening is the best thing for his heart. Best thing for my stress level.

  3. #6 by jendavismiller on January 26, 2017 - 17:05

    I do love a glass of good wine now and then. But how’s this for cruel – January through December, wine, especially red, gives me a headache! However, it appears that very expensive champagne is just fine, oh dear. Good job for hanging in for Dry January. And your wagon poem is a hoot!!

    • #7 by tialys on January 26, 2017 - 17:50

      What a tragedy! Have you tried organic wine?

      • #8 by jendavismiller on January 26, 2017 - 18:08

        No I haven’t! Perhaps I shall go on a minor search this afternoon to find one…..

  4. #9 by CurlsnSkirls on January 26, 2017 - 17:39

    If dry enables such poetry, perhaps . . .
    Or not, as m’lady deserves her enjoyments!

    • #10 by tialys on January 26, 2017 - 17:54

      Unfortunately, as with sewing and knitting, I need a pattern to work with – I’d be no good starting from scratch so I might as well stick with the wine then 😉

  5. #11 by katechiconi on January 26, 2017 - 17:45

    I gave up the sauce a year ago when my back problems put me on strong pain relief; the two don’t mix. Now, drug and (mostly) pain free, I don’t miss it any more, and can take or leave the occasional drink. If I have one a month, I think I’m living dangerously 🙂 Well done on sticking it out; what fun it’ll be having a nice glass of something after a dry month.

    • #12 by tialys on January 26, 2017 - 17:57

      The first of February falls on a Wednesday so, as I don’t usually drink anything during the week, I’ll have to wait another 2 days. But I won’t!!

  6. #14 by magpiesue on January 26, 2017 - 20:38

    Kudos for sticking with it for as long as you have! You’re almost there – one weekend to go!

  7. #16 by claire93 on January 27, 2017 - 10:43

    lol. Any wine gives me a headache, but I do like a glass of Malibu & coke at the weekend (and we don’t have 3 days weekends in this house :p) but I agree with French doctors – a glass of red a day doesn’t do any harm, so enjoy yourself once Dry January is over.

    • #17 by tialys on January 28, 2017 - 09:47

      Malibu and coke!?! – I feel a little nauseous 😦

      • #18 by claire93 on January 28, 2017 - 19:53

        no no – it’s yummy!

  8. #19 by Postcard from Gibraltar on January 27, 2017 - 19:24

    Well done! I can’t do dry January as my birthday falls this month and I’m too miserable to celebrate without at least one glass of wine! I take my hat off to you for your achievement 🙂

    • #20 by tialys on January 28, 2017 - 09:50

      Hmmm. I suppose that’s a fairly good excuse. There’s always February though 😉 . I tried to do it in February last year – I thought I was being clever as it’s a shorter month – but I failed miserably

  9. #22 by Dartmoor Yarns on January 27, 2017 - 21:49

    Ha ha! Love the poetry. I smugly managed 6 weeks last year, but this didn’t manage two this year! Good luck – not long to go now.

    • #23 by tialys on January 28, 2017 - 09:52

      I don’t blame you – you’ve had a lot of stress these past months.

      • #24 by Dartmoor Yarns on January 28, 2017 - 19:33

        That may be true but I was driving home tonight thinking about having chilli for dinner and that it was impossible to have chilli without a glass of red wine – so stress may not be the only answer 🙂

      • #25 by tialys on January 29, 2017 - 11:51

        Some meals just go with wine don’t they?

      • #26 by Dartmoor Yarns on January 29, 2017 - 20:28

        All meals go with wine in my book 🙂

      • #27 by tialys on January 30, 2017 - 12:39

        I usually draw the line at breakfast though 😉

      • #28 by Dartmoor Yarns on January 30, 2017 - 21:55

        Of course – what a heathen I am, Bailey’s is better with breakfast 😉

  10. #29 by Thimberlina on January 28, 2017 - 09:44

    I can give up the booze easily but not cake! Lucie’s comment made me laugh, maybe she’s having a humid or damp January? I bet you’re looking forward to the monsoon in February 😀

    • #30 by tialys on January 28, 2017 - 09:58

      I can take or leave cake/biscuits/chocolate/desserts but dancing round the kitchen while cooking just isn’t the same without a glass of wine – although it probably looks just as mad.

  11. #32 by themateriallady on February 1, 2017 - 16:36

    No alcohol here since mid December on health grounds. I can now confirm that there are truly NO interesting non-alcoholic drinks. I am sure it would be so much easier if there was a more interesting alternative. Well done on getting through January ‘dry’ on just willpower. 🙂

    • #33 by tialys on February 2, 2017 - 10:31

      It’s true – there are hardly any soft drinks I like or at least not as an alternative to a glass of wine. The non-alcoholic Pastis isn’t bad actually but it’s rather a specific taste so, if you’re not keen on aniseed flavours, it wouldn’t do. I hope your health is improving and continues to do so.

  12. #34 by PendleStitches on February 1, 2017 - 18:23

    Marvellous. January is far too grim a month to forsake the simple pleasure of a glass of wine or a gin or two. You are made of sterner stuff than I!

    • #35 by tialys on February 2, 2017 - 10:24

      It was quite hard I admit but, even though it was 1st of February yesterday, I’m holding out until Friday so I can break the ‘fast’ with my husband when he gets back from the U.K. where, he assures me, he has been keeping off the alcohol during the week. I wasn’t there to supervise but one of my daughters was!!

Leave a Reply

