Fusion

Regular readers may remember that I have started  to wave a crochet hook about in what I hope will be a productive fashion.  I’ve made a few practice squares, hearts and circles and am halfway up a multicoloured ‘v’ stitch blanket but I’m also juggling two knitting projects and, like most of us, I can’t remember how many patchwork/dressmaking/commissioned thingies and various other craft projects I have on the go.  When something catches my eye, however, I am very easily persuaded from my path and, when that something involves two of my favourite things – fabric and yarn – patchwork and crochet – that particular bull has to be taken by the horns and run with (or is that against the law now?)

So, in the manner of a fancy restaurant with a mélange of dishes gleaned from various parts of the world and calling it ‘fusion cuisine’, I am combining some double sided fabric squares with a border of crochet and making a fusion quilt – or, if I find it too difficult,  a fusion handkerchief.

Here is a photograph from Fanny Lu Designs showing a corner of her High Tea Fusion Quilt which is where I got the inspiration (and the instructions!)

fusionquiltcloseup

Detail of High Tea Fusion Quilt from Fanny Lu Designs – more photos and tutorial here

I went through a phase of buying charm packs (42 x 5 inch squares of coordinating fabrics for those not of the patchwork/quilting persuasion)  and then never really knowing what to do with them so, although Tiffany uses 6 inch squares in her tutorial, I had two matching Moda charm packs in my stash all dressed up with no place to go so I decided to adapt, save some money and make some room in my stash at the same time – it can always be replenished later after all.

Fabric for Fusion Quilt

I also found a pack of 12 x 50g balls of Rowan organic cotton yarn that I had pounced upon like a woman possessed when it was laid on the floor along with numerous other packs of bargain yarns for  knitters, crocheters and random passers by to rummage amongst  in some sort of woolly rugby scrum.  This was at some forgotten knitting/stitching show I attended at some forgotten time – I am more dignified these days 😉  Anyway, so much did I need that pack of 12 x 50g balls that I still have it, untouched, to this day.  I thought, as it’s a quite nice ‘tea-stained’ colour, it would make a vintage looking border for my vintage looking fabrics and result in a pretty, vintage looking blanket (or hanky).  Plus, as with the fabric charm squares, it would use up some stash and I would end up with a free quilt.   ‘Free’ is a relative term when you are somebody who stockpiles yarn and fabric as you probably know if you have been interested enough to read this far.

Test Sqaure for Fusion Quilt

Here is my first attempt.  I quite like the colour but the yarn is a double knit and the Fanny Lu design uses a fingering weight (4-ply?) baby wool so it looks a little ‘thick’ and not as delicate as I might have liked.  Also, that Rowan cotton is a mare for splitting and I didn’t fancy doing the whole blanket faffing about with split yarn, not at my novice stage.

So, I faced the fear and ordered a huge cone of ivory cotton 4-ply from eBay.  I had it delivered to Mr. T’s office in London.  When I spoke to him on the phone he asked me why I’d ordered a large spool of string.  The fear returned.

4 PLY YARN CONE

I had a go with another pair of squares and the ‘string’ and I think this looks a bit more like the original idea of a delicate blanket with a vintage look.

FUSION QUILT TEST SQUARE 2

I think the thicker yarn would also work – though not the splitty stuff unless you are a complete whizz with the hook and that stuff doesn’t bother you – but, obviously, it would give the finished blanket a different look.

Fusion Quilt Test Squares 1 & 2

Which do you prefer?

So, I’m going to make this a project I do with my sewing buddy on a Wednesday as we have ‘finished’ our Friendship Braid quilts we were making together.   I say ‘finished’ but only the tops are done though we will complete the rest of it as individuals.  Maybe.   By contrast, this blanket can be made in small pieces and we can crochet the borders while having a chat and complaining about things in France and in general – at least I think that’s what we’re doing, my French isn’t perfect.  My crochet skills aren’t perfect either – far from it – so I will probably get carried away from time to time moaning about French drivers (they don’t indicate – you’d think there was a tax on using the indicators or something), the lack of any decent restaurants round here (we’re in France for God’s sake!), the amount of dog poo on the pavements and anything else that takes us on the day and then I’ll have to undo what I’ve done and start again which, I must say, seems to be a lot easier with crochet than with knitting.  Just as well as it’s not easy, putting the world to rights.

Time will tell whether I end up with a blanket, a table mat or a handkerchief or just lots of fabric squares with crochet borders waiting, at the bottom of a basket in a corner of my workroom, to be joined together which of course is yet another possibility.

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by claire93 on March 9, 2017 - 13:56

    as always, I had a good chuckle reading your post . . . especially with the image of a wooly rugy scrum now in my mind! I think your new project looks perfectly do-able, and have a preference for the “string”. It makes for a finer border, and will probably blend in better with your fabrics. Maybe, in order not to end up with a basket full of crocheted fabric squares, you could start joining things together, in rows, once you have the required amount. That would be easy to work on, while setting the world to rights, at your crafty gathering and make the job less daunting at the end, if faced with 42 smaller bits to stitch together.

    • #2 by tialys on March 9, 2017 - 16:40

      Yes, I’m definitely going to whipstitch those squares together ‘as I go’ especially as there are two charm packs to get through!!

  2. #3 by cruisingblogger on March 9, 2017 - 14:10

    Lovely! I dare NOT start another project at the moment, but have bookmarked it for future reference!

    • #4 by tialys on March 9, 2017 - 16:42

      Aah! The bookmarked projects. It’s like another ‘to do list’ isn’t it? I try not to look at what I’ve bookmarked too often or I might spontaneously combust with the sheer impossibility of doing all the things I want to do.

  3. #5 by M. L. Kappa on March 9, 2017 - 14:18

    You’re just like me with art supplies! Always needing more! I’m hopeless at sewing and have only made a tiny quilt once, plain squares for my first baby, but I love fabric and really enjoy seeing your work. I prefer the string look too, btw.

    • #6 by tialys on March 9, 2017 - 16:43

      We all have our talents and I have absolutely none for painting or drawing. Do you still have that first little quilt?

      • #7 by M. L. Kappa on March 11, 2017 - 12:38

        Yes! It’s been washed umpteen times, and used by all the family babies one after the other. Just plain squares.

      • #8 by tialys on March 12, 2017 - 09:33

        Well, there’s no better sign of a good quilt!

  4. #9 by nanacathy2 on March 9, 2017 - 14:35

    So pretty and I prefer the lighter colour.

    • #10 by tialys on March 9, 2017 - 16:44

      Yes, definitely with those fabrics. I’ll have to find something else to do with the hard won splitty Rowan.

  5. #11 by katechiconi on March 9, 2017 - 16:24

    String good, brownish stuff not quite so good, but it would actually make a warmer and more robust quilt, so don’t abandon the idea of using it – you just need to use the right (different) fabrics. Once you’ve finished your more delicate version (I have complete faith in you!), you may be ready for something a bit warmer to cover your lap! 🙂

    • #12 by tialys on March 9, 2017 - 16:45

      I have the impression that one of these might well be enough but we’ll see how long it takes and how much I enjoy doing it.

      • #13 by katechiconi on March 9, 2017 - 16:56

        I hope you manage to use up all that ‘string’….

      • #14 by tialys on March 9, 2017 - 17:12

        You just reminded me of a poem in a Spike Milligan book I had as a child – Silly Verse for Kids I think it was called.

        String is a very important thing.
        Rope is thicker
        but string is quicker.

        🙂

      • #15 by katechiconi on March 9, 2017 - 17:19

        Yup, that sounds like the immortal Spike…

  6. #16 by Thimberlina on March 9, 2017 - 23:36

    Oooo! I like the look of this project, i can’t wait to see it grow. I might even have a look at the link, I’ll be needing a mobile project for the upcoming cricket season 😃

    • #17 by Thimberlina on March 9, 2017 - 23:42

      I’ve just had a look, it’s a fab tutorial, very thorough 😃

      • #18 by tialys on March 10, 2017 - 00:59

        It is a really good tute isn’t it? If you make up the squares at home the crochet part would make the perfect holiday – or cricket match – project.

  7. #19 by delightfullypeculiar on March 10, 2017 - 09:41

    Sorry I had to laugh at the string description! I love everything about this project. I like the colour combination. Of blue and brown? But I agree the string works better, it looks more polished. Either way I have a feeling it will be great whatever it is that you end up making!

    • #20 by tialys on March 10, 2017 - 11:43

      The ‘string’ is actually not too bad to work with unless you mess with it too much and then it starts to separate a little bit. Better get it right first time then!!

  8. #21 by Beads and Barnacles on March 10, 2017 - 11:36

    Ooh I have had a blanket like this pinned on my inspiration board for years now and could never find decent instructions to make it.
    I think the thinner one looks better. You could use the thicker wool but it might look a bit better proportions wise with larger squares.
    I think this might be my new project once my current ones are finished

    • #22 by tialys on March 10, 2017 - 11:49

      I also think the thicker wool would go well with larger squares and heavier fabric- maybe even cotton flannel which would be very cosy and might not need the batting in between the squares. I can attest to the thoroughness of this tutorial and, so far, I am enjoying it. I thought about sandwiching all the squares together first and then doing the crochet but I think I’ll continue doing one at a time in case I run out of steam before I do all 70 odd.

      • #23 by Beads and Barnacles on March 10, 2017 - 11:52

        Yeah I understand that. I would probably work out how many squares you needed for each blanket size. And make up enough squares for the next size up, work through them then make more and work through them so if you do decide to stop you wouldn’t end up with half a row… 🙂

  9. #24 by poshbirdy on March 10, 2017 - 13:39

    They’re both lovely. The darker thicker yarn brings to mind an elaborate picture frame, but you would not want to know how far my mind rambled with this idea – it would be a lot of work!

    • #25 by tialys on March 11, 2017 - 10:11

      You’re right – it’s probably best I don’t know 😉

  10. #26 by sew2pro on March 10, 2017 - 21:15

    They stopped indicating in London in 2003 I think it was but maybe it’s coming back into fashion. I once heard a female comedian do a routine where her Jamaican driving instruction told her off for indicating as it was a bit wet!
    This is such ‘charming’ work! Well done.

    • #27 by tialys on March 11, 2017 - 10:17

      It’s the roundabouts that drive me crazy. I learned to drive in a ‘new’ town which had roundabouts everywhere so I’m a bit of an expert on how to negotiate them and when and where to indicate. In the unlikely event that somebody is actually indicating on a roundabout here that is no indication (no pun intended) of their intentions. So I wait until I can see they really are going to turn off before they get to me which causes the car behind me to sound their horn – generally only used to attract the attention of friends they’ve caught sight of in the street or to drive through town in convoy after a wedding sounding them all at the same time. Ah, well – at least there are less cars on the road here to contend with.

  11. #28 by CurlsnSkirls on March 11, 2017 - 14:25

    Agree with the darker/larger yarn balancing better with larger (perhaps darker?) squares. Have fun with whatever you decide to do!

    • #29 by tialys on March 12, 2017 - 09:31

      I will – otherwise it won’t end up as a blanket of any size. Life’s too short.

  12. #30 by themateriallady on March 11, 2017 - 23:33

    This is going to be gorgeous – and I vote for the string too. I’m trying not to go straight to the tutorial as I really shouldn’t be contemplating another project!

    • #31 by tialys on March 12, 2017 - 09:32

      Are you finding your project list growing even longer now you have retired?

      • #32 by themateriallady on March 12, 2017 - 10:21

        Yes! But the time to do them doesn’t seem to be catching up yet. More organisation needed I think 😉

  13. #33 by Dartmoor Yarns on March 12, 2017 - 19:34

    Liking this fusion craft thing! Definitely liking the ‘string’ one best.

  14. #36 by dezertsuz on March 14, 2017 - 01:10

    I rather think either is okay, but if you want the look of the original, then definitely the string. =) Either way, I think you’ll have a beautiful tea quilt. Or handkerchief. LOL

    • #37 by tialys on March 14, 2017 - 13:37

      I’ve decided on the string – it might take a little longer :/

  15. #38 by jendavismiller on March 14, 2017 - 16:14

    Funny post, as usual. The string is delicate and beautiful, but I also like the idea of the brown with larger squares of flannel and maybe corduroy? Nice for winter evenings. Looking forward to seeing how big your fusion handkerchief turns out! 😉

    • #39 by tialys on March 16, 2017 - 14:24

      Well, I’ve made 4 now and might join them up and see how that goes. If I join as I go, it shouldn’t be quite so painful at the end.

  16. #41 by PendleStitches on March 14, 2017 - 19:38

    I chortled at the description of the wool scrum for the urgent yarn that has since languished. I know that feeling. However, I’m so “cross” with you for posting such a lovely design. I’m now going to have to add it to the list of a bajillionty things I want to make. It’s so very pretty (I’m including both of your versions in that). Naughty Tialys….leading me astray!

  17. #44 by magpiesue on March 19, 2017 - 18:52

    It looks to me like the string has won out which is good because that’s what I would have voted for. 🙂 You made me chuckle too, with your description of the rugby scrum for wool you haven’t touched since. Been there, done that (but with other materials). At least you don’t have to decide what to work on in future Wednesdays visits!

    • #45 by tialys on March 20, 2017 - 09:49

      Funny – lots of people seem to recognise the rugby scrum tactics – that’s the type of follower I attract, evidently. 😉

Leave a Reply

