Hatbox Collection For March

It’s the end of March already so it’s time to show and tell  the three hatbox blocks I’ve finished in time for this month as pledged to Kate over at Tall Tales from Chiconia.  Kate is making a full size quilt from her blocks so needs to make gazillions plus she has been battling Hurricane Debbie for the last couple of days over in Australia and has had other things on her mind so if she hasn’t made her three this time I won’t be casting aspersions –  even though we did have a bit of snow here the other day accompanied by thunder and lightening  which, to be fair,  only rendered me slightly perplexed rather than full on terrified.

Here’s a bit of Chinoiserie for you as a change from florals.  As you might remember, I’m using Liberty of London tana lawn for all the hatboxes and scraps of other fabric for the backgrounds.  I bought this when Liberty had a 50% off sale recently –  I did give you all a heads up at the time and apparently cost some of you money.

The book that this quilt pattern comes from – Passionate Patchwork by Kaffe Fassett – has been on my bookshelf for ages and seems to be quite hard to get hold of now (at a reasonable price) .  I had always fancied making this but was newly inspired when Kate started hers.

Some very art nouveau style flowers here – would they be fritillaria or some sort of poppy do you think? – or do you know?

These are definitely poppies – even I know that – and this one might be my favourite this month, although I do like the Chinoiserie one at the top just because there be dragons.

Unlike Kate, I’m only making a wallhanging 4 blocks across x 3 blocks high so I only need 12.  I’ve already made 9 but I’m not sure about one of them so there may be 4 still to go.

 Then I’ll have to think about how I’m going to quilt them – I’m not convinced about the suggestion in the book.  I’m going to do each block separately using the quilt as you go method.  If you quilt, how would you tackle it – something simple perhaps or something more squiggly?

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on March 31, 2017 - 12:26

    Those are just gorgeous! Sadly, I haven’t managed to get ANY blocks done for my hatbox quilt. I have the pieces cut and the backgrounds pieced, but then Cyclone Debbie struck, and we lost power for 3 days, and it has only been restored in the past 2 hours. Sadly I have slightly more urgent things to get done now we’re back on track, like mopping, washing, clearing up fallen trees, taking loads of water damaged stuff to the dump. If I am allowed to be late posting, I may be able to get a couple finished by Monday or so…?

    • #2 by tialys on March 31, 2017 - 17:41

      What?! You couldn’t take a bit of time out from battening down the hatches in the face of a tropical cyclone to run up a few patchwork blocks? Well, O.K. then, just don’t let it happen again.
      Seriously though, I’m just glad you are safe and well and you can start trying to get things back to normal again.
      There’s always next month!

      • #3 by katechiconi on March 31, 2017 - 22:28

        I’m hoping to get a couple done some time over the weekend. There has to be a break from cleaning at some point…

  2. #4 by katechiconi on March 31, 2017 - 12:29

    PS: I’m going the QAYG route myself. If you do, remember to leave loads of backing and batting around the outside so that you can use wide sashing. If you don’t, the sashing will have no ‘filling’ and will be floppy.

    • #5 by tialys on March 31, 2017 - 17:35

      Do you think the sashing should be a lot wider than the usual inch then – aesthetically speaking?

      • #6 by katechiconi on March 31, 2017 - 22:27

        I’m going by the original design. It looks like the finished sashing’s about 1.75 inches, although I haven’t had a chance to check the pattern. I don’t think skinny sashing would look right…

      • #7 by tialys on April 3, 2017 - 09:39

        Yes, see what you mean but I’ve never seen anybody doing particularly wide sashing in QAYG although it must be possible. We could be pioneers 😉

      • #8 by katechiconi on April 3, 2017 - 10:14

        I’ll have to do some experiments, but I think it’ll be a matter of doing exactly the same thing, but with a bigger seam allowance and wider sashing strips. So long as there’s enough batting, it should work OK…

  3. #9 by Dartmoor Yarns on March 31, 2017 - 12:53

    Gorgeous! Can’t decide which I like best. I was thinking about you and your quilt as you go and couldn’t remember how you do it – must look up how it’s done.

    • #10 by tialys on March 31, 2017 - 17:34

      Do you think you might go down that road with your quilt?

      • #11 by Dartmoor Yarns on April 1, 2017 - 15:03

        Possibly. I need to look again at how it’s done.

      • #12 by tialys on April 3, 2017 - 09:38

        Yes, it wouldn’t be the way to go with some quilt tops.

      • #13 by Dartmoor Yarns on April 3, 2017 - 11:45

        Went to the quilting show yesterday and got some extra wide fabric dead cheap, so I won’t have to seam the backing at all – which is another ‘vote’ against quilt as you go, but I still shudder at the thought of cramming it all in under the machine 😦

      • #14 by tialys on April 6, 2017 - 15:22

        Is that a technical term? 😉

      • #15 by Dartmoor Yarns on April 7, 2017 - 08:13

        Of course – we’ve already established i know all the quilting lingo 😉

  4. #16 by poshbirdy on March 31, 2017 - 13:14

    They’re all lovely. Surely poppies? But the Chinese one is my fav and I love the ‘surface’ on it too

    • #17 by tialys on March 31, 2017 - 17:32

      I think you’re right – they are poppies – I just wanted an excuse to type fritillaria 🙂

  5. #18 by Carole Mayne on March 31, 2017 - 16:32

    I love these! And the traveling sketchbook is brilliant, too. How about your amazing women friends??? I bow to your awesomeness!

    • #19 by tialys on March 31, 2017 - 17:31

      Thanks Carole – don’t forget though, you can paint and I can’t!!

  6. #20 by dezertsuz on March 31, 2017 - 19:03

    The fabrics are so busy, I’d go with simple quilting. I do really REALLY like that first print! The second one looks like a Morris print, so something that would grow in England, definitely. All three are great boxes and closet shelf backgrounds. This is going to be a most interesting quilt!

    • #21 by tialys on April 3, 2017 - 09:34

      Good! I like simple quilting 🙂

  7. #22 by magpiesue on March 31, 2017 - 19:49

    I think my fave would have to be the first one too. As for the mystery flowers, they look like a type of fancy frilled tulip to me – but then I live in tulip country where we see all forms and varieties! I have no suggestions as to quilting. I’m always tempted to go subtle when the piecing or blocks are the true focal point.

    • #23 by tialys on April 3, 2017 - 09:35

      So far, the suggestions I’ve had have been for ‘subtle’ and ‘simple’ both of which suit my quilting skills down to the ground!

  8. #24 by claire93 on April 2, 2017 - 16:14

    oooh you do have some rather gorgeous fabrics hidden away in your stash! love the second one!

    • #25 by tialys on April 3, 2017 - 09:36

      I am a determined fabric shopper! I’m also a bit of a Liberty freak so have a big box of yardage/metrage as well as loads of scraps – ideal for the hatbox shapes.

  9. #26 by Kim on April 10, 2017 - 18:17

    They all look lovely. I’m lost with your quilting terminology but I’m sure whatever you decide to do to quilt this it will look fabulous.

    • #27 by tialys on April 11, 2017 - 09:16

      I know you’re making a quilt behind the scenes so you must be ‘up’ with a lot of the terms by now and soon you’ll be QAYGing and FMQing with the rest of us 😉

Leave a Reply

