Twelve Liberty Hatboxes – or Maybe Only Eleven

You may remember that I am making a wallhanging for behind the bed and am using a pattern from Kaffe Fassett’s book Passionate Patchwork which features hatboxes each in their own little cubby hole complete with ‘shelf lining’ and ‘wallpaper’.

I am making twelve 12.5 inch blocks for a 4 x 3 layout wallhanging and using Liberty of London tana lawn for the boxes and bands and scraps of what I hope are complimentary fabrics for the backgrounds.

Kate over at Tall Tales from Chiconia is making a full size quilt for herself from the same pattern and we pledged to make three a month.  Kate has more to do than me (you can see her progress here)  and these are (possibly) my final three.

An interesting paisley design which forms hearts.

This is probably my favourite one this month.

The ever popular Strawberry Thief design.

This gorgeous pink tangle of blooms was one of the fabrics I bought in a 50% off online sale that Liberty were having on their tana lawns – the band was from my box of Liberty scraps as all the bands have been.

Now I have all twelve or, as I hinted above, have I?

This is not necessarily the final layout and not a particularly sharp photo as I had all the blocks clinging to a flannel sheet hanging from some shelves and they kept falling off so I had to take it quickly but my dilemma is – do I keep the dark pink box with the strong gold/yellow background in this mix or not?  I did wonder when I first made it.  I really like it but I’m wondering if it’s too strongly coloured to blend properly with the others – although the purple one is strong too.

I am going to quilt them all separately using the quilt as you go method.  The quilting will be simple as I  can’t do complicated and then I’ll join them with sashing – another colour decision to make – and then tadaah! it will adorn our bedroom wall (if Mr. T. is in agreement – he’s always resisted ‘fabric art’ on the walls before 😉 )

So, do I ditch the one third from the left on the first row or do I keep it?  What do you think?

 

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by M. L. Kappa on April 30, 2017 - 09:35

    Keep it! It didn’t shock me at all. I love these!💕💕

    • #2 by tialys on May 1, 2017 - 11:27

      I’m glad I didn’t shock you with my bright pinks and yellows – I think it is too pretty not to use so, even if it doesn’t end up in the finished wall hanging, it will definitely become a cushion to be flung – in an artful manner – on the bed beneath.

      • #3 by M. L. Kappa on May 1, 2017 - 21:58

        Good idea! Although husband don’t usually like artfully flung cushions😋

      • #4 by tialys on May 2, 2017 - 10:55

        They don’t do they – especially on the bed.

  2. #5 by Frivolous Monsters on April 30, 2017 - 10:39

    Keep it. It’s not too much.

  3. #7 by claire93 on April 30, 2017 - 12:22

    same as previous comment: keep it ^^
    Yes background is brighter, but I think you’ll get used to it.

    • #8 by tialys on May 1, 2017 - 11:22

      Thanks Claire – the sashing might also be a big factor in bringing them all together so I’ll have to think very carefully about what to use.

  4. #9 by KerryCan on April 30, 2017 - 12:33

    I like the bright one and think it should stay, although I’d put it in the bottom row because it seems “weightier” than some of the others. Such great variety!

    • #10 by tialys on May 1, 2017 - 11:21

      Thanks Kerry – I didn’t really have any rules for the design – apart from all the hatboxes would be in Liberty fabric – so I’m sure I can get them all to come together eventually.

  5. #11 by Felicity Ireland on April 30, 2017 - 14:34

    Keep it! A block of colour often brings busy ones together. Looks good.

    • #12 by tialys on May 1, 2017 - 11:20

      Thank you – I’m not giving up on it yet, I’ll carry on playing with the layout.

  6. #13 by insearchofitall on April 30, 2017 - 16:09

    Love everyone of them. You and Kate are inspiring me to give it a try one day soon.

    • #14 by tialys on May 1, 2017 - 11:19

      I know, from your comment on Kate’s blog, that you have the book and I agree with her that you should give it a try with just one block and see how it goes. Kate and I have used different methods for the appliqué and I’m not somebody who does appliqué very often but it really isn’t too difficult. You might surprise yourself – and your friend!

      • #15 by insearchofitall on May 2, 2017 - 06:49

        Thank you for your words of encouragement. I’m going to get the pattern enlarged and printed out next time I’m out and take your advice. Makes perfect sense to me. 🙂 Marlene

      • #16 by tialys on May 2, 2017 - 10:55

        That’s the spirit!

  7. #17 by Emma on May 1, 2017 - 02:12

    I think it looks great but maybe you can put it in the center with the purple one to have the strong colours more balanced?

    • #18 by tialys on May 1, 2017 - 11:16

      Thanks Emma – I will be trying some different layouts before I give up.

  8. #19 by katechiconi on May 1, 2017 - 08:36

    I have a block like that too, the hatbox is a bright pink with small white spot and I feel it stands out too much compared with the more complex designs and colourways of all the others. However, I’m not discarding it just yet, as it may simply be a matter of putting it next to the right things, or if that doesn’t work, appliquéing something to the pink to make it ‘busier’. You might find that quick and easier than remaking the whole block…
    Out of this lot, I really, really love the Strawberry Thief block, it’s very gorgeous!

    • #20 by tialys on May 1, 2017 - 11:15

      Yes, I think you’re right and I’m also going to try lots of different layouts – some suggested in the comments – before ‘giving up’ on it. I can always make a cushion to go on the bed with it if I can’t make it work.

  9. #21 by Dartmoor Yarns on May 1, 2017 - 16:26

    Keep it! You know how patchwork goes, if you take it out, you’ll only end up looking at the next strongest one thinking that should come out too 🙂

    • #22 by tialys on May 1, 2017 - 18:48

      True – I would have the purple one in my sights next.

  10. #23 by Born To Organize on May 1, 2017 - 19:34

    Keep! Since you have that bright pink in at least three squares, perhaps you can spread them out into each row, with the pink hat box falling to the bottom row. I’m tickled with this clever pattern and I’m also impressed with your handy-work. Alys

    • #24 by tialys on May 2, 2017 - 10:57

      I’m off to the U.K. for a few days soon and my Mum will be with me for a week when I come back so there will only be yarn related projects going on while she’s here (more sociable!) but, after that, I will have a serious play with the blocks and see what will look best where.

      • #25 by Born To Organize on May 4, 2017 - 22:41

        Oh, what fun. Have a wonderful trip and a good visit with your Mum. I’m glad to hear she’ll be joining you for a visit as well.

  11. #26 by poshbirdy on May 2, 2017 - 11:50

    Def keep it. They all have their own strong personalities and it fits right in. Absolutely lovely x

    • #27 by tialys on May 2, 2017 - 12:16

      Well, I think I’ll definitely have to keep it in now otherwise I’ll be in trouble with everybody on here.

  12. #30 by dezertsuz on May 3, 2017 - 17:50

    It isn’t the pink that bothers me, it’s the yellow. It’s sort of a screamer. LOL Putting it next to darker fabrics or at the bottom, as people have suggested, might help. If it were my quilt, I wouldn’t use it. The other blocks have a softer look. Even the purple and gold, while darker, aren’t fabrics that leap out the way the yellow does. I’m sure whatever you decide to do will look wonderful.

    • #31 by tialys on May 4, 2017 - 07:54

      It’s probably not quite as much of a ‘screamer’ yellow as it looks in the photo it’s more of a deep gold but I’ll see how it looks after I’ve played around with the layout – it won’t be the end of the world if I have to make another.

  13. #32 by themateriallady on May 3, 2017 - 21:38

    Keep it – but I was going to suggest moving it away from the pale pink one (below it at present).

    • #33 by tialys on May 4, 2017 - 07:54

      Yes, there’ll definitely be a bit of shuffling before I commit to the sashing.

  14. #34 by Evie Jones on May 8, 2017 - 12:34

    I think it’s been covered…keep but in a different place. But, I have to say, I absolutely love all of them. This is going to be so lovely. Just sneak it up whilst he’s sleeping!

  15. #35 by magpiesue on May 18, 2017 - 23:13

    Sounds like you’ll be keeping your outstanding yellow and pink block! I’d have voted for keeping it too, but in a different position. Since Mr. T spends so much time in London I think it only fair that you hang your hat boxes over the bed!

Leave a Reply

