Out For A Ruby

I think I have said on this blog before that life is too short to stuff a mushroom but, evidently, it’s not too short to paint rose petals with egg white and dust them with sugar.

Why, I hear you ask, were you engaging in the sort of shenanigans usually only bothered with by celebrity chefs and contestants in baking competitions?  Because I was making a dessert for a Ruby Wedding celebration is my answer and I thought it appropriate to have red rose petals sprinkled artfully over and around said dessert.  Well – they were definitely red to start with but after a brush with the egg white they turned a pinker shade of red.  No matter – they were pretty anyway and I move even closer to my Domestic Goddess status .

Some friends of ours were celebrating 40 years of marriage – and look! they’re still laughing.

A mixture of French and Brits were present to help them celebrate and, of course, being a Ruby Wedding Anniversary, there had to be a Ruby Murray on offer.  Firstly because you can’t get a decent curry here for love nor money unless you make your own , secondly because we are Brits and we have to have curry occasionally in order to survive and what better excuse than when the name is in both titles?  For those not in the know a ‘Ruby Murray’ is cockney rhyming slang for a curry.

The occasion demanded another foray into my new passion for freehand machine embroidery.

Colin is a massive Chelsea Football fan and so I had to portray him wearing something with the crest on it and Jan has got a gorgeous mass of curly hair.  They are dog lovers and have a particular soft spot for golden retrievers which they generally find in re-homing centres and so they had to be in the picture too.  I must perfect my dog breed representation but you get the drift.  I was gratified to see that, despite not having seen my gift at that point, Colin had dressed to match it.

I had a bit of a scare because when I showed my French sewing buddy the embroidery last week she told me that a Ruby Wedding is not 40 years of marriage and, even though I would practically have signed away my house on the certainty that I was right, I did have to Google it when I got home and discovered that the French call it a Ruby Wedding at 35 years – trust them to be different 🙂

So, I didn’t have to undo any stitching and the French friends and neighbours present at the ‘do’ all happily went along with our quaint foreign ways anyway  – even sampling the curry!

Anyway, back to the rose petals which I used to adorn a fruit tart  – my contribution to the dessert table.   If I tell you it was an adaptation of a Nigella Lawson recipe it won’t surprise you to know that it probably didn’t do anybody’s cholesterol levels any favours.  Originally a black and white tart – using blackberries and whitecurrants – this was, once again, from her ‘How To Be A Domestic Goddess’ book which is now my go to bible for puddings/cakes and other wickedness having rediscovered it on my bookshelves recently.

I thought the raspberries would look like little rubies – well big ones actually –  if you had one that size in a ring or a couple in a pair of earrings you wouldn’t complain would you? **  

The digestive biscuit base was ‘enhanced’ by a spoonful of cocoa powder and the mascarpone filling was ‘further enhanced’ by some melted white chocolate, the remainder of which was grated on top (well, most of the remainder, some might have found its way elsewhere 😉 )  Anyway, I think it was good but, by the time I got up to the dessert table, it had all gone.

The dessert table – before

I should have nabbed a slice instead of taking photos 😦   Luckily, I have made it once before, without the cocoa and the white chocolate and I know that version was good and, as it so happens I have a photo of it too, albeit taken on my phone in artificial light.

I only paint rose petals on special occasions 😉

 

** I was reminded here of one of my favourite one-liners from Only Fools and Horses  where Del buys Grandad some strawberries and he complains they’re not very big to which Del replies ‘What do you mean they’re not very big? You wouldn’t want one of those up yer nose for a wart would yer?’

 

What do you mean they ain't 
                                          very big? You wouldn't like 
                                          one of those up yer nose for 
                                          a wart would ye
, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by CurlsnSkirls on June 6, 2017 - 15:37

    Del made my morning – thanks for the quote!

    • #2 by tialys on June 6, 2017 - 18:13

      You’re welcome Del 😉

  2. #3 by katechiconi on June 6, 2017 - 16:38

    Luscious! I really must do some more work on developing Me-friendly desserts, because no matter how longingly I look at offerings like this one, it would make me very poorly indeed. Oh dear, dessert testing, what a hardship! I’m so glad the embroidery worked out, and everyone looks rather cheerful in the photos, so clearly it was a riotous occasion in the best possible way!

    • #4 by tialys on June 6, 2017 - 18:13

      Yes, I wrongly said there was cream in it before but I should think the 500g of Mascarpone would do for you all on its own 😦

      • #5 by katechiconi on June 6, 2017 - 22:47

        There’s surely some paleo alternative involving a kilo of cashews and some coconut cream. The base is easy enough, with almond meal instead of bickie crumb. I just object to the way everything that makes my mouth water is inedible to me. Which is rather a backhanded compliment to pay your beautiful tart, but a compliment none the less.

      • #6 by tialys on June 7, 2017 - 08:26

        Poor Kate – at least you’re saving on all those calories, fats and sugars I suppose :/

  3. #7 by Janice Marriott on June 6, 2017 - 16:40

    ‘out for a Ruby’ that’s a new one for me. But then,rhyming slang is a moving. changing language.

    • #8 by tialys on June 6, 2017 - 18:11

      It is but this particular one is quite old – Ruby Murray being a popular singer in the mid 1950s I think.

  4. #9 by magpiesue on June 6, 2017 - 17:58

    Absolutely delightful! It looks like it was a fun do, your embroidery is perfect for the guests of honor, and what a delicious, beautifully presented dessert you made!!! I think raspberries are ideal for representing rubies. Well done you!

  5. #11 by Postcard from Gibraltar on June 6, 2017 - 18:33

    How lovely! I hope your friends enjoyed all your efforts! What a wonderfully kind host you are. 😊

    • #12 by tialys on June 6, 2017 - 18:44

      I am a wonderfully kind host, it’s true, but on this occasion my friends hosted their own party – I was a mere guest bearing gifts. I hope I haven’t given the impression that I hosted it all – they’ll kill me – off to re-read the post.

      • #13 by Postcard from Gibraltar on June 7, 2017 - 10:09

        Oh! Whoops sorry! I must have misread it. 😳 many apologies- was being distracted at the time!

  6. #14 by nanacathy2 on June 6, 2017 - 20:09

    Looks delicious, had they been married 35 or 40 years. fabulous party.

  7. #16 by craftycreeky on June 6, 2017 - 21:12

    Looks delicious! I thought it sounded like Nigella 🙂 I love your machine embroidery, you’re so good at it!

    • #17 by tialys on June 7, 2017 - 08:23

      Well, thank you, I am hoping to get much better with practice as it’s something I find really fun to do.

  8. #18 by KerryCan on June 8, 2017 - 12:36

    Such a fun post–making others happy clearly suits you! The embroidery is superb!

  9. #20 by Kim on June 8, 2017 - 19:21

    That looks like a great celebration – and a superb dessert. It will be my own 40th wedding anniversary next year and you have just provided the perfect way to celebrate it. Thank you!😃

    • #21 by tialys on June 9, 2017 - 10:04

      I’m glad I’ve given you an idea for your own celebrations Kim. You’ve gone very quiet but I’m guessing you’re finding that retirement means you’re even busier than ever but with more fun stuff 🙂

  10. #22 by sew2pro on June 8, 2017 - 22:10

    Your machine embroidery is amazing! The Labradors sharing a love heart melted my own heart of stone!

    • #23 by tialys on June 9, 2017 - 10:01

      I’m sure experienced hands at freehand machine embroidery are tut tutting at my nascent skills but it is fun and I hope to improve with practise. I know your heart is made of much softer stuff than stone – you’re a sucker for a cat story for a start 😉

  11. #24 by dezertsuz on June 13, 2017 - 19:13

    It looks beautiful, and worth the effort. I’m so sad you didn’t get a piece, but that means that it was very popular, so it must have been tasty!

    • #25 by tialys on June 14, 2017 - 10:33

      I’ll just have to make it again.

  12. #26 by Born To Organize on June 22, 2017 - 23:30

    What a terrific piece of embroidery, encompassing so many of their loves. I can’t imagine a more thoughtful gift. Your dessert looks scrumptious. What a clever idea to use sugared rose petals and berries to honor such a milestone. It does look like a lot of work, but I’ve not doubt it was much appreciated.

    • #27 by tialys on June 23, 2017 - 10:20

      I’ll have to make the tart again as I didn’t get any of it and, without the sugared rose petals, it’s dead easy and no baking involved.

Leave a Reply

