A Backwards Step

I’m in the dressmaking doldrums at the moment  despite having several patterns I want to make and the fabric to make them with.  So, just to get my hand back in I thought I’d run up a quick dress on the overlocker for my daughter.   I used New Look 6125 which is a very simple dress pattern but decided to make it in a stretch knit fabric.

The front was cut out on the fold and, because I didn’t need to put in a zip, I thought I’d do the same with the back but there seemed to be quite a bit of shaping on the back piece – for those people who have a bottom, presumably – which didn’t lend itself to being cut like that so I cut it in two pieces.

It’s not often  a good idea when I decide to go maverick.

Looking quite good.

I did lower the neckline as the original seemed unflatteringly high to me.  I probably could have left the darts out though.

Nice pattern matching at the sides

Oops!

I know it will be fairly obvious to everybody else (at least those who have a modicum of knowledge about dressmaking) but how could that happen when I have the sides matching?  Why do I still keep making rookie mistakes in my dressmaking endeavours?  Perhaps I don’t take it seriously enough.

 As for my daughter –  I told her she’ll just have to walk backwards.

 

 

 

 

, , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on June 11, 2017 - 13:07

    It’s really not that bad… Nice matching at the side! Let’s face it, she’ll never see the problem once it’s on, and the fabric is lovely!

    • #2 by tialys on June 12, 2017 - 11:05

      It will be fine as a throw on dress to wear around the house/garden but it’s yet another thing that’s put me off getting back into dressmaking. I really need to concentrate and turn something out that I am happy with in order to get my mojo back.

  2. #3 by claire93 on June 11, 2017 - 13:21

    really wierd that your sides are lined up nicely, but not the back. Mlle T will just have to wear a cardie lol.

    • #4 by tialys on June 12, 2017 - 11:03

      I think a denim jacket would go well over the top of this – trouble is, it’s usually too hot in the summer to wear a jacket or cardie. It will just have to be a summer house and garden dress.

  3. #5 by craftycreeky on June 11, 2017 - 14:09

    I’m sure she’ll enjoy wearing it anyway 🙂 I suspect the issue is jersey fabric not lying straight, it’s a so and so for doing that, if you look at the hem on the right the pattern gradually goes down. Your pattern matching at the sides is great!

    • #6 by tialys on June 12, 2017 - 11:02

      I think you’re probably right. It’s a fairly fine jersey with a slight sheen and it took me ages to get it lying straight on the cutting table – although not long enough apparently 😦

  4. #7 by nanacathy2 on June 11, 2017 - 17:18

    Or sidewards! Bless you!

    • #8 by tialys on June 12, 2017 - 11:01

      When you look at ready to wear clothes a lot of manufacturers don’t even bother to attempt a match anywhere but once you start making your own clothes it really hits you between the eyes.

  5. #9 by Frivolous on June 12, 2017 - 00:45

    I do like the model dress material. I once went to a party with a girl dressed similarly. What material that is though I have no idea.

    • #10 by tialys on June 12, 2017 - 10:59

      I’m glad I brought back some memories for you – I hope they are good ones 🙂

  6. #11 by The Snail of Happiness on June 12, 2017 - 09:24

    This sort of sums up why I don’t get on with dressmaking! If you make something in yarn and it turns out wonky, you just unravel it and try again, but material – once it’s cut, it’s cut. Anyway, she can always wear cardi!

    • #12 by tialys on June 12, 2017 - 10:58

      It can be very frustrating and, if I do ever try to undo my mistakes, it usually ends up even worse. Even better than unravelling knitting is undoing crochet – no wonder I’ve become obsessed with it lately.

      • #13 by The Snail of Happiness on June 12, 2017 - 12:43

        Since I learned to crochet about 5 years ago I do much more of it than knitting… it grows so quickly and, as you say, it’s easy to undo and redo.

  7. #14 by poshbirdy on June 12, 2017 - 11:27

    How annoying. However, only dressmakers worry about this sort of thing – we’ve all seen the lack of care in shop-bought clothing and this dress still looks lovely x

    • #15 by tialys on June 12, 2017 - 12:09

      Thank you for that. To be honest, she probably won’t even notice herself unless I point it out to her – perhaps I will try to resist doing so.

  8. #16 by sew2pro on June 12, 2017 - 22:16

    I agree with crafty creeky: the fault is in the materials! Your conscience should remain clear!!

    • #17 by tialys on June 14, 2017 - 10:36

      Even if you’re only saying it to be nice, I’ll take it 🙂

  9. #18 by KerryCan on June 13, 2017 - 13:07

    I’ve never really gotten my head around making clothing–I think I get too impatient with the fussy details. On the other hand, I wholly admire people who give it a whirl–I think your daughter will love the dress. Can we see a photo of her modeling it?

    • #19 by tialys on June 14, 2017 - 10:36

      I have two daughters – one doesn’t mind modelling, the other hates it and this dress is for her. I’ll see if I can talk her round 😉

  10. #20 by jendavismiller on June 13, 2017 - 15:09

    The cardi idea seems a good one. And she can move around really quickly….creating a blurred image that will hide the nuisance fabric behavior! 😉

    • #21 by tialys on June 14, 2017 - 10:35

      Good idea but the daughter this is for does nothing quickly 😉

  11. #22 by themateriallady on June 13, 2017 - 17:56

    Have you checked out the pattern matching on RTW recently? Believe me, your dress is fine. No one but another dressmaker would give it a second glance.

    • #23 by tialys on June 14, 2017 - 10:34

      I know – there are some real horrors aren’t there? My daughter sent me a photo of an actual ad where they were showing off some shorts with no attempt at matching across the front at all. They were so bad I assumed it was a design feature.

  12. #24 by dezertsuz on June 14, 2017 - 05:43

    That’s the part she’ll be sitting on, or wearing a long sweater over, so it’s not critical. That is a puzzle, why it didn’t match!

    • #25 by tialys on June 14, 2017 - 10:33

      Please don’t talk about sweaters – it’s too hot 😉 I’m sitting here ‘glowing’ in a sleeveless t-shirt and the thought of anything with sleeves is making me go all woozy.

  13. #26 by Born To Organize on June 22, 2017 - 23:35

    I’m sorry you’re feeling discouraged, and wish I had some sort of words of wisdom to ease your distress. I agree, thought, that few purchased items match patterns anymore, especially from the back. I hope she’ll get some wear out of it, or at least enough to have made it worth your while.

    • #27 by tialys on June 23, 2017 - 10:22

      I’ve just finished making a top which has come out (almost) perfectly so I am newly inspired in the dressmaking sense now.

Leave a Reply

