Here Be Dragons Drinking Tea

 

One of my daughters has a blog which, unless you are an avid gamer, you won’t be subscribed to.  I am a follower but only to show support as I don’t understand what she’s talking about half the time not having played computer games since they phased out Space Invaders.  I am therefore not qualified to make comments on her post but usually  press the ‘Like’ button as it amuses me to see my little house avatar in amongst the ‘cool’ ones of the gamers.

Anyway, when she first started the blog she had a cat’s face in a slice of avocado as her avatar – a bit like the ‘breaded cat’ phenomenon but with avocado.  Understandably, she wasn’t really sold on it as it didn’t reflect her blog content (even though it does reflect her sense of humour!).  By chance, she met a girl on a train and they got talking about gaming matters and the girl could also draw.  So she asked her if she would draw a new avatar – it was a long train journey – and it has now been adopted for

‘The Dragon’s Tea Party’ blog.

Both my daughters are addicted to tea – I blame myself although it could be worse. They aren’t dragons though – just to be clear.

She has a new job to start in July which will involve a move from London to Dorset and her first ‘proper’ flat which she will share with her boyfriend who is also into gaming (luckily) and I anticipate there will be a lot of a particular nerdy/geeky sort of décor around the place

So, as a little housewarming gift, I dropped my feed dogs, attached the darning needle and came up with this.

I was going to attempt the freehand embroidering of the name of the blog too but I was so pleased with the dragon I didn’t want to push my luck in case it all went pear shaped.  I’ve used more fabric that I usually do so it’s a bit more freehand machine appliqué than freehand machine embroidery but I wanted to get the green colour just right.

As I used scraps of fabric I’ll add this to Kate and Gun’s  ScrapHappy day which you can read about and see links to the other participants here

 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dina on June 15, 2017 - 09:34

    Wonderful work! ❤ 🙂 And free hand! 👏🏻

    • #2 by tialys on June 15, 2017 - 09:47

      Thank you. I like freehand embroidery because it is very forgiving – I am not skilled at all in ‘normal’ embroidery (nor patient enough) so this method suits me fine and it’s a lot of fun.

  2. #3 by katechiconi on June 15, 2017 - 09:40

    This ABSOLUTELY counts as a ScrapHappy project! Also, really lovely bit of embroidery, and I am sure she’s thrilled with it. Next, she’ll be wanting a cushion or sweatshirt or bag with her elegant avatar on it… get practising!

    • #4 by tialys on June 15, 2017 - 09:51

      She does seem genuinely pleased with it actually which makes me happy so there’s a job well done 🙂

  3. #5 by craftycreeky on June 15, 2017 - 10:02

    It’s fab! I love your style of machine embroidery

    • #6 by tialys on June 15, 2017 - 11:00

      Thank you – I could never aspire to the level of yours so I’ll stick with my ‘naive’ style.

  4. #7 by The Dragon's Tea Party on June 15, 2017 - 10:39

    Thank you again! I love it!

  5. #9 by claire93 on June 15, 2017 - 11:03

    that’s a lovely flat-warming gift! here’s wishing her lots of gaming fun and good luck in the new job!

  6. #11 by rutigt on June 15, 2017 - 11:17

    I love it and I guess your daughter will too!!!!!!

    • #12 by tialys on June 15, 2017 - 11:23

      Thank you! She says she does and I think she means it 🙂

  7. #13 by Hila on June 15, 2017 - 16:38

    You should win Mum of the Year award! Such a thoughtful gift. X

    • #14 by tialys on June 16, 2017 - 09:18

      I’m always telling my girls that – glad somebody agrees with me 😉

  8. #15 by Moira McSpadden on June 15, 2017 - 17:14

    Great work on it! Love how it turned out.

  9. #17 by Dartmoor Yarns on June 15, 2017 - 19:24

    Brilliant! Well done you, it’s gorgeous. I too am addicted to tea 🙂

    • #18 by tialys on June 16, 2017 - 09:17

      Thank you. I have to get husband to ferry the 240 boxes of PG Tips over otherwise we have to pay the same sort of money for a box of 20 in ‘the English aisle’ at the supermarket – it’s that or drink Liptons yellow label!

      • #19 by Dartmoor Yarns on June 16, 2017 - 11:32

        Ha ha! Yes, how did Liptons manage to conquer Europe? That would be me too, except it would be Tetley. And there would be jars enough of Marmite to sink the ferry.

  10. #20 by Emma on June 16, 2017 - 01:44

    That’s so cool! And I’ll be following your daughter, definitely into the gaming too!

    • #21 by tialys on June 16, 2017 - 09:15

      That’s great! I knew I’d have a lurking gamer or two amongst my readers 🙂

  11. #22 by nettyg on June 16, 2017 - 02:11

    Gorgeous, well done. an inspiring scrappy project.

  12. #24 by dezertsuz on June 16, 2017 - 02:39

    Fabulous bit of artwork! What fun that will be to hang in her new flat.

    • #25 by tialys on June 16, 2017 - 09:14

      I think it will go with the rest of the décor going by the sort of things she’s been putting on her wish list 😉

  13. #26 by themateriallady on June 16, 2017 - 17:54

    Fabulous! I’m sure she will love it 😃

    • #27 by tialys on June 20, 2017 - 09:46

      She actually does! You never know with kids – even big ones.

  14. #28 by magpiesue on June 16, 2017 - 20:25

    Absolutely perfect! And perfectly delightful!

  15. #30 by sew2pro on June 16, 2017 - 23:05

    Gorgeous, both your embroidery and the original logo (is it green tea she’s addicted to? No matter if not, still a great addiction to have!). I am now going to research breaded cats as clearly I have not lived.

    Dorset is a wonderful county; so much to see, and so beautiful. Will you be visiting much?

    • #31 by tialys on June 20, 2017 - 09:50

      I hope you’ve enjoyed your look around the breaded cats of the world. I can’t help thinking it’s a bit cruel although I did put our dear departed fluff ball, Sylvester, in a tutu once for a photo opportunity. His face relayed his feelings quite adequately.
      I am very miffed with Ryanair as they used to have a service between Carcassonne (a hour’s drive from here) and Bournemouth which was great when she started at University because she could come home easily for long weekends. Then, in her second year, they pulled the service and it’s never been reinstated 😦 However, maybe next time I come over I will base myself in Dorset rather than Surrey/London – just for a change.

  16. #32 by nanacathy2 on June 17, 2017 - 06:47

    She’s a lucky girl, it’s great!

    • #33 by tialys on June 20, 2017 - 09:50

      That’s just what I tell her 😉

  17. #34 by Postcard from Gibraltar on June 19, 2017 - 22:22

    Oh that’s lovely! And so nice to hear that your love of blogging and tea drinking has been passed on to your daughter!

    • #35 by tialys on June 20, 2017 - 09:52

      Sewing too! Plus, she’s branched out into cross stitch which I don’t do so maybe she’ll pass that on to me some time (before my eyes get much worse 😉 )

Leave a Reply

