Fungus Folly

Today I spotted some unusual mushrooms in the garden

An unusual turquoise-y green colour I thought might be poisonous so I didn’t touch them.

It crossed my mind they might be birds’ eggs fallen out of a nest.

I was going to Google ‘small turquoise fungi’ after walking the dogs but on my way back down the hill from our walk I realised it wasn’t necessary.

Sometimes I worry.

 

Another ‘should’ve gone to Specsavers’ moment?

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by nanacathy2 on June 30, 2017 - 12:21

    Whoops, an easy mistake I would say!

    • #2 by tialys on June 30, 2017 - 12:29

      It gets worse. I just went out to pick some blackberries to put on my porridge and saw a dead bird which was really a stick :/

  2. #3 by Dartmoor Yarns on June 30, 2017 - 12:22

    Ha ha! 🙂

  3. #4 by claire93 on June 30, 2017 - 13:08

    oh dear! yep definitely need new glasses!

    • #5 by tialys on June 30, 2017 - 18:23

      Or a new brain 😉

  4. #6 by katechiconi on June 30, 2017 - 13:27

    Once you start wearing specs all the time, it’s the thin end of the wedge…. I hit that point about 5 years ago, and now I’m as blind as a bat without them, and constantly mistake things for other things when I’m not wearing them (which isn’t often any more).

    • #7 by tialys on June 30, 2017 - 18:23

      When they first told me I needed glasses I was 11 and couldn’t see the blackboard from the back of the class. When I walked out of the optician’s I was astounded that I could see every individual leaf on a tree. However, my Dad told me only to wear them when I needed to and so that’s what I’ve always done and my prescription has barely changed in all this time. I only have a fairly mild prescription and just wear specs for driving (always) and watching T.V.(sometimes). I didn’t really have any excuse for mistaking an unripe plum for a mushroom OR a bird’s egg apart from an overactive imagination probably.

      • #8 by katechiconi on June 30, 2017 - 23:58

        Sadly my already very longsighted eyes have got progressively worse every year since I was 45… It’ll stop soon, I’m told, but meanwhile…

  5. #9 by Lynda on June 30, 2017 - 13:44

    Sitting here reading the morning news… then read this. Thank you for my first laugh of the day! I needed it.

    • #10 by tialys on June 30, 2017 - 18:18

      You are very welcome 🙂

  6. #11 by dezertsuz on July 1, 2017 - 03:56

    Oh, that was funny! I would have thought the same thing. Now John Cleese – that was also hilarious! Thanks for that laugh.

    • #12 by tialys on July 3, 2017 - 13:43

      I’m always happy to know I’ve made somebody smile or, even better, laugh out loud 🙂 🙂

  7. #13 by Born To Organize on July 1, 2017 - 23:26

    I was momentarily intrigued, and then I smiled knowingly. Great post!

  8. #16 by sew2pro on July 2, 2017 - 00:38

    • #17 by tialys on July 3, 2017 - 13:40

      Priceless! Thanks for that.

  9. #18 by jendavismiller on July 3, 2017 - 14:06

    Haha! This was so funny! I’m forever mixing things up just from seeing them incorrectly. I also remember the moment at about 10 yrs when I first saw individual leaves on trees (re your answer to Kate)! My poor mother was mortified that she hadn’t known my eyesight was so poor. Strange thing, now that I’m – ahem – older, my correction is reversing! Ah, life…..

    • #19 by tialys on July 3, 2017 - 18:35

      Yes, I’m probably the last amongst my friends of a similar age to wear reading glasses as it is counteracted by the short sightedness even though I’m not that severely short sighted.
      I haven’t seen any blogs from you for ages – are you still blogging? Is everything O.K. I do worry :/

      • #20 by jendavismiller on July 4, 2017 - 02:31

        Lynn, you’re sweet to ask. All is well, I’ve been busy and blogs (writing and even reading) have taken a back seat. Not an intentional hiatus, just circumstances, and I will return! (Will send you an email)

  10. #21 by Kim on July 9, 2017 - 19:57

    😂

Leave a Reply

