‘One Day I Will Get Organised’ Maybe – Probably Not and ‘No More Rescue Dogs’ Maybe – Probably Not

Occasionally I am inspired by my blogging friends who set themselves challenges and goals for the day, the week or even the whole year ahead.

But not for long.

This ‘to do’ list scrawled on a bit of torn out paper is about as organised as I get.

However, I have managed to work through some of those (although it is Thursday and I wrote it on Monday).  I’ve phoned my Mum and my friend Maureen although she isn’t crossed out yet.

I’ve booked a restaurant for lunch tomorrow with some friends.

The ‘Box’ entry is because the customer who ordered a little etui box like this ……..

…..liked it so much she wanted a sewing box in the same fabric.

I didn’t have enough blue bunnies so she settle on pink which I hope she will like.

I wanted to practise some freehand machine embroidery so I made her this card using a piece of the fabric from the interior of the sewing box.

The ‘crochet’ entry is because I’m running out of time to complete my two identical sections of Jane Crow’s ‘Sunshine and Showers’ crochet along before the next section is released.

So I’ve managed one and now have to do an identical one.

The lurid greenish colour in the background is a yoga mat.  Obviously!

I’m worried about wavy edges because there are so many different stitches and colour changes and I’m thinking I’m no expert yet so my tension may well wander so I’m blocking it as I go along – hence the yoga mat.

I  don’t think it’s too bad but I need to have a clean slate before next month’s section is released as some Ravelry users who did this last year say they almost gave up at that point.  Even the designer confesses it to being difficult but rewarding.  Ooer.  Stand by for a row of individual flowers on top of what I’ve already done.  Maybe.

I’ve crossed out ‘Collars’ but really I should leave them on there because, since tagging my Scottie Dog collars as Westies I have been inundated with orders from a French Westie fan club on Facebook.  I know they are a little square jawed for Westies but then most Scotties are black so I consider it to be a generic design.

Talking of dogs, mine are driving me to distraction at the moment.  As happened last year, they graze like cattle on the fallen plums and figs in the garden and, also like cattle, deposit the results in great pancakes.  Then they scent our evenings with their gaseous offerings.  I’ve tried clearing up the fruit as it falls but we have so many trees that it’s a virtually impossible task and the slightest breeze (or dog nudging at the lower branches) releases another load.

It’s just as well really because, knowing my love of German Shepherd type dogs my friend sent me this photo of a pup that has recently arrived at the dog rescue.

Then, when I foolishly investigated further, I saw this handsome fella

I’ve also heard, separately, of two young Pyreneen Mountain dogs who need a new home.  Mr. T says it must be a sign but he’s not here all the time so I’m just going to go out in the garden and shovel up some more fallen fruit – both undigested and digested – to remind me that three dogs is already plenty.

I haven’t forgotten the  ‘hatboxes’ entry and must do something with the hatbox quilt blocks before the end of the month as that is supposed to be a monthly ‘challenge’.  See, I do try.

The ‘Conservatory’ entry is sort of housework related so we won’t worry about that –  ‘after all, tomorrow is another day’

 

 

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on July 27, 2017 - 17:51

    Evidence of amazing industry, I’d say… I finished the current quilt yesterday, and immediately got out all my Hatbox blocks and came up with a layout I’m quite pleased with, so I took a photo, took them all down in order – and put them all away again! Despite enormous temptation, I’m not going to start working on that one. I have the Sea Glass quilt to complete and deliver. When it comes to quilting and sewing, I have an unshakeable list in my head. Housework? Don’t make me laugh…

    • #2 by tialys on July 28, 2017 - 08:22

      Well done on being ‘unshakeable’. I, on the other hand, am very ‘shakeable’. If I can just get a few more of those collars made before I go out at lunchtime today, I will either quilt another couple of hatbox blocks this afternoon or make yet another one as I’m still not happy with the two I’m deciding between for the final twelve. Also, I want to try and make a man’s shirt this weekend – as it’s my first, I want to make a short sleeved version so I need to get a move on as it’s almost August and I’d like him to be able to wear it this Summer – plus I have a summer dress and a top in the planning for me and a leggings/tunic outfit for my daughter. I might have to get a cleaner 😉

      • #3 by katechiconi on July 28, 2017 - 08:43

        A cleaner sounds like the perfect solution! Wish it was an option here… Fortunately, I have a Husband who couldn’t care less whether the windows are sparkling, so long as the food is excellent, there’s plenty of clean clothes and I occasionally stack and run the dishwasher 🙂

      • #4 by tialys on July 28, 2017 - 09:34

        My husband’s the same. I’m guessing it wasn’t our housekeeping skills that attracted them 😉

      • #5 by katechiconi on July 28, 2017 - 09:59

        Just as well, eh…

  2. #6 by magpiesue on July 27, 2017 - 18:59

    Oh dear, puppies! Just keep in mind how much work they are to train while you’re scooping fruit (and other things). They are good looking though… I’d have a hard time not succumbing. Meanwhile, Kate’s industry makes me tired just reading about it. I did get out and pull some weeds this morning though. 🙂

    • #7 by tialys on July 28, 2017 - 08:17

      You’re right Sue. Like humans, puppies and kittens are hard work at the beginning and (as I’m finding out with my almost 12 year old dog) towards the end. Not long ago I said ‘no more puppies – in future I’ll take on old dogs whom nobody else wants’ but, actually, I think they are harder work than puppies and usually without the cute factor. So, no more of any kind would be best.

      • #8 by magpiesue on July 28, 2017 - 19:55

        Best, perhaps, but is that realistic? Do you really think you’ll be able to resist? 😉

      • #9 by tialys on July 29, 2017 - 10:46

        I actually do. Now that I have a full house I try to help in other ways – such as making the dog collars to sell to raise funds and helping out at fund raising events. I’m alright as long as I don’t see them ‘in the flesh’.

  3. #10 by claire93 on July 27, 2017 - 19:38

    I love reading your posts, as ever! You’re always up to something (often up to no good lol) and I am writing to say a firm “No!” Three dogs and umpteen cats, plus the hens, are more than enough work, no matter how cute those Alsatians are. The pup is really cute, but “No!”.
    You have my full sympathy with the farting, to put it bluntly, of dogs having stuffed themselves on Fallen plums. Luckily, we only have one, but it’s always best to be sitting near the fan when he lets one off lol.

    • #11 by tialys on July 28, 2017 - 08:13

      I got up this morning to a cowpat on the floor – the old boy is having difficulty keeping all the harvest in :/ Luckily we have hard floors throughout (he missed the rug) so that’s another tick on the ‘no more dogs’ list.

  4. #12 by nanacathy2 on July 27, 2017 - 21:05

    I should put you in touch with my brother who thought five dogs was a good idea. It wasn’t!! I love your rabbit card so neat!

    • #13 by tialys on July 28, 2017 - 08:10

      The most dogs we’ve ever had at one time was four. A golden retriever, a german shepherd, a lab/collie cross type mutt and another mutt – the last two being ‘unplanned’. All quite big dogs so a lot of work (and money). We ‘only’ have three now and I have sworn that, once the oldest crosses over the ‘rainbow bridge’ I’m going to stick to two and I’m very determined – again 😉

  5. #14 by The Snail of Happiness on July 27, 2017 - 22:37

    Housework should never appear on any list!
    I’ve never participated in a CAL (or KAL)… I suspect I would be too easily distracted/stressed. I like working at my own pace. However, I hope that you get your latest section done in time for the next part. I look forward to seeing the flowers.

    • #15 by tialys on July 28, 2017 - 08:04

      This is my first CAL. I did do both of Kate and Sue’s patchwork block swaps which I loved doing – and miss a lot. I usually like working at my own pace too but every now and again I need a little ‘kick up the arse’ to focus me. I also thought it would be a good way to expand my crochet skills. I am fearful of the flowers so we’ll see how they turn out 😮

  6. #16 by M. L. Kappa on July 27, 2017 - 22:42

    I must say those puppies are gorgeous 😬

    • #17 by tialys on July 28, 2017 - 07:57

      I’m tempted – and my husband is even worse than me – but I just have to remind myself of the realities of having multiple dogs.

  7. #19 by Dartmoor Yarns on July 27, 2017 - 22:47

    That title applies perfectly to me and yet I’m one of your goal setting friends!! Go on get another few dogs!

    • #20 by tialys on July 28, 2017 - 07:56

      She says – with only one!

      • #21 by Dartmoor Yarns on July 28, 2017 - 09:08

        I knew you’d say that. In my defence, I used to practically live in then vets and it was exhausting looking after/worrying about him. The irony now is that he’s old, we’ve only been going for check ups for the last 9 months. Mind you know what people with only children can be like with having their child at the centre of their world – he’s definitely also a spoilt only one.

      • #22 by tialys on July 28, 2017 - 09:39

        Well, bless him, Mr. Hicks has been worth three dogs growing up – in more ways than one – and I know you’ve been through the mill with him. It’s thanks to you that he’s lived to the age he is now and reaping the benefits of all your love, care and attention over the years. No dog could ask for more 🙂 xx

      • #23 by Dartmoor Yarns on July 28, 2017 - 12:17

        Aw! thank you – Tear in my eye. He might have been all that maintenance but we’ve got more than three dogs worth back 🙂 xx

  8. #24 by Kim on July 28, 2017 - 19:11

    You have been busy. If you could persuade The Management I would happily take a pup…….
    You have my sympathy with the fruit and fall out. Not a terribly pleasant result. Disregard any household tasks – I always describe myself as domestically disinclined 😉.

    • #25 by tialys on July 29, 2017 - 10:45

      O.K.! There are volunteers who’ll drive them over to the U.K. What would it take? Photos of the depressing kennels? A bottle of Scotch? 😉

      • #26 by Kim on July 29, 2017 - 20:27

        For me – dead easy just send the doggy. The Management – much more of a problem but I’m working on it really hard!

  9. #27 by Emma on July 29, 2017 - 10:24

    I love your bunny fabric it’s super cute! You’re doing super well with the crochet I think it looks great and if your edges are a bit wonky they can be fixed with blocking normally 🙂 and those two dogs are gorgeous 😍

    • #28 by tialys on July 29, 2017 - 10:48

      Thanks Emma.
      I’m hoping the blocking as I go along will help keep me on the straight and narrow – well, the straight anyway.

  10. #29 by KerryCan on July 29, 2017 - 12:34

    I have the weakness for cats that you have for dogs . . . But I’m really trying to stick with the ones I have! You’re being very productive with all kinds of projects–you must never be bored!

  11. #30 by tialys on July 29, 2017 - 13:21

    I am never, ever bored. I can’t even imagine it.

    • #31 by tialys on July 29, 2017 - 13:23

      Plus, I think my six cats might constitute a weakness too 😉

  12. #32 by sewchet on July 30, 2017 - 17:24

    Try “The Dog Listener” by Jan Fennell – my bible and a ‘must read’ for anyone serious about dogs. I’m not at all surprised that your customer now wants another box. They really are wonderful, but I STILL haven’t prioritised making one for myself. Why do we always insist on putting ourselves at the bottom of the list? I know I keep repeating myself, but I can’t wait to see the finished Hatbox quilt.

    • #33 by tialys on July 31, 2017 - 08:59

      I must give that book a try – although I wish there was one called ‘The Human Listener’ for my dogs to read. Of course I would then also have to wish that dogs could read 😉
      You must make yourself a box – the one you made for Ali was lovely.
      I’m still faffing about with layout for the hatboxes and made yet another one yesterday because I wasn’t happy with the two I was trying to choose between to complete the twelve. Now I’m engrossed in making my first ever man’s shirt so, as usual, I’ve swerved from the path but I’ve sworn not to start another quilt until this wall hanging is finished so that’s an incentive.

  13. #34 by dezertsuz on July 31, 2017 - 00:07

    Seems like plenty for several Mondays – and I’m glad you interpreted your handwriting as you went through the post. LOL Three dogs is enough, even without the annual fruit fall. =)

    • #35 by tialys on July 31, 2017 - 08:54

      I don’t know what you mean? My handwriting is beautiful 😉 I think I could have been a doctor with writing like that – everybody knows it’s obligatory to write appallingly so nobody can read their prescriptions.

Leave a Reply

