Touching Swiftly on a Hatbox

In keeping with my pledge to add to my Liberty Hatbox wall hanging project at the end of each month I’m afraid I have failed miserably as I still  can’t decide on the final block.

 So, I made another one.


I won’t bore you rigid with the choices I face again but I’m still not sure and now I think I’ve made it worse by having three to choose from instead of two.  Kate, on the other hand, is making great progress and has started hand quilting (yes hand quilting) her full size quilt and putting me to shame.  See and admire here.

So that’s the hatbox pledge dealt with which would make for a very short post indeed .

Your hopes, however,  are dashed!

Did I mention Liberty of London fabric?  I think I told you they had a sale and I think I told you I indulged.  I’m not sure I realised there were actual skyscrapers on this fabric when I ordered it but, now I know, I like it even more.   The simple shell top on this New Look pattern that had come free with a magazine seemed just the thing….

and so it was.

I’ve decided I have a back problem in that nearly everything I make gapes a little at the back of the neck.  I think I have narrow shoulders in comparison to my bust so, next time, I’m going to cut a wedge out of the centre top of the back bodice and see if that fixes it – a tip I found on By Hand, London.  Unless anybody has any better ideas.

Also, I bought this astrology themed tana lawn in the Liberty sale to make a shirt for Mr. Tialys who had a hand in choosing the fabric.

I’ve never made a man’s shirt before but thought it was time I gave it a go as my wardrobe is full, one daughter makes her own clothes, the other doesn’t much care about clothes so that leaves the husband (or the pets and don’t think I might not go there!).

I chose the Negroni by Colette as it’s a nice, casual style but with some interesting features, it has good reviews and there is a very detailed sew along (from about six years ago!) on the Male Pattern Boldness blog so what could go wrong?  Actually, so far, very little.  I’m working on a muslin using fabric that was more expensive than the tana lawn due to the fact that there was 60% off in the Liberty sale but I  always hope my muslins (when I actually bother to make one) will be wearable otherwise I get upset if all the work comes to nought – apart from ensuring you’re making the right size of course which is the main purpose of them after all.

Anyway – how’s this for a flat felled seam?

An inside view of course – the fabric is dark on the outside and I certainly wasn’t confident enough to use contrasting thread so you wouldn’t be able to make it out.  This is the first time I’ve tackled a real flat felled seam, although I did mock ones on Tilly and the Buttons’ Rosa dress,  and I’m pleased with the way this one turned out.  I say ‘this one’ because the other one didn’t turn out quite as neat but I’m not going to show you that now am I?

Did somebody mention a sale by the way?

Fifty six 50g balls of cotton double knitting yarn in all the shades in the range and no,  I don’t know what I’m going to do with them, thank you for asking.

Mr. Tialys is still creating awesome leather things in his ‘spare’ time which is strange because I didn’t think he had any of that or that’s what he tells me if I ask him to do anything in the house or garden 😉


This is a laptop bag he designed himself and is in the kind of leather that already looks as if it’s been ‘lived in’ which is the kind I like.

I decided to have a clear out in the cupboard in the conservatory and threw some stuff in a box ready to go to the charity shop.

I know I sometimes get fed up with having so many animals but I haven’t quite resorted to this yet.

What is it with cats and cardboard boxes anyway?

 

 

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kathy D on August 1, 2017 - 18:24

    Love the cat in the box (Cat in the Hat – Box quilt)! Your flat fell seam looks perfect and the leather case is a master piece. What a creative couple!

    • #2 by tialys on August 2, 2017 - 09:50

      Thanks Kathy. It does mean not a lot of household chores get done though :/

  2. #3 by claire93 on August 1, 2017 - 19:13

    lots of lovely sewing projects! I love your new top and hubbie’s shirt is going to be fab too.

    • #4 by tialys on August 2, 2017 - 09:50

      I hope so – I’ve realised that it will give me quite a buzz to see him wearing something I’ve made. I’m not going down the road of tailored shirts for wearing with a suit though – he wears those to work every day and I don’t think I can match Thomas Pink or T.M. Lewin. Smart casual will be my aim.

  3. #5 by katechiconi on August 1, 2017 - 22:33

    Oooh, I like this hatbox. Put this one in instead of one of the others, maybe the pink one? You need to show us some variants, then we can choose for you, and then at the end you can blame us for everything… The rest of the sewing is lovely, that top is particularly nice and I might have to make a note of the number, especially as my problem is the reverse of yours! In awe of that flat felled seam, BTW…

    • #6 by tialys on August 2, 2017 - 09:47

      I do like a simple shell top – they look much smarter than a sleeveless t-shirt.
      The hatbox is a good one because that is such a trademark Liberty print so I’m definitely keeping it in and will probably ditch both the bright pink and yellow one along with the mini Hello Kitty one. I might quilt those up and send them off to the woman who collects 12inch blocks and makes them into quilts for children in need. I can’t think of what her blog’s called at the moment but it will come to me – I think it’s something to do with ‘sunshine’.

      • #7 by katechiconi on August 2, 2017 - 11:37

        It’s Alison at Little Island Quilting in Guernsey (littleislandquilting.blogspot.com).

      • #8 by tialys on August 2, 2017 - 11:51

        That’s it! I’ve promised her some blocks before but never got round to it. Must do so – I just love looking at the photos of all those little happy smiling faces when she does an update blog post showing where the quilts end up.

  4. #9 by CurlsnSkirls on August 2, 2017 - 00:43

    I also like the latest hat box, adore that Liberty skyscraper fabric, and did wonder about the cat . . . Yes indeed, you’re a very creative couple! No comment on the yarn except to drool over the colours and the quantity . . . 😳

    • #10 by tialys on August 2, 2017 - 09:42

      I did get a book of amigurumi monsters to crochet when it was my birthday so I foresee some very colourful ones – when I get round to it that is. :/

      • #11 by CurlsnSkirls on August 2, 2017 - 15:59

        Am certain they’ll be marvellous!

  5. #12 by The Snail of Happiness on August 2, 2017 - 09:07

    Lovely top… and seam… and laptop bag.
    We have a dog that climbs into suitcases.

    • #13 by tialys on August 2, 2017 - 09:40

      Do you think he/she’s trying to tell you something 😉

  6. #15 by KerryCan on August 2, 2017 - 13:49

    I envy your sewing skills! I have never made a serious attempt at clothing but what a good job you do! All your projects, and projects-to-be, look great, and the leather bag is superb. One of our cats sits in the recycling bin . . . don’t give me ideas.

    • #16 by tialys on August 2, 2017 - 19:46

      Ooh! That doesn’t bear thinking about.

  7. #17 by Lynnx on August 2, 2017 - 17:01

    Love the latest hatbox only because I have the same patterned liberty fabric adorning my front door to keep the draughts out in winter, obviously on a larger scale
    Mr T laptop bag, very impressed move over Mulberry!!!!!

    • #18 by tialys on August 2, 2017 - 19:43

      Ah, yes, I remember – and I have a lampshade.
      It would be very nice indeed if Mr T could sell his goods for Mulberry prices. Somebody in his office was showing off her Mulberry bag the other week and he was examining it and being a ‘bag critic’ if such a thing exists – well, she did pay 1,200 quid for it so he wanted to know why.

  8. #19 by Kim on August 2, 2017 - 18:09

    We had a cat that would sit with a paw in a matchbox if that was all that was available (and was almost carried off in a demonstrators bag but she was noticed – a big girl😉). I’m sure your cat would have fetched a high price.
    All of your makes are gorgeous, and I wait with bated breath to see what you do with all that lovely yarn.

    • #20 by tialys on August 2, 2017 - 19:44

      They are funny aren’t they =^^=.
      Who knows what will happen with the yarn – something colourful I suspect or lots of little projects.

    • #21 by Born To Organize on August 2, 2017 - 19:52

      Kim your kitty sounds like a real character. Aren’t they all. I love them to pieces.

      • #22 by Kim on August 2, 2017 - 22:20

        She was a stray that my dad said could stay the weekend. She never moved out. Dad broke his heart when she died. Definitely a special cat.

      • #23 by Born To Organize on August 4, 2017 - 01:48

        Oh how often I’ve heard these stories. These special cats get under our skin and that is that. I’m sorry she broke his heart. It’s almost inevitable. The good news is that the world is full of cats in search of a good home, a warm lap and a person to love. Our latest kitten moved in after she was trapped inside the motor compartment of my husband’s car. Now we wonder how we ever got on without her. 🙂

  9. #24 by Born To Organize on August 2, 2017 - 19:52

    What a colorful, happy post. I love seeing yarn, fabric, paper or anything else all together in a variety of colors. I’m not sure why I find it so cheerful and hopeful but I do. Thank you for that unintended consequence. I have a small Liberty hanky brought back from a friend visiting the UK last summer. I smiled when I recognized it. Congratulations on another great sewing project.

    I have a suggestion for future patterns, something I learned in college. We made a muslin pattern specifically suited to our body. I’m tall, broad-shouldered and long waisted so there is no such thing as a ready to fit pattern for me. You start with a simple tunic pattern. Have someone measure your length nape to waist, chest bone to waist, across the shoulders, etc. Once you have all those measurements, you make a simple paper pattern and from that a muslin. Then you have a basic pattern to use for all future sewing projects. For me, for instance, I would cut a paper pattern and insert nearly three inches of length at the waist. That way a tunic or dress fits my waist, instead of floating around my rib cage. Does all this make sense? You could probably find someone in town to make a tunic for you as it is hard to fit yourself. Good luck!

    • #25 by tialys on August 3, 2017 - 08:38

      It does make sense Alys – is it called a ‘sloper’? It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for skirts, tops and dresses for ages. One day…….

  10. #27 by nanacathy2 on August 2, 2017 - 22:52

    Love that top. Know what you mean about cats and boxes. Once when we packed for a house move, the cat found a spare box and packed herself.

    • #28 by tialys on August 3, 2017 - 08:40

      Bless her, she obviously didn’t want to be left behind.

  11. #29 by Emma on August 3, 2017 - 08:43

    I love that new hatbox but I can see your dilemma now! I love the fabric for your top, it’s really pretty 😍 and I’m envious of all that yarn!!

    • #30 by tialys on August 3, 2017 - 10:32

      Just got to decide what to do with it now. It’s cotton so I’ll probably use it for crochet rather than knitting. I might dip a toe into amigurumi.

      • #31 by claire93 on August 3, 2017 - 19:31

        with 56 different colours, you can do more than just dip a toe lol

  12. #32 by magpiesue on August 4, 2017 - 22:56

    Salivating over here. Love the new hat box, swooning over the crate of yarn, envious of Mr. T’s new bag, grinning at the cat. I so wish we could have a cat (hubby is too allergic – or so he claims). There was a calico kitten by the name of Violet featured on our noon news program today. I’d have taken her into my home in a heartbeat!

    • #33 by tialys on August 5, 2017 - 07:20

      It’s amazing how many people claim to be allergic to cats and dogs 😉
      Mind you, I’ve just given my lot their monthly treatment against fleas and ticks which has got to have some nasty chemicals in it so you might find it difficult yourself. I know there are some natural treatments on offer, which I must investigate more fully, but sometimes those aren’t as efficient and when you have as many furbabies as I do the flea situation can’t be allowed to get out of hand. 😦

  13. #34 by magpiesue on August 4, 2017 - 22:57

    Oh, just think of the rainbow of dish cloths you could knit up with that yarn! I love those types of cloths.

  14. #35 by Trisha on August 5, 2017 - 22:09

    Lovely top and fabric, I’m slightly obsessed with Liberty tana lawn at the moment!

    • #36 by tialys on August 7, 2017 - 07:42

      Yes, you made a lovely dress and top – are you still working your way through last year’s sale purchases or have you ‘moved on’.

      • #37 by Trisha on August 12, 2017 - 00:27

        still using and I have bought more!!

  15. #38 by Dartmoor Yarns on August 6, 2017 - 23:50

    Sorry, somehow missed this. Love the new hat box – but it’s looking more and more like I was right, you’ll have made a second wall hanging soon 🙂 That’s a lot of yarn, you naughty monkey. I’ll have the bamboo mat out of that box please. How’s Taz doing without being allowed on walks?

    • #39 by tialys on August 7, 2017 - 07:47

      That’ll be 50 cents to you then Missus.
      Taz gets a bit stressed when we leave but is mollified by the fact that it’s ‘dinnertime’ when we get back. He is still feeding on plums and worse so we’re still having the occasional accident overnight but I couldn’t leave him to sleep outside in a kennel or anything 😦 We are going to cut all our plum trees down later on. We have about twelve but they’re old and manky looking and we’ll replace them with something more decorative – but not fruiting!

      • #40 by Dartmoor Yarns on August 7, 2017 - 11:02

        Aw! Bless him. Doesn’t sound like he needs dinner time with all those plums! Glad to hear he’s not be sent to sleep outside. Give him a hug from me.

Leave a Reply

