Funny What Can Bring On An Attack of Nostalgia

Back in the misty mists of time when I was a teenager, I used to commute to school as my parents decided to move out of London and I wanted to keep going to the same school so I took a train every day.  As a result, all my friends were up in London and I also had a Saturday job so every weekend I would again take the train to London to work in the Kings Road in a trendy perfume and cosmetics shop and then, after work, I’d  pitch up at my friends house (smelling amazing) and we would start getting ready for the night life.  Sunday morning we would lie in and then, more often than not, we’d take ourselves off to Petticoat Lane market to spend our Saturday job money on new clothes.  Sunday afternoon we would lounge about watching old black and white films on the T.V. being horrible about the actors before getting ready to go out on Sunday evening, arrive home at all hours and then be almost impossible to turf out of bed on Monday morning for school .   Her parents must have had the patience of saints.  God bless you June and Harold.  I always sat at the back in French class on Monday so the teacher wouldn’t see that I was asleep.  If only I’d known where I’d end up living.   All this was done with my belongings packed in a carrier bag – usually a Sainsbury’s one although I must have purloined that from somewhere else as my Mum was more of a Tesco shopper then  – and I can’t think now why I never had a proper overnight bag at any time during this period.    Still, at least nobody could say I didn’t re-purpose before it was even fashionable.

Which brings me,  in an extremely roundabout, rambling and not even really relevant way, to this mini suitcase I’ve just made.

Another pattern I bought from Jodie at ricac Sews when she had a sale recently.  It’s called the ‘Small World Suitcase’ and I’m still trying to forgive her for planting that Disneyland ride song in my head again.  A particular form of torture inflicted on many parents and children over the years

Anyway, this is a pattern with slightly more to it than those little dogs, whales and stars that I bought –  a doggy further down to jog your memory about that.

It was fun to make but does involve a lot of interfacing.  Each exterior piece has two layers of mediumweight interfacing plus a layer of fusible fleece.  While the interior pieces have two layers of interfacing.  The cutting out of all those is a bit of a chore but worth it for the strength and solid feel it gives the resulting case.

The constructed exterior and interior turned inside  out to show their interfacedness (made up word).

The lining is hand stitched in and,  after I’d treated myself to an unexpected acupuncture session, I resolved to use those little pegs (aka wonder clips) next time instead of pins.

It turned out much bigger than I was expecting and I think this would take a couple of sets of undies, some cosmetics, a toothbrush, a nightie and a (smaller) teddy very nicely.

Much better than a carrier bag be it Sainsbury’s or Tescos.

It would make a project bag with a bit of a difference or a very cute bag for a little girl (or a big girl) – which is why I have another on the cutting table as we speak.  I have a Liberty fabric one in mind too which will come as no surprise to regular readers.

I’ve also made another ‘rabbit’ sewing box for my bunny loving client who commissioned  another two for Christmas gifts.  I’ve finished the first one and have the second one in production.

The wildlife enthusiasts amongst you will notice that these are actually hares but I love this fabric so much and I thought she wouldn’t mind a bit of artistic license.  I have promised to revert to bona fide rabbits for the second box.

Here’s the inside

Talking of Christmas gifts – which I sort of was – don’t forget that Sheila over at Sewchet is obviously bonkers  very kind and has decided to organise us again in another exciting Stitching Santa event this year.  Whoopee!  I don’t know what I like best – sending a parcel full of sewing related goodies (or knitting/crochet related if you prefer) to the recipient Sheila pairs me with or receiving a parcel myself.  If you haven’t signed up yet and want to participate this year, there’s still time – just click on the image below and it will take you to where you can sign up.  I sign up for the sewing and the knitting one because I like both and can’t choose – so I don’t.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by nanacathy2 on October 15, 2017 - 11:50

    So now I am singing about it being a small world after all! Apart from that which I am sure I will forgive you for eventually, I can’t say which I love more the suitcase, the dog or the box, they are all too gorgeous for words.

    • #2 by tialys on October 16, 2017 - 10:13

      I feel the need to go and listen to multitudinous other songs in order to get this one out of my head – I might get something else in there though – but could it be worse?

  2. #3 by KerryCan on October 15, 2017 - 12:55

    Wow! What a lot of pretty and practical things you make! All of these things are perfect–I’d never even attempt any of them but I can certainly admire your ability. And, yes, it *is* a small world after all . . .

    • #4 by tialys on October 16, 2017 - 10:14

      Thank you Kerry – I’m sure you would be able to turn your hand to any of these if you wanted to though.

  3. #5 by magpiesue on October 15, 2017 - 20:47

    You temptress you.

    • #6 by tialys on October 16, 2017 - 10:49

      What are you tempted by Sue? The suitcase, the dog or the Stitching Santa?

  4. #7 by sew2pro on October 15, 2017 - 22:10

    Your teenage years are making me feel very nostalgic too though my own time was dull beyond belief in comparison.
    Nice work (every one). I was worried after all that padding the case would be too small for practical uses so relieved all is well.

    • #8 by tialys on October 16, 2017 - 10:15

      The padding doesn’t actually add too much volume really – just a rather solid feeling – and the exterior side panels are quilted so that sort of reins it in a bit too.

  5. #9 by katechiconi on October 15, 2017 - 23:26

    I am rigorously avoiding that particular earworm, but am extremely impressed with your case. I always look at things like that and go “Nah, too much fiddly work”, but you don’t sound especially over it (no. 2 in production, after all…), so it can’t be as bad as I thought. Also, it’s a bit too small for the times I go away and need a case, but I suspect there’s probably something larger out there, isn’t there?

    • #10 by tialys on October 16, 2017 - 10:19

      How somebody that is making a beautiful sampler can think something like the little case is fiddly I don’t know. The worse part of this, I think, is the cutting out but then I think that about most dressmaking patterns too. This is the only size pattern she does but I would think enlarging it would be fairly straightforward – for you, not me 😉

  6. #11 by poshbirdy on October 16, 2017 - 12:26

    These pieces are so beautiful. That suitcase would have been wonderful in place of a carrier bag

    • #12 by tialys on October 16, 2017 - 19:08

      It would – sadly I had not yet discovered the sewing machine.

  7. #13 by katechiconi on October 16, 2017 - 12:32

    I look at the zip and relegate it straight to the too hard basket 🙂 Something like this would be good for caravan trips, so I can keep things tidy that don’t fit in the clothes drawers, but will fit in the locker under the seats. So now I’m hoping there’ll be some curtain fabric or mattress ticking left over from Miz Lizzie’s new adornments.

    • #14 by tialys on October 16, 2017 - 19:09

      Great idea!
      The zip is a simple one – and that’s me saying that! – it is inserted between the two long panel pieces while still flat.

      • #15 by katechiconi on October 16, 2017 - 23:01

        Oooh, a much better idea!

  8. #16 by Dartmoor Yarns on October 16, 2017 - 19:29

    You made a suitcase! Wow! It’s fab. Love the rabbit box too. Did your parent move away so they could get away from you at weekends? 😉

  9. #17 by tialys on October 17, 2017 - 08:02

    Very likely – there were four kids at home – I was/am the eldest – so it probably made the place seem a bit less crowded.

  10. #18 by sewchet on October 17, 2017 - 12:37

    Well, there’s a coincidence – a handmade suitcase features on my blog tomorrow, too! I don’t know about you, but I found the thought more daunting than the actual process and am slightly ridiculously pleased with the outcome. So are you, no doubt – it’s lovely. I do so LOVE your sewing boxes and, no, I still haven’t got around to making one for myself, only other people!

    • #19 by tialys on October 17, 2017 - 12:41

      Spooky! I look forward to seeing your suitcase as well as, eventually, a selfish sewing box 😉

  11. #20 by Janice Marriott on October 17, 2017 - 16:39

    The suitcase is adorable.
    I also did not get around to commenting on your last doggie post……poor thing,hope he is getting on all right.

    • #21 by tialys on October 17, 2017 - 16:57

      Thanks Jan.
      Last time he was spotted, he seemed quite a bit better but I think there will be several people who live nearby keeping an eye on proceedings.

  12. #22 by Kim on October 19, 2017 - 17:59

    I love your suitcase – much nicer than a carrier bag!
    I have signed up for Sewchets Stitching Santa again this year. I was a very lucky girl and got one of your fabulous sewing boxes from my sewing partner last year. Magnificent 😃.

    • #23 by tialys on October 20, 2017 - 09:36

      Did you? I remember Sheila (Sewchet) making one for Ali (Thimberlina) but don’t remember another version. Who made your one for you?

      • #24 by Kim on October 23, 2017 - 18:00

        Sorry for the delay – it was Nikki at Beads andBarnacles. And I love it 😃.

  13. #25 by jendavismiller on October 19, 2017 - 20:49

    Oh the hares!!! I love them completely. Do I need another box? hmmmmm. I did make a quilted bag for my Stitching Santa recipient last year and she was very pleased with it (oooh, did I remember to blog that?). Not sure I’m ready for a suitcase yet, but could see one made of llama fabric. What a nice little story leading up to the suitcase, and having just scrolled back up to look at it again, I noticed the little kissing bunnies. Adorable.

    • #26 by tialys on October 20, 2017 - 09:09

      I know – I love those hares and almost didn’t want to use the fabric but unless I’m going to frame all my favourite fabrics and put them up all over the house I don’t know what else I’m supposed to do with it 😉 Funnily enough I do have some llama fabric but I used some for a wash bag and now probably haven’t enough for a suitcase 😦 I have some sloths.

      • #27 by jendavismiller on October 21, 2017 - 21:51

        Well, sloths are good, too. 🙂 And such a conundrum – what to do with all the lovely fabrics? Someone I follow (why can’t I remember who? oh my poor tired brain) used llamas to cover a chair and it looked really nice.

  14. #28 by Born To Organize on October 31, 2017 - 02:49

    I always feel like I’ve just sat down with you for a chat. You have such a nice, breezy writing style, Lynn. Your little case is brilliant (and I too just visited Sheila and saw her case and your comments as well). I love these funny little coincidences. Your school life sounded like great fun. I’m sure you had the ins and outs that we all did, but to hear you tell it, it sounds like the makings of a fun movie or one of those teen girl book series. Fun!

    • #29 by tialys on November 4, 2017 - 17:19

      A chat is what I’m aiming for Alys – to read me is to hear me. I’m glad it works 🙂

Leave a Reply

