Only 47 Sleeps to Go (or Thereabouts)

Yesterday, Sheila announced the results of the draw to see who would be partnered with who for the Stitching SantaΒ  she is organising again this year.

Amazingly, I’m a bit ahead of the game for a change and, not so amazingly, I have decided to participate in the Stitching and the Knitting Santas again this year because I do both but, more to the point, I like getting gifts under the tree especially if they are crafty ones.

So, I’ve made a start with these gorgeous enamel pins from Jodie over at ricracsews

This one will be for my knitting partner (obviously)

and this one will be for my stitching partner.

(both photos courtesy of Jodie’s Etsy shop because I have already wrapped mine up)

Colours may vary as I haven’t decided which one I’m keeping yet (I have two of each in different colours πŸ˜‰ and I’ll be wearing mine at the craft fair I’m involved with at the end of the month

These are the ‘purchased’ part of my gifts, now to decide what else to put in.

Are you participating this year (and if not, why not) and, if so, have you made a start or haven’t you given it a thought yet?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on November 8, 2017 - 14:21

    Once again… not. Now, if I could have guaranteed you as my Secret Santa partner, together with the chance of getting that tape measure pin, I might possibly have changed my mind. But as always, we’re not giving gifts, we’re giving money to causes and trying to make a difference. It’s not for everyone, but it gives us a lot of pleasure.

    • #2 by tialys on November 8, 2017 - 21:52

      It’s a good thing you are doing. I try to stay away from the shops at Christmas time as the frenzied consumerism depresses me but I can’t forgo the gift giving altogether. More and more though I am careful about what I give, preferring hand made or vintage both to give and receive. I think the Stitching Santa is a nice way to share stashes, prepare a little hand-made something for somebody, pass on patterns or tutorials and throw in a low cost craft related purchase too.

      • #3 by katechiconi on November 8, 2017 - 23:08

        I like the Three Hands method: Hand made, Hand me down or Handed over (charity shop purchases).

      • #4 by tialys on November 9, 2017 - 09:15

        I’m getting there! Some recipients aren’t that appreciative of those sort of gifts but I’ve whittled my Christmas giving list down dramatically in past years (moving to France helped πŸ˜‰ ) so those that remain know what to expect – Mr. Tialys received a set of vintage leather making tools for his birthday last month.

  2. #5 by claire93 on November 8, 2017 - 15:17

    yikes! now that you boiled it down to only 47 sleeps, xmas doesn’t sound as far away as I hoped it was!

    • #6 by tialys on November 8, 2017 - 20:59

      See my reply to nanacathy! πŸ™‚

  3. #7 by nanacathy2 on November 8, 2017 - 16:00

    I’m just doing the knitting one this year, think I took on a bit much when I did both. I have some dieas, but apparently not many sleeps to go, best get knitting.

    • #8 by tialys on November 8, 2017 - 20:58

      I think saying it in ‘sleeps’ make it sound worse than it really is. Six weeks sounds better πŸ™‚

  4. #9 by The Snail of Happiness on November 8, 2017 - 16:09

    I am participating and these will be the only gifts I give and receive this Christmas. In fact, I might leave opening mine until my birthday, which is just after Christmas and which most people forget about. I’m only doing the yarn version and I’m a bit ‘rabbit in the headlights’ at the moment…

    • #10 by tialys on November 8, 2017 - 20:56

      Well, the great thing about it is that all the participants are knitters/crocheters or sewing enthusiasts of some sort or other so we probably have a better idea of the sort of things each other would like in that line than most of the ‘real’ people in our lives So, you can’t go wrong really πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t like to have a birthday near to Christmas as I know people often lump them both together or, as you say, forget about it altogether.

      • #11 by The Snail of Happiness on November 8, 2017 - 23:11

        My birthday has always been a non-event – no one even wants a piece of cake on 2 January 😦

      • #12 by tialys on November 9, 2017 - 09:09

        A previous man in my life had his birthday on Christmas Day. His mother used to try to make it special for him – even when he was adult – but it’s just not the same. If it were me I would be like the Queen and have an ‘official birthday’ later on in the year.

      • #13 by The Snail of Happiness on November 9, 2017 - 10:34

        Somehow we never manage to get round to an ‘official birthday’… Mr Snail always makes sure we do something nice on the day but I do wish other people would remember occasionally!

  5. #14 by Danielle on November 8, 2017 - 17:51

    This is my first year joining and I’m doing the sewing Santa (I thought doing both might be a bit ambitious for my first time!). I’ve started perusing my recipient’s blog and have some ideas forming, but haven’t put anything together yet, but I am excited

    • #15 by tialys on November 8, 2017 - 20:50

      It’s a fun thing to do! I’m sure you will enjoy both the giving and receiving.

      • #16 by Danielle on November 8, 2017 - 22:28

        I love giving gifts! It’s one of my favorite parts of Christmas (and birthdays!) Sometimes I try to make the recipient open it early because I can’t wait anymore haha

  6. #17 by craftycreeky on November 8, 2017 - 22:00

    I’m taking part too, just started thinking now I know who I’m making for πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed it last year! Love the tape measure badge, I’m getting a bit of a collection of ‘accessories’ to wear at sewing days, scissor earrings, leather tape measure wristband, sewing shirt…

    • #18 by tialys on November 9, 2017 - 10:48

      I noticed, in one of your blog photos, your leather tape measure wristband as I have one too and actually did whip it off once for practical purpose.

  7. #19 by sew2pro on November 8, 2017 - 22:27

    I slightly regret not taking part now I’ve seen your post, but as I haven’t got round to using the bits I received from my Santa last year, I think it’s sensible to refrain.

    • #20 by tialys on November 9, 2017 - 10:47

      Probably sensible. As I still haven’t seen any blog posts from you (unless you are on IG of course which I’m not) I’m guessing you are busy with work and family and, if you had the spare time, you’d rather be making a dress. There’s always next year.

  8. #21 by dezertsuz on November 8, 2017 - 22:41

    Ooops, I missed it this year. Maybe I’ll catch it again next year. I look forward to seeing what you make, though!

    • #22 by tialys on November 9, 2017 - 10:43

      I haven’t decided on makes yet but I’m sure I’ll think of something.

  9. #23 by Dartmoor Yarns on November 9, 2017 - 21:37

    Cute pins. Look forward to seeing what you make. Still trying to get my head around what to give my partner.

    • #24 by tialys on November 13, 2017 - 12:42

      I ought to get the hand made things done and dusted really in case I run out of time. I’m sure whatever you decide to give will be splendiferous.

      • #25 by Dartmoor Yarns on November 14, 2017 - 00:29

        Yes, best to get on with it as time seems so good at vanishing 😦

  10. #26 by Fred the Needle on November 11, 2017 - 10:31

    delightful pins, I am in the middle of a project at the moment, but it is next on the list. lots of ideas buzzing around.

    • #27 by tialys on November 13, 2017 - 12:41

      It’s great that you have lots of ideas and there’s still plenty of time to get your project finished before you put them into action.

  11. #28 by nettyg on November 14, 2017 - 04:13

    I would’ve if I’d known, love crafty swaps but haven’t joined any this year. Jodie’s pins are fun aren’t they, I especially like her little bit naughty ones. Look forward to seeing what you make.

    • #29 by tialys on November 15, 2017 - 14:43

      Yes, I nearly bought the ‘be wary I’m sweary’ one for my sister.

  12. #30 by nettyg on November 16, 2017 - 02:19

    πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

