A Scrap Here and There

A picture heavy post today – and not so much of the rabbit* for a change – as I’m pressed for time and might have to go back over to the U.K. at the weekend to give my sister a little break in the care of our Mum.

It’s Kate and Gun’s ScrapHappy day so I’m joining in with some creatures made from scraps to show you.  Remember the dogs I was making for a garland to bedeck my stall with at the upcoming Christmas Fair in aid of the dogs retirement home?  Well there are now five of them and I think that’s how it’s going to have to stay as I’m not sure I’ll get round to making any others now before the event is upon us.

I still haven’t decided how I’m going to join them in a garland but it will come to me I’m sure.

I also made another whale pincushion and, even though you know it makes me feel bad to stick pins in it, I have.

Who says you can’t have a floral whale?

Sorry about my depth of field in the whale photo but you get the gist and this might be one of my Stitching Santa gifts.  (‘depth of field’ – get me and my fancy camera talk.  Unfortunately, I can talk the talk but can’t always walk the walk where photography is concerned.)

Talking of fund raising, I just received some new ribbons I ordered for the dog collars I make.  They are very nice quality woven ribbons and are very bright and breezy.  I love the Red Riding Hood one, so cute.

From the same company I ordered this lovely jersey fabric which I might make into a warm, snuggly dress for the winter – or a tunic if I haven’t got enough of it.

I saw the writing on the selvedge but ignored it

Kids indeed – what nonsense!  I’m not afraid to wear a swan dress.

I had a happy unbirthday today because the very generous Claire sent me a gift of this little pouch which is just the right size to keep a packet of mini tissues in.

Such gorgeous fabric and the little snap hook on the end will make it just right to clip into my handbag and save me rummaging in the depths when I need to dry a tear (or blow a nose).

I have a couple of knitting and crochet finishes to show you but they will have to wait until I’m back from the U.K. and have,  hopefully, participated in the Christmas Fair on the 25th of this month.  Everything is a bit up in the air at the moment and days, let alone weeks, must be taken one at a time.

* ‘Rabbit’ – short for ‘rabbit and pork’ which is cockney rhyming slang for ‘talk’.  Just in case you were wondering.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on November 15, 2017 - 09:52

    Love all those cute red scrappy dachsies. And I’d wear that swan fabric too! Have a safe trip back to the UK again, hope you find your mum as well as can be expected. xxx

    • #2 by tialys on November 15, 2017 - 14:44

      Why shouldn’t we wear swan fabric if we want – especially as they are very subtle swans.

  2. #4 by nanacathy2 on November 15, 2017 - 10:10

    The dogs are so sweet, I love Miss Strawberry. I hear all whales are going to be wearing floral next year. Happy un birthday, and I hope your Mum is doing well and the visit is fine. xx

    • #5 by tialys on November 15, 2017 - 14:45

      Floral whales and strawberry dogs – the wonderful world of fabric stashes.

  3. #6 by The Snail of Happiness on November 15, 2017 - 10:30

    Sorry to hear that you need to make a return visit to the UK so soon – I hope both your sister and mum are ok.
    I love the little dogs; I’ll be interested to see how you join them – little harnesses and leashes perhaps?

    • #7 by tialys on November 15, 2017 - 14:46

      Thank you.
      I had harnesses in mind with little leashes attaching them to a rope or ribbon of some sort. I did give it a quick try the other day but the balance has to be right otherwise the dogs upend :/ I’ll have another go if I get time.

  4. #8 by poshbirdy on November 15, 2017 - 14:33

    Oh the dogs and the whale are wonderful. Love the idea of joining them with leashes etc x

    • #9 by tialys on November 15, 2017 - 14:47

      I am still experimenting but, rest assured, I will post the results on here – good or bad!

  5. #10 by claire93 on November 15, 2017 - 15:17

    if you want to wear swans, Lynn, then you wear swans ^^ I can’t honestly see why that fabric should be in their kids’ collection.

    • #11 by tialys on November 16, 2017 - 09:49

      Neither can I – especially as I’ve just bought a (ladies) dress covered in little stags, perfect for the festive season as they look a little like reindeer.

  6. #12 by Catherine on November 15, 2017 - 15:43

    I love those dachshunds! So clever. I hope your Mum is ok

  7. #14 by nikkibnb on November 15, 2017 - 17:45

    Those dogs are so wonderful. What a great use of scraps!

    • #15 by tialys on November 16, 2017 - 09:52

      Thanks Nikki, I don’t usually like making ‘toys’ – I can’t stand all the stuffing – but as these aren’t three dimensional it was easy.

  8. #16 by brennacrocheter on November 15, 2017 - 19:43

    Love the flower whale!

  9. #18 by sew2pro on November 15, 2017 - 22:57

    Hope all goes well in the UK. Love the doggy smiles!

    • #19 by tialys on November 16, 2017 - 09:55

      Thanks Marijana – don’t look to closely at those smiles though as my ’embroidered features’ skill set is extremely limited.

  10. #20 by anne54 on November 15, 2017 - 23:04

    Those dachshunds are so cute. My favourite is the spotty one at the front. What a sweet gift from Claire; thoughtful people are to be treasured. I too hope that all is well with your Mum. Treasure the time you have with her. xxx

    • #21 by tialys on November 16, 2017 - 09:56

      I will Anne, unfortunately my sister says Mum is asleep for the vast majority of the time at the moment which is possibly a blessing for her.

  11. #22 by anne54 on November 15, 2017 - 23:05

    Oh, and I hope you sell out of everything on your stall!

    • #23 by tialys on November 16, 2017 - 09:58

      If I make it back in time I will try my hardest – however my husband has volunteered to go and, literally, ‘man the stand’ if I can’t. That would be something I wish that I could witness 😉

  12. #24 by magpiesue on November 16, 2017 - 01:32

    I wish you and your Mum the best. Such a difficult time of life. i love those dachshunds – who wouldn’t?! I’d have a hard time sticking pins into such a cute whale too. Those ribbons are a hoot!

    • #25 by tialys on November 16, 2017 - 10:04

      Thanks Sue – it’s difficult logistically but we know she doesn’t want to go into the hospice so we’ll keep doing it for as long as she needs us. I must say that the National Health Service in the U.K. has come up trumps in enabling us to do so with a daily visit from a nurse to administer her meds, a daily carer in case she feels like a wash and a 24 hour helpline to the hospice in case we need help or advice. Also, various equipment for the home such as an adjustable bed, to make her life (and ours) a little easier.

  13. #26 by nettyg on November 16, 2017 - 02:28

    Great scrappy makes, they look like more of Jodie’s creations. You’ll be swanning around beautifully in your new frock. Hope all goes well with your mum.

    • #27 by tialys on November 16, 2017 - 10:06

      They are more of Jodie’s – as is the whale – she’s too talented, that woman 😉 I see you have a liking for puns – I need to make something up in that fabric quickly just so I can use that line 😉

  14. #28 by Nancy on November 16, 2017 - 05:34

    Your dachshunds remind me of a similar one I had when I was a teen. The difference is that mine was an autograph hound, was light colored, and came with a pen for friends to sign their names on the dog. I think your bright red ones are more fun. Your whale is too cute (but I don’t think I could put pins in him/her). And I think you did a great job with his/her photograph!

    • #29 by tialys on November 16, 2017 - 10:07

      Thanks Nancy – an autograph dog sounds like a fun idea – a bit like people signing the plaster cast after you’ve broken an arm or leg but without the pain.

  15. #30 by Shirley on November 16, 2017 - 09:41

    Very sweet little dogs, beautifully made. Hope all goes well with your trip to your mum. Love the swan fabric? Do you buy locally when you want Jersey fabric?

    • #31 by tialys on November 16, 2017 - 10:11

      To be honest, I usually go online for jersey fabric as the immediate local choice isn’t that great and usually expensive – the patchwork fabric, for example, is anything from 18-22 euros a metre – I usually wait for them to have their 50% off sale twice a year. This particular jersey is actually from Germany and was on sale – let me know if you want the link, they have it in a soft blue as well.

  16. #32 by Lynda on November 17, 2017 - 06:12

    These are adorable! I am decidedly untalented when it comes to assembling stuffed animals. I’ve tried, but they never look quite normal. As for the swan fabric, well I’m with you! I would wear something made of that fabric.

    PS: I was reading back to see what I have missed and just learned about your dog. I’m so glad he’s healed and doing well! ❤

    • #33 by tialys on November 17, 2017 - 09:20

      I’m the same with stuffed animals usually – I can never get their faces just right – but the whale just has a big wide face and the dogs aren’t 3D so it was much easier. What I can never get over is the amount of stuffing that gets swallowed up by even the smallest project.
      Taz seems to have recovered well from his op and now we just have to keep on top of his arthriticky (?) joints – thank you for asking.

  17. #34 by Born To Organize on November 22, 2017 - 09:50

    I hope your mum is doing okay and that your visit isn’t too stressful. I adore your happy scrappy dogs and that charming whale. What a delight.

  18. #35 by Dartmoor Yarns on November 22, 2017 - 17:50

    You are such a talented lady. Loving the whale and dachshunds best 🙂 Keep thinking about you and your mum. Hope things are going as well as they can xxx

  19. #36 by sewchet on November 22, 2017 - 20:22

    I wear a dress I made with a woodland theme and would love to swan around in one made of your fabric, too (sorry!). Pincushions are always a great gift and I’ve made one for Stitching Santa as well. Love the Dachshunds. Sending hugs for you and Mum. Xx

Leave a Reply

