Eleventh Hour Scraphappy Day- July 2023

Having told Kate (one of the organisers of Scraphappy) that I wouldn’t be participating this month because I don’t seem to be making anything lately that produces the sort of scraps I like to use to make new things with, if you get my drift,  I got a hold of myself, remembered that I used to be a more organised person (well, ish) and have a parts department with cotton fabric cut into squares and triangles and sometimes even circles.  (A possible entry there for the longest sentence of the month).

Anyway, I am waiting for the arrival of buttons so that I can get on with my Merchant & Mills Quinn Trousers I told you about in my last post.  Why is it, I wonder, that I have jars, tins, boxes and cards of buttons yet never have a) the right colour b) the right style or c) the right size or if I have any of those three, never in the right quantity.  It makes me want to get rid of all those buttons – think of the space I’d have – to the excess button recycling centre which every town and village must certainly have and just buy the ones I want when I want them.

Eventual positions of elusive buttons.  Always nice to slip some Liberty lining into a project even though nobody will know it’s there but you.

So, two years ago, in the midst of the pandemic, I did a Scraphappy post where I’d made some reusable cleansing pads made out of a ‘pre-loved’ flannel baby sheet and some of the squares from my parts department.  They have been in use every day since so I thought it might be time to make some more.

This time I used a ‘pre-loved’ hand towel for the backing because I thought towelling would work better when I use my facial soap, whereas the flannel fabric seems to work better with cleansing milk or micellar water.

So easy to make and so quick.  Just cut pairs of squares in whatever size you fancy, one out of flannel or terry towelling, and one of fabric.  With right sides facing, sew around the edge leaving an inch or so open for turning.  Trim the corners then turn right side out.  Stitch around the square close to the edge so that you catch the opening and, there you go.

Some might say ‘why don’t you just use a face cloth and be done’ but that wouldn’t be any fun would it?  (Plus. you wouldn’t have an entry for Scraphappy Day.)

Also I make nice little lined waterproof pouches to put them in so you can keep the clean pads in the outer pocket and zip the used ones up inside, then pop the whole lot in the washing machine.

My daughter took the one I made her on her New Zealand trip and it was universally admired and coveted.

Well, that’s sort of what she said.

 

Scraphappy Day is organised by Kate & Gun for anybody who wants to make new things from scraps of any kind – doesn’t have to be fabric or yarn.  Here’s a list of participants – both regular and occasional – if you want to have a look at the sort of things you can do with scraps.

Contact Kate or Gun (first names on the list) if you want to join in.

KateGun, EvaSue, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Susan, Cathy,  Tracy,
JanMoira, SandraChrisAlys,
ClaireJeanJon, DawnGwen,
Sunny, Kjerstin, Sue LVera, Edith
Ann, Dawn 2, Carol, Preeti,
DebbieroseNóilinVivKarrin,
Amo, AlissaLynn (me), Tierney and Hannah

 

 

, , ,

  1. #1 by Wild Daffodil on July 15, 2023 - 15:20

    Great idea, especially with the pouch

    • #2 by tialys on July 17, 2023 - 10:58

      The pouches are very useful for when travelling and also for gifts.

  2. #3 by Susan Nixon on July 15, 2023 - 18:37

    What a fabulous idea, especially the little pouch. So well thought out, and I never would have come up with it.

    • #4 by tialys on July 17, 2023 - 11:00

      It is a good idea although I have to confess it wasn’t mine – I found the tutorial on the website of the shop that was selling the waterproof fabric used for the lining.

  3. #5 by katechiconi on July 15, 2023 - 21:34

    Besides, face cloths aren’t nearly as pretty and are far too large for this sort of thing. I find my worn out winter pyjamas also make a good source of extra soft flannel. Hmmm. I wonder if making something like this but with flannel on one side and microfibre on the other would make good window cleaning cloths…. The pouch is adorable, too.

    • #6 by tialys on July 17, 2023 - 11:02

      I should think that would work – it’s worth a try as they only take minutes to make.
      It’s true that face cloths are too big and stay too wet for too long to take travelling etc. so this size is ideal.

      • #7 by katechiconi on July 17, 2023 - 13:16

        I have some nice PUL to line the waterproof section with, too. Hmmm… like I *needed* another project!

  4. #8 by Quimper Hitty on July 15, 2023 - 22:25

    I’m with you about the buttons – and I have so many nice buttons! I might have to start from the other direction – making a garment to fit the buttons – eh? I like the washie pads – very nice! And yes – a secret pocket full of pretty fabric is perfect…I do that with hems some times.

    • #9 by tialys on July 17, 2023 - 11:03

      Good idea with the reverse button use.
      Those little touches with pretty contrast fabric really make for a more bespoke garment don’t they.

  5. #10 by Born To Organize on July 16, 2023 - 07:45

    I’m glad you rallied, and just in time too. Nicely done.

    • #11 by tialys on July 17, 2023 - 11:04

      I’ll be making some more from my cut up hand towel as I’m doing a bit of staying over at hotels and friends houses this summer and they are very useful.

      • #12 by Born To Organize on July 17, 2023 - 22:32

        I’m glad to hear you’re traveling again. I hope you enjoy all your visits.

  6. #13 by claire93 on July 16, 2023 - 08:19

    well at least you made something (and very pretty too)! I’m MIA this month.

    • #14 by tialys on July 17, 2023 - 11:05

      MIA but HIS (here in spirit) 😉

  7. #15 by Lindashee on July 16, 2023 - 10:48

    Very pretty use of scraps!

    • #16 by tialys on July 17, 2023 - 11:06

      Sometimes I only manage ‘pretty but pretty and useful is definitely best 😉

  8. #17 by craftycreeky on July 16, 2023 - 12:17

    Great idea and very pretty too. I know what you mean about buttons, though I have used more since I got them better organised so I can see what I’ve got and how many more easily.

    • #18 by tialys on July 17, 2023 - 11:08

      I have got as far as putting different colours together in jars but they are taking up a whole drawer that I could use for something else so I’m considering a clear out of everything but the most unusual/gorgeous/numerous.

  9. #19 by CurlsnSkirls on July 17, 2023 - 01:26

    Thank you so much for this post, Lynn! I’ve been meaning to hunt around for specifics on this exact project, and you’ve just posted precisely what I need. THANK YOU! 💕

  10. #22 by rutigt on July 17, 2023 - 10:32

    Hahaha, you are so right about the buttons! Why collecting them when you can´t ever use them? I have loads of them. 🙂

    • #23 by tialys on July 17, 2023 - 11:13

      Like so many other supplies, I have BBL (buttons beyond life expectancy). I suspect a lot of us are the same.

  11. #24 by Laurie Graves on July 17, 2023 - 13:04

    Much more fun, and creative, to make those pretty cleansing pads. And what a sweet little pouch.

  12. #25 by Amo on July 17, 2023 - 15:35

    There must be an alternative dimension which bunches all the odd buttons together so there are never enough. Probably the same place where the lone socks are to be found.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.