Pondlife – Scraphappy Day October 2023

I made a felt frog using one of Cool Crafting‘s designs.

It was supposed to be a lady frog but I couldn’t get the green glass eyes and the amber ones made him look more masculine in my opinion so I decided against the suggested flower coronet and left him naked as most frogs tend to be.  I know this because we had thousands of tadpoles in our pond and the froglets I’ve seen so far are as naked as the day they were spawned.  However, I have it on good authority that, sometimes, a frog prince is born and he, of course, would wear a crown.

In case you’re wondering what this has to do with Scraphappy Day, I made the crown out of some lining left over from a dressmaking project.  It has quite a lot of body in it so I just cut the crown shape out in two layers, sewed them right sides together and turned it out.  Then I made the ‘jewels’ by practising my newly discovered (and still far from expert) French knots.

Even though I’d decided to leave him ‘in the nip’ I felt something was missing from the scenario so I made him a lily pad to sit on.

I had a green cashmere jumper that had gone bobbly beyond saving so I had previously put it in the washing machine a few times and saved the resulting felted fabric.  Perfect to cut out a lily pad shape.

I backed it with some green ombré fabric from my scrap box and added a ‘something special’ label.

Finally, my friend owns a craft shop and was getting rid of some excess bits and pieces and gave me a couple of fabric flower shapes, one of  which made the perfect addition to the lily pad.

So the frog, aided by a little bit of Scraphappiness, is now ready for a kiss to turn him into a real boy.

Or was that Pinocchio?

 

 

Scraphappy Day is organised by Kate & Gun for anybody who wants to make new things from scraps of any kind – doesn’t have to be fabric or yarn.  Here’s a list of participants – both regular and occasional – if you want to have a look at the sort of things you can do with scraps.

Contact Kate or Gun (first names on the list) if you want to join in.

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Wild Daffodil on October 15, 2023 - 08:18

    Clever!
    He looks like he is definitely keen for that kiss.
    Speech bubble: Come on then – kiss me!

    • #2 by tialys on October 16, 2023 - 09:47

      He is a frisky frog.

  2. #3 by claire93 on October 15, 2023 - 13:07

    What a lovely lily pad and crown. My only hope os that when someone does kiss him, he doesn’t have to dive under his lily pad and wait for you to make something to protect his dignity lol

    • #4 by tialys on October 16, 2023 - 09:48

      I wonder what Frog knickers would look like.

  3. #5 by Laurie Graves on October 15, 2023 - 13:24

    So darned cute! A kiss will come very soon, I am sure.

    • #6 by tialys on October 16, 2023 - 09:48

      If not, I will oblige

  4. #7 by Quimper Hitty on October 15, 2023 - 16:32

    He’s a super cute little froggy-prince! Maybe a lady frog with a crown of flowers will come along and kiss him!

    • #8 by tialys on October 16, 2023 - 09:49

      I might seek out some green eyes and make him a lady friend.

  5. #9 by lifebyacompassnotaclock on October 15, 2023 - 20:28

    Ooo I love the Prince to be and the Lilypad is a lovely touch 🤍

    • #10 by tialys on October 16, 2023 - 09:50

      Thank you – he was fun to make.

  6. #11 by DawnGillDesigns on October 15, 2023 - 22:49

    I am very envious of all your successful spawning, and this is a splendid Jeremy.

    • #12 by tialys on October 16, 2023 - 09:52

      The problem is, the froglets (and toadlets) are a cause of stress because Mr. Tialys especially is terrified of stepping on one. Just as well they spawn hundreds of babies at a time.

  7. #14 by kathyreeves on October 16, 2023 - 00:32

    That is adorable Lynn!

  8. #16 by onesmallstitch on October 16, 2023 - 01:08

    oh, the frog prince looks very kissable, hope that the lovely lady brings her own lily pad.

    • #17 by tialys on October 16, 2023 - 09:54

      I have some of the bobbly jumper felt left so if I get around to making him a lady friend she will have her own abode for a bit of independence.

  9. #18 by Loraine on October 16, 2023 - 08:47

    Haha! Yes, think that was Pinocchio! Your frog is great! What a lovely job you made of him, and the accessories are just right. Will you make more?

    • #19 by tialys on October 16, 2023 - 09:55

      Thanks Loraine – I might make more but I’m making a big fox at the moment. As you do.

  10. #20 by rutigt on October 16, 2023 - 09:56

    Oh, the frog prince, so cute!

  11. #22 by nanacathy2 on October 16, 2023 - 12:39

    He is just lovely especially with all the extras, a tad grumpy maybe..think he needs a flower pot to live in!

  12. #23 by katechiconi on October 16, 2023 - 21:36

    He’s magnificent, and *of course* a cashmere lily pad for a prince-in-waiting!

    • #24 by tialys on October 17, 2023 - 12:28

      It did make a nice felt – too stretchy to make a 3D project from but great for a lily pad. I have a very bobbly orange cashmere jumper lurking at the bottom of my laundry so I might as well stick that on a hot wash too.

      • #25 by katechiconi on October 17, 2023 - 23:14

        Oooh, what’ll you use the orange for?

    • #26 by tialys on October 18, 2023 - 09:33

      Not sure. It’ll go into my stash for the moment and, as happened with the green, I’ll probably be inspired to do something with it sometime down the line. Better to have it ready for use in my stash rather than mouldering in the bottom of the laundry basket.

  13. #27 by paperpenandmug on October 17, 2023 - 12:01

    He is definitely a princely frog.

    • #28 by tialys on October 17, 2023 - 12:25

      Thank you – I’ve passed it on and he sends a regal wave.

  14. #29 by magpiesue on October 17, 2023 - 16:42

    He’s adorable! I bet he gets lots of kisses. 😁

    • #30 by tialys on October 18, 2023 - 09:30

      He does but hasn’t turned into Brad Pitt yet 🙄

  15. #31 by Lindashee on October 18, 2023 - 20:12

    He is really cute !!! I love the fact he has accessories it makes him even better.

    • #32 by tialys on October 19, 2023 - 17:15

      Thank you. It’s a compromise as I liked him naked but thought he needed something other than clothes. If you know what I mean 😂

  16. #33 by Evie Jones on October 22, 2023 - 20:58

    So much more handsome than some of the frogs I kissed in my day! 🫣🤭

  17. #35 by cedar51 on October 25, 2023 - 20:52

    Awesome result…Will there be added Princess 🐸

  18. #36 by tialys on October 26, 2023 - 11:02

    Hmm. Not sure. There’s a large fox half done and an otter waiting in the wings and I must do some mosaics before I lose the initial impetus. You know how it is.

  19. #37 by Timelesslady on November 1, 2023 - 13:33

    Super cute frog. Definitely a prince.

  20. #39 by Born To Organize on November 13, 2023 - 17:38

    Ohmygoodness, the cuteness of this frog! You’ve created a treasure, Lynn, from crown to lily pad. Prince Frog looks a bit perturbed sitting on his pad, but I’m sure he’s relieved that you’ve left him in his birthday suit. Using your felted wool is inspired!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.