Scraphappy Day January 2024

For the first Scraphappy Day of 2024 it’s over to Mr. Tialys for using scraps to make something new and useful.

For his sister and her partner’s Christmas gift he had made jars of chutney, pickled onions, raspberry jam and also some cordial he made from rosehips, as you do.  Instead of a basket or box like the usual hamper he decided to also make a special container.

It so happens that they have just finished having a mammoth, oak framed extension put on to their house as well as having a lot of groundwork done.  There were many pallets and crates destined for the tip but Mr. Tialys can’t resist a pallet or six and they found their way to our house awaiting inspiration.

My sister-in-law is a keen gardener so he thought it would be a good idea to use the wood to make a trug for carting things around in the garden. So he did.

He dismantled one of the crates and rubbed the resulting planks down roughly. Then he used his mitre saw to create some joints, used a nail gun to put it together and sanded the corners to round them a little.  Then a coat of danish oil and the body of the trug was done.

A piece of an old hosepipe was used to construct a handle which he then covered with braided scraps of leather and used hand peened rivets to attach it to the sides. (No, I don’t really know what hand peened means either – I’m just repeating what I’m told).

 

A special mention here for Cathy for telling me how to get my photos straight on to the post without going through my media library – which is full.   Turns out I might finally have to move over to the block editor after all 😭

 

Scraphappy Day is organised by Kate & Gun for anybody who wants to make new things from scraps of any kind – doesn’t have to be fabric or yarn.  Here’s a list of participants – both regular and occasional – if you want to have a look at the sort of things you can do with scraps.

Contact Kate or Gun (first names on the list) if you want to join in.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sew2pro on January 15, 2024 - 09:36

    What a beautiful creation – another win from the house of the Unique. (*goes off to look up hand peened)

    • #2 by tialys on January 15, 2024 - 18:52

      I googled it too but it made even less sense than when my husband explained it. I will pledge to never peen, by hand or otherwise, in my own crafts

  2. #3 by claire93 on January 15, 2024 - 10:26

    Oooh I bet that gift was well- received!

    • #4 by tialys on January 15, 2024 - 18:54

      Yes, bless her, she loves a handmade gift. From me she has a quilt, a badger, a 2D felted portrait of her border collie and probably other things I’ve forgotten about. She is the perfect recipient.

  3. #5 by onesmallstitch on January 15, 2024 - 18:55

    …and you could go around humming “Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer”

  4. #7 by katechiconi on January 15, 2024 - 19:21

    That’s a very good gift, and for a miracle, I know exactly what a hand-peened rivet is! It’s a skill, so congratulations to him! Also a very impressive skill is the woven leather handle, which is extremely decorative. You remind me that I must go back to some of my early posts and get rid of them and the attached images. In the early days, I was using the photos at full size instead of saving them as small files before I uploaded them. That should clear me some space!

    • #8 by tialys on January 16, 2024 - 09:58

      I am not at all surprised you know what a hand-peened rivet is – if I’d had to guess who would know it would have been you 😊
      I had to go into block editor to put photos in directly from my phone (well, via my laptop) but I went back into classic editor to do the writing. A bit of a faff so I might spend some time editing my media library but it will be bottom of my to do list for a while.

  5. #9 by Laurie Graves on January 15, 2024 - 19:37

    Wish there were a “Love” button for this post. Kudos to Mr. Tialys for coming up with such a lovely, useful, recycled present. And yummy! Wonderful.

    • #10 by tialys on January 16, 2024 - 09:54

      I have taken your love and passed it on Laurie. 😘

  6. #11 by Lindashee on January 15, 2024 - 20:41

    That’s very crafty!!! Your partner sounds like a good mixture of cook and handyman. So many talents.Does he have a cute apron for when he makes chutney ?

    • #12 by tialys on January 16, 2024 - 09:53

      He does not! 🤣🤣

  7. #13 by DawnGillDesigns on January 15, 2024 - 22:48

    Those are brilliant. A fabway to use pallets, geniuswork with the hose – and i bet there are lots of possibilities for covering the hose if you run out of standard leather offcuts.

    • #14 by tialys on January 16, 2024 - 09:52

      Thanks Dawn. It’ll be a long time before he runs out of leather as his stash is almost as bad as my fabric one (well, not quite).

  8. #15 by Quimper Hitty on January 16, 2024 - 00:30

    I love the scrappy trug! I don’t know what a hand-peened rivet is, but I do have a ball-peen hammer…which must be something to do with it!

    • #16 by tialys on January 16, 2024 - 09:50

      I’m pretty sure it does. There can only be so many ‘peens’ in the world. 😁

  9. #18 by rutigt on January 16, 2024 - 08:47

    That´s a beautiful basket! What a gift!

    • #19 by tialys on January 16, 2024 - 09:49

      Well, it’s a bit heavy and clunky compared to the famous, traditional Sussex trugs but, considering its origins, I think he did a good job. His sister was delighted with it.

  10. #20 by Amo on January 16, 2024 - 19:05

    Fabulous gift.

    • #21 by tialys on January 17, 2024 - 10:10

      Sister-in-law was very happy with it and Mr. Tialys was happy basking in her praise. 😊

  11. #22 by Wild Daffodil on January 17, 2024 - 09:17

    Brilliant in so many ways.

  12. #23 by tialys on January 17, 2024 - 10:11

    It’s quite impressive but I hope he doesn’t make me one – it weighs a ton 🤣

  13. #24 by CurlsnSkirls on January 18, 2024 - 20:15

    Hats off to Mr. T for both his cooking and his upcycling skills!

  14. #25 by nanacathy2 on January 19, 2024 - 12:40

    Oh my it’s just wonderful. I’d buy it if I could. I should of course print this post and frame the mention. Who knew the day would come when I could give IT advice. Glad and very proud to have been of service.

    • #26 by tialys on January 19, 2024 - 13:32

      🤣🤣 Especially when you consider I am married to an IT Project Manager. He knows nothing at all, though, about WordPress so thank you for nudging me in the right direction.

  15. #27 by mlmcspadden on January 19, 2024 - 14:20

    What a great gift!

  16. #28 by cedar51 on January 21, 2024 - 03:20

    what a wonderful upcycling of wood left over

  17. #29 by Born To Organize on January 22, 2024 - 03:13

    I’m back to leave a comment that apparently simply lived in my head. I was even telling Mike about this fabulous make yesterday, and the clever us of a hose and leather for the handle. This is a thing of beauty and practicality. You two are quite the creative pair.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.