An English Summer Party Dress

We were invited to a wedding reception and I decided to make myself a dress to wear which would be suitable for a July evening by the quayside on the South coast,

After my recent spate of more challenging makes I decided on this pattern from Closet Core (formerly Closet Case) as I’ve used their patterns before and find them really good.

I know wrap dresses can sometimes be a pain, gaping at the bust and revealing too much leg but the reviews stressed that this pattern gives you a good overlap so I decided to go for the midi version (which is almost maxi on me- I’m 5’3″) .

I didn’t want to go floral as I have quite a few flowery dresses nor did I fancy geometric so I went for this ‘safari’ fabric which is a bit different and, from a distance, just gives an overall patterned effect on a subtle, vaguely pink background.  It’s a linen/rayon blend so has a very good drape which I think you would need for this pattern.

Here you can see the fabric close up and also the ‘bust release’ gathers which really help with the comfortable wrapover.

This was a very enjoyable, fairly stress free make apart from the cutting out part.  For the midi version with longer kimono type sleeves I think it took somewhere between 3.5 and 4m and the pattern had to be cut on a single layer of fabric which was unusual and a bit of a challenge finding the space to spread it all out.  After that though all was plain sailing.

I added some satin bias binding on the facing inside the bodice.

Here is a headless shot so you can see the actual dress features…

…..and here  a demonstration of the generous overlap of the wrap so you don’t have to worry about revealing anything untoward if the wind gets up

Just as well as the wind did indeed ‘get up’ accompanied by rain bucketing down and, as the venue was literally just across from the marina, it bucketed horizontally too.  I told you it was an English Summer dress.  Luckily we had booked a hotel just a few minutes walk away from the venue which was, thankfully, indoors and not in a marquee which will always be a gamble in England I have to say.

Still, I really like this dress and would like to make it again – my only regret is that I didn’t put pockets in the side seams.  I thought about it and, surely this is a dress that cries out for side pockets (I don’t like the patch ones on the pattern illustration) but thought there might be some reason in the construction for why they hadn’t been added but, now I’ve made it, I don’t think there is so, if I do make it again, there will definitely be pockets.

This Saturday is my daughter’s 30th birthday and she’s having a 1920s themed party.  I toyed with the idea of making a dress but thought about beaded and sequinned fabric and the trauma and dramas which sewing with it would inevitably involve and bought a ‘pre-loved’ one instead.

There are limits.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Laurie Graves on August 8, 2023 - 12:57

    So pretty and fun. The pockets would make a very good addition. But then I am always astounded and resentful when there are no pockets.

    • #2 by tialys on August 8, 2023 - 13:35

      I know – even though it’s not ideal to keep plunging your hands into pockets and ruining the shape of the dress – we feel cheated when we can’t do it if we want to.

      • #3 by Laurie Graves on August 8, 2023 - 14:58

        Actually, I seldom tuck my hands in my pockets. Usually it’s other things—primarily my phone. 😉

  2. #4 by sew2pro on August 8, 2023 - 13:04

    Lovely to “see” you again – you look wonderful. It feels like so long since I read a proper pattern review – this used to be a daily pleasure some 10 years ago.
    Happy 30th to your daughter! Hope y’all have fun 🙂
    Marijana

    • #5 by tialys on August 8, 2023 - 13:43

      Thank you Marijana, lovely to hear from you. I’m not sure I’ve done a ‘proper’ pattern review as I am mindful that not all of my readers are dressmakers and would be bored to tears if I went into too much detail. (Also, if truth be known, I sometimes leave it too long to blog about something and forget the intricacies of the process).
      I’m looking forward to putting on my elegant, sequinned frock and Mary Jane style shoes for Saturday night – I’m going with my Sister-in-law as both our other halves have been relegated to dog sitting duty so we will have a ‘girly’ weekend away in Bristol.
      I hope all is well with you and yours. x

  3. #6 by itwasjudith on August 8, 2023 - 13:17

    It is a lovely dress indeed, very British as well. Would it qualify as a frock?

    • #7 by tialys on August 8, 2023 - 13:44

      Definitely!
      and thank you.

  4. #8 by claire93 on August 8, 2023 - 13:41

    looks lovely on you Lynn! I made a flamingo shirt for my sister’s wedding, so totally approve of the print you chose ^^

    • #9 by tialys on August 8, 2023 - 13:49

      Thank you Claire – yes, this is definitely a ‘you’ fabric isn’t it. I was a bit worried how big the animals were going to be as I ordered it online so was quite relieved when they turned out to be very small so that I didn’t look too much like an advert for National Geographic 😉

  5. #10 by Gill on August 8, 2023 - 14:18

    This dress looks so comfortable and fresh. Just what you needed. Really suits you.

    • #11 by tialys on August 8, 2023 - 17:12

      Thanks Gill – it really is comfortable actually which I find is rare in wrap dresses.

  6. #12 by Wild Daffodil on August 8, 2023 - 14:22

    LOVE the fabric, and you look fab in the dress.
    Yes to pockets!
    Why is that men’s pyjama trousers have pockets and women’s don’t!?! Grrr!

    • #13 by tialys on August 8, 2023 - 17:14

      Thank you Sandra. I don’t know the answer to your question but, frankly, I don’t care to think too deeply about it if you get my drift.

      • #14 by Wild Daffodil on August 8, 2023 - 18:00

        HaHaHaHa!!!!
        That made me guffawww!

  7. #15 by katechiconi on August 8, 2023 - 14:58

    That looks both comfortable and elegant, which can be a rare combination. Great choice of fabric, by the way, interesting without being predictable. And next time, definitely pockets. Why does anyone ever design garments without them? I simply don’t understand. After all, male jackets and trousers always come with them…

    • #16 by tialys on August 8, 2023 - 17:17

      Aha! ‘Interesting without being predictable’ is exactly what I was going for even if I hadn’t formulated that requirement in my mind when ordering it. Thank you for articulating it for me.
      In answer to your question – maybe it’s because women generally carry a handbag or purse of some sort and most men don’t. Could that be it?

      • #17 by katechiconi on August 8, 2023 - 22:32

        Personally I think women carry handbags *because* they don’t have pockets!

  8. #18 by Evie Jones on August 8, 2023 - 15:51

    I love this fabric. So pretty. And I agree about the pockets.
    I made an Elodie for a summer wedding last year, and whilst the sun shone the wind was wild. I maintained my modesty throughout and can confirm that the wrap does indeed hold up to the British weather.

    • #19 by tialys on August 8, 2023 - 17:21

      I can imagine you looking good in this Evie. I am very impressed with the construction allowing modesty at all times (unless you put your arm up and somebody cares to look down the wide sleeve hole) which is something I haven’t encountered in a wrap dress before. Normally I’m gripping the front between my fingers (or using a safety pin) and holding down the front hem if windy weather.

  9. #20 by Lynda on August 8, 2023 - 16:43

    This looks so soft and comfortable. I have trouble with prints… I can never make a decision, and then end up with a solid. Your choice is beautiful and I love your bound seams too.

    • #21 by tialys on August 8, 2023 - 17:27

      It’s strange. If I go shopping for clothes I generally go for solids but, for some reason, when I’m making something I go for prints which isn’t the most practical thing to do but it’s hard to be tempted by meters/yards of a solid colour unless it’s very unusual and eyecatching. Having said that, I would usually only use solids to make trousers and outerwear – I wouldn’t have safari animals going up my legs for example – although I do have sharks but they are my fitness class leggings. 🤣🦈🦈🦈

    • #22 by Evie Jones on August 10, 2023 - 17:51

      Totally….this is why I stopped wearing wrap dresses. I am pondering a hack for the Elodie to turn that wide sleeve into a gathered one, which would make it perfect.

      • #23 by tialys on August 10, 2023 - 19:05

        Ooh, yes! Great idea.

  10. #24 by Lindashee on August 8, 2023 - 20:28

    It looks lovely!! I made a wrap around dress once but had to add a press button to secure the cleavage else it was indeed too revealing. I also followed their recommendation for skirt size and sleeves and its turned out bit short skirt and tight at the arm but I am loving the variation you picked with the dropped sleeve and nearly midi dress. This is going to make me want to go back to the sewing machine 😂 hope you had fun at the wedding at least. We do indeed have to be dressed for any weather in this country. All my days off work it’s been literally throwing it down

    • #25 by tialys on August 9, 2023 - 10:45

      You should definitely try this if you get back on that machine – there was no need for press button at all and I normally do need to resort to that (or a safety pin).

  11. #26 by craftycreeky on August 8, 2023 - 20:40

    It looks lovely, sounds like a good wrap dress pattern too…with added pockets especially 🙂

    • #27 by tialys on August 9, 2023 - 10:46

      Thanks Margaret – it is a good pattern and no stress (apart from a bit at the cutting out stage).

  12. #28 by kathyreeves on August 9, 2023 - 20:32

    That really is a flattering style for you Lyn, it really looks great!

    • #29 by tialys on August 10, 2023 - 11:04

      Thanks Kathy, it’s a very easy to wear style and I might make it again in the shorter length with the shorter, slightly narrower sleeves and with inseam pockets so that I can wear it to ‘non-party’ events.

  13. #30 by lovelucie1 on August 14, 2023 - 20:23

    A lovely Elodie! I love the sneaky safari print- a great talking point, I’m sure. I have one, I’ve never worn it to a wedding, only on holiday because it does feel like a fancy dress. But should I ever get a last minute invite, I’m ready 😀

    • #31 by tialys on August 15, 2023 - 16:28

      Yes, it’s quite a dramatic dress shape. I think I’d like to make it again in the shorter length with the narrower, shorter sleeves which might make it a bit more ‘everyday’.

  14. #32 by Quimper Hitty on August 15, 2023 - 15:50

    It’s cute! Looks really nice on you. I’d be a bit worried about pockets pulling the sides apart! I can never get a wrap around dress to stay in place when I sit, so have given up on them, I must have missed that class in deportment school!

    • #33 by tialys on August 15, 2023 - 16:26

      Thank you. I think that’s the reason I hesitated to put pockets in the side seams. If you ever decide to give a wrap dress a try, this one really does have generous overlaps both at the bust and at the front.

  15. #34 by cedar51 on August 24, 2023 - 06:00

    Love style and the patterning on the material

    • #35 by tialys on August 24, 2023 - 11:08

      Thank you, I’m going to make another more ‘everyday’ one as my next project I think.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.