A Literary (Sewing) Diversion

As you may remember from my last post where we were dressed in (vaguely) 1920s garb, we recently celebrated our daughter’s 30th birthday.

Thanks, I like to think, because of our endless buying of books, reading together when she was little and, later, our own reading habits and recommendations, she is an avid reader and, although she has a predilection for fantasy literature she is also a big Jane Austen fan.

So, when Cool Crafting came up with a special Jane Austen kit as part of their literary series, I pre-ordered it and, whilst waiting for it to be delivered, I made two mice for which I already had the pattern and hoped I’d get it all done in time for the big day.

The clothing designs Cool Crafting produce for their various animal patterns mean that you create rather good copies of full size garments and, even though I’m a fairly proficient dressmaker, I still found plenty to challenge me with the process and the fabrics provided.  Straw patterned pleather anyone?

The outfits were really designed for Cool Crafting’s famous Luna Lapin which is a rabbit so the bonnet has space for rabbit ears but my mice only have mouse sized ears so I should have closed the hole up really but didn’t want to chance messing with the pattern as there was only so much special pleather available.

Anyway, one of the biggest challenges for me (apart from the pleather bonnet) was doing the French knots used in place of buttons on the breeches and waistcoat for Mr. Mouse as I am no embroiderer and had to follow a video tutorial on YouTube in order to achieve anything vaguely like a French knot.

I feel the empire line dress also deserves a little photo of its own before being covered with the short jacket that completes the outfit.

(completed also by the era appropriate undies)

I’m not sure about the French knickers being era appropriate but I put them on her anyway – she is a modest mouse.

At the moment, our daughter is living in a house share but has plans to move into a much larger space soon so I put the pair on stands, in a pretty covered box and said I understood if she keeps them like that until she has the room to display them.

The Happy Couple

Back to human sized clothes soon – in fact I already have some trousers to show you, it’s just getting round to doing the post.

We’re going to a craft fair this weekend where I’m hoping to buy an example of my most recent obsession, craft-wise, from the lady who taught the workshop I went to last weekend.  News of which, hopefully, will be in a future post.  Have a good weekend whatever you’re doing.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Gill on September 8, 2023 - 16:55

    Absolutely adore the Jane Austin pair.
    “Almost human”.

    • #2 by tialys on September 8, 2023 - 17:50

      Thanks Gill. I’m not sure my mouse version would look as good as Colin Firth if his shirt gets wet.

  2. #3 by CurlsnSkirls on September 8, 2023 - 19:13

    Talk about a cliff-hanger! May your post-writing mojo return soon! (And if you see mine, give it a shove my way. Tks!)
    Am not especially “into” dollies but can admire the tenacity and skill of those who are. However, I haven’t been able to see the pic. Is it the pleather bonnet? (If it’s over on insta I’m currently pixxed with it & not opening it.)

  3. #4 by tialys on September 8, 2023 - 19:56

    Thanks for the heads up Del – I think I’ve fixed it now. I’ve been trying to delete some of my older photos as WordPress tells me I’m running out of space on my ‘freebie’ version. I think I might have got a bit over enthusiastic.

  4. #5 by katechiconi on September 8, 2023 - 21:52

    Mr Darcy Mouse and Miss Bennet Mouse, I presume? I think you’ve done a cracking job there, and she should love them. I know how hard it is to get everything flat and smooth when you’re making tiny seams in tiny garments, so bravo.

    • #6 by tialys on September 10, 2023 - 11:12

      I must admit to finding the tiny clothing items quite fascinating – although only if I can still do most of it by machine so I won’t be going much tinier.

  5. #7 by nanacathy2 on September 9, 2023 - 08:43

    Wow, I just love your mice. Such attention to detail. French knots are easy once you get the knack, thank goodness for Youtube. Can’t wait to see the new obsession.

    • #8 by tialys on September 10, 2023 - 11:08

      Thanks Cathy. The new obsession is rather a diversion for me but I need to gather a few more materials before I can move on with it.

  6. #9 by claire93 on September 9, 2023 - 10:41

    oh wow Lynn! Amazing sewing there and such a tribute to JA. I’m not a fan of French knots either, and when they’re needed in xstitch I often try and replace with seed beads. Don’t know if that could have been an option for you with these gorgeous outfits.

    • #10 by tialys on September 10, 2023 - 11:06

      Thanks Claire. I could have used seed beads I suppose but worry about using too many ‘non child safe’ ingredients in case they ever fall into the hands of a tiny tot somehow. At least I know how to do those pesky knots now.

  7. #11 by maggikimono on September 9, 2023 - 11:22

    Lovely, charming work, Lynn. If you ever wish to put a character into Japanese kimono, I have some vintage kimono fabric around somewhere. Maggie (still in France)

    • #12 by tialys on September 10, 2023 - 11:04

      Hi Maggie. Good idea – I am trying to think which of the characters I make would suit a kimono – maybe the cat. I do have some kimono fabric scraps left – it’s amazing what made the journey to England with us and what didn’t.

  8. #13 by kathyreeves on September 9, 2023 - 15:03

    I bet your daughter loved them! Our Girl will be the big 30 in 10 days, I had forgotten we have girls so close together! The mice are amazing, the perfect Austen pair!

    • #14 by tialys on September 10, 2023 - 11:02

      She did love them – so much I was actually surprised. Hopefully she will be moving into a larger, more permanent space later in the autumn and will be able to display them alongside her collection of Jane Austen novels.
      Are you doing anything special for Your Girl?

      • #15 by kathyreeves on September 10, 2023 - 15:01

        I have been so snowed with starting up piano lessons that I am behind! She is pretty minimalist, so it is difficult to shop for her sometimes!

  9. #16 by knettycraft on September 9, 2023 - 17:36

    So sweet! I love the trousers 😍

    • #17 by tialys on September 10, 2023 - 11:00

      They’re cute aren’t they? Plus I finally learnt how to do French knots.

  10. #18 by cedar51 on September 15, 2023 - 06:57

    so cute and made with a lot of love (and helpful utube for french knots)

    • #19 by tialys on September 16, 2023 - 09:32

      What did we ever do without it?

  11. #20 by Quimper Hitty on September 15, 2023 - 15:49

    Jane Austen mice – too funny!

    • #21 by tialys on September 16, 2023 - 09:33

      I resisted the next literary theme pattern they did which was ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ but I hear the next one might be a Charles Dickens one so I’m on the fence.

  12. #22 by Christie C. on October 3, 2023 - 02:40

    Those little mice are so precious! Beautiful work!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.