A Distraction (or Excuse Not To Do the Housework No. 352ish)

I know I haven’t been blogging very much lately but there has been ‘stuff’ going on and I am still adjusting to the absence of Madamoiselle Tialys the Elder at university.  Still, I was thinking about doing a post soon as I have some projects coming to fruition (well, almost) and some very interesting vintage things to share but, in the meantime, a distraction.

coaltit (2)

Well, yes, this is just a bit of my balcony but I was watching and waiting to catch somebody on camera

coaltit (7)who didn’t seem to want to show his face

coaltit (6)

but when he (finally) does, there seems to be something wrong but this is as close as I could get

coaltitcloseup

Does anybody know what it could be?  He’s eating from the bird feeders and the other birds don’t seem to be bothering him particularly.  I wonder whether it’s an injury or a birth deformity.  Of course, there won’t be anything I can do about it – apart from carrying on supplying fat balls and sunflower seeds – but I just wondered.  And was distracted.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Trishia Jacobs on December 3, 2012 - 21:24

    Lynn, I have read that there is an increase in bird beak deformities…..sad state of all the ‘junk’ chemicals in our air, food, seeds, water, etc. Even with his defect, he makes for a great photo. Thank you for MY distraction:) A nice way to take a break.

    • #2 by tialys on December 3, 2012 - 21:58

      It wouldn’t surprise me Trishia. It always seems so ‘pure’ here in the mountain air but I’m sure there are lots of nasties lurking. This little chap doesn’t actually seem bothered by it and he’s obviously survived this long. I wonder if he (or she) will attract a mate as they are quite fussy in the bird world I believe.

  2. #3 by jan on December 3, 2012 - 21:30

    Oh, whatever is wrong??? you do seem to have a knack of finding animals in distress.

    BTW, I always make a point of buttering up PO workers, where ever they are.

  3. #4 by tialys on December 3, 2012 - 22:01

    You’ve said it Jan! Dogs running amok in the streets, abandoned kittens, injured foxes, fallen edible dormice, birds with unidentified lumps and bumps – they all seem to have my address on their SatNavs.

  4. #5 by Rose H on February 25, 2013 - 04:16

    Hi, I’m here following up a link that our mutual Blog friend Fabrique Fantastique gave me.
    The little Tit is suffering from Avian Pox, I discovered a Great Tit suffering the same disease in my garden today. There is more information on this page from the RSPB http://www.rspb.org.uk/advice/helpingbirds/health/sickbirds/avianpox.aspx
    Sadly there is no treatment available for wild birds though they can recover…

    Like the look of things around here, so I’ll keep popping back :o)

    Best wishes
    Rose H

    • #6 by tialys on February 25, 2013 - 12:05

      Thanks so much Rose. I’ve had a look on the RSPB site and I see they have a photo of the exact same bird. I haven’t seen my little one for a while now so I imagine he might have fallen prey to something. It is snowing a lot here at the moment and we are feeding the birds on the balcony – safe from our 4 cats! – and it is amazing to see some birds coming for food that are normally very shy or rare like Hawfinches. Even the blackbirds, who don’t usually like coming up to feed are getting a bit desperate and are coming onto our windowsills for food. We’ve had to block the interior windowsills with stuff otherwise the cats get up on them and stare at the birds which scares them.

  5. #7 by Rose H on February 25, 2013 - 23:43

    Hello Lynn

    Pleased the info was helpful. I was quite distressed to see the one in our garden, but it’s been around today and is feeding very well – fingers crossed it’ll cope okay.
    I’ve never seen Hawfinches and have looked at Googled images, they’re really beautiful.
    I only have one elderly cat and I’m certain the birds realise she’s no threat as the local population still go about their business when she sits in the open watching them…however I’m not so sure the wood mouse population in the dry stone wall are as safe! (I saw the photo of the ginger cat on another post – he’s GORGEOUS.

    Have a great week.
    Rose H

Leave a Reply

