Lady Skater Dress No.1

I call it No. 1 because I just know I’m going to be making more of these.

This great grown up skater dress pattern from Kitschy Coo is perfect for those of you, like me, who have a fear of fabric with one or more of the following words in the title – ‘knit’, ‘stretch’, ‘jersey’, ‘lycra’.  This is a downloadable pattern which you tape together and there is a full, illustrated tutorial or, for the more cocky  advanced amongst you, a crib sheet with more ‘to the point’ instructions.  Also, loads of help on Kitschy Coo’s blog for sewing with knit fabric.

This actually started out as my muslin because I had bagged the fabric at a bargain price and thought it wouldn’t matter if I screwed up but, Mlle T. the younger has a thing for roses at the moment and it swiftly became a ‘wearable muslin’.  She’s still a reluctant model though and made me cut her head off , photographically speaking, so don’t think it’s just bad camera work on my part.

Lady Skater No.1

It’s a shame that the pattern doesn’t match up at the waistband although I have somehow managed to match it up at the sleeves which was, I have to admit, completely by happenstance (don’t you just love that word!).  I think it would look really cool with a wide belt round it  so you won’t even notice and, anyway, it was meant to be a muslin.

Skater Dress - Back VIewI’m quite happy with the back too – not too many untoward wrinkles going on.  I just need to hem it  – she’s too young for knee length – but I was so chuffed with it and posing opportunities with my younger model are so rare that I couldn’t wait and snapped it straight off the machine.  I am a convert to jersey fabric now – even more so than when I made the Renfrew – and I’m already planning my second and perhaps third version.  I’ve just got to get a baby quilt out of the way – must get on, it’s due in a couple of weeks – and then I’m free to play with stretchy, knitty, 5% lycra-y things again – see, those words don’t scare me anymore and I haven’t even got an overlocker.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on September 12, 2013 - 00:06

    You certainly have been busy…..love the spots and rose mix.

  2. #2 by Wendz on September 12, 2013 - 10:50

    How amazing that the sleeves matched up like that, without forethought. I like it when life does little things like that. As you said, happenstance – and truly yes, a superb word.🙂

    I do like the bit of your garden (courtyard?) shown – looks lovely. Serene.

    And the dress is a triumph – I forget…do you use an overlocker?

  3. #3 by Wendz on September 12, 2013 - 10:52

    Haha – as I typed that last question I thought it’s probably in your post and i missed it – but I published it anyway and then went back and reread the post and lo and behold it’s your very last line. Sorry – I am a bit of a dunderhead sometimes.

  4. #4 by tialys on September 12, 2013 - 12:57

    Yes, Wendz, it’s a little courtyard, on a lower level than the rest of the garden, sheltered by a hazelnut tree but the serenity is broken a little at the moment as the dogs are crunching all the nuts as they fall off.

    I was thinking of buying an overlocker but most sewing machines now have several stitches you can use on stretch fabrics although they don’t cut at the same time so, if I can do without I will otherwise there’s just one more piece of machinery to find space for. However, I never say ‘never’. Well, I do actually but don’t usually mean it.

  5. #5 by Kitschy Coo on September 12, 2013 - 13:07

    The dress came out beautifully! Nice (subconscious) job on the sleeve matching🙂

    • #6 by tialys on September 12, 2013 - 13:19

      Thank you Amanda. I really do love your pattern and am lining up some knits for a couple of autumn versions and, next time round, I’ll keep my eye on what’s going on at waistband level.

  6. #7 by lovelucie1 on September 12, 2013 - 13:33

    When I saw the words ‘skater dress’ in the title I thought eek! Aren’t skater dresses reserved for the under 17’s?
    But my fears were squashed when I saw your dress. It seems a perfect fit and it hangs beautifully. I can see many repeats of this lovely youthful but lady like pattern

  7. #8 by tialys on September 12, 2013 - 16:11

    Yes Lucie and indeed Kitschy Coo has the pattern for the young ones also. However, this is for the ‘ladies’ and, even though this one’s hem has got to go up by a couple of inches and, if I make one for my other daughter, by more than that(!), the one I make for myself will be age appropriate and around about the length of the one in the photo. It’s very adaptable too. Cap sleeves, 3/4 sleeves, long sleeves, lengthen the bodice and make a t-shirt, change the shape of the skirt to a straight one. Aaaaah, the possibilities………..just got to quilt the baby quilt and bind it and I’ll be off again.

  8. #9 by ooobop! on September 16, 2013 - 23:06

    Roses and spots… how divine. You have such great taste in fabric and look gorgeous in that dress. Amazing fit too!

  9. #10 by tialys on September 17, 2013 - 08:14

    Thanks Janene – I know it’s hard to tell as we are both camera shy but that’s actually Mlle T. the younger in the dress. As a general rule, when you can see a face, it’s my other daughter modelling as she has no such qualms. I’m just about to cut a second dress for myself and am wondering whether to cut the same size because, although this one is slightly ‘snug’ on my top half, the Liberty jersey I’m going to use is a 4 way stretch and will probably be more forgiving. If not, it will just end up in the same wardrobe as this one.

  10. #11 by Zoe on September 17, 2013 - 18:14

    This looks ACE! Such a fun print

  11. #12 by tialys on September 17, 2013 - 18:26

    Thanks Zoe, interesting jersey fabric is quite hard to find unless you are under ten but Ebay sometimes comes up with the goods.

Leave a Reply

