Too Hot?

The U.K. is having a heatwave and, this time, it seems to be lasting longer than two days.

It’s hot here in my part of France too and in lots of places around the world so I thought I’d give you some alternative tips on keeping cool.

Try not to get angry if ‘somebody’ gets hold of your handmade leather tool roll and decides to re-shape it to their own design.

She was just a bit bored as everybody is too hot to play ball with her.

Let older and wiser ones teach you about the best places to keep cool – even if it means blocking the kitchen doorway.

Don’t bother with the weeding – you wouldn’t want to disturb those wild sweet peas would you?

Try to keep away from anything woolly even, or especially,  if wearing shorts –  it sticks to hot, bare skin :/

Take a dip if you can.  I should follow my own advice but the water has to be almost bath temperature before I venture in.

Don’t stress about it if you’re having a bad ear hair day.

Don’t bother cooking – let somebody else get hot and sweaty in the kitchen and admire their handiwork.  (BTW this was the most divine buffalo mozzarella I’ve ever tasted).

Don’t panic when it appears your husband might actually have become more dog than human based on his choice of starter.

Stay inside in the shuttered gloom and help write a blog post.

Don’t bother to do any housework  – although I would put that in a list of tips for almost anything.

Stay chilled and, of course, you already know to drink plenty of water and all that other much more sensible advice out there.

 

p.s. I’ve just realised there is a free game to play on this blog post called ‘Spot the Hidden Question Mark’.  There are absolutely no prizes at all.

 

 

 

 

 

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Robin on June 22, 2017 - 12:48

    Excellent advice! 🙂

    • #2 by tialys on June 22, 2017 - 14:03

      Thank you. I’m sticking to the no housework tip especially – any excuse.

  2. #3 by katechiconi on June 22, 2017 - 12:59

    It’s interesting how heat is differently perceived in different places… 33°C isn’t a heatwave, it’s just a nice sunny day! But your ideas on staying chilled and avoiding heatstroke are valid everywhere 🙂 And if I had your swimming pool, I’d be in it every morning except in June-August, the depth of the cooler Dry season here. Poor M. Tialys…

    • #4 by tialys on June 22, 2017 - 13:14

      Well you know we Brits get all excited over 25 degrees C – ‘Phew! What a Scorcher’ and the U.K. is not really geared up for any heat (or snow). My daughter in London was perplexed (polite word for it) when her train home last night came to a halt because it was ‘too hot’ for it. It was around 36 degrees C here yesterday but I find the heat here more manageable than in the U.K. anyway because it’s not as humid and muggy. I’m just glad of my thick stone walled house and the shutters – no a/c of course. As for the pool, if you don’t want it in June-August, you would be very welcome to it November through to May – you’d be in there on your own 🙂 😉

      • #5 by katechiconi on June 22, 2017 - 17:39

        If the pool were here, I’d be in it full time November – March, our hottest time of the year!

      • #6 by tialys on June 22, 2017 - 18:14

        I’ve just been in actually. It was 24 degrees c only – I usually wait for 27 or 28 ‘cos I’m a wimp – but it was just right

    • #7 by claire93 on June 22, 2017 - 13:20

      the term heatwave (in France) is used when days are hot and night time temps only fall by a few degrees . . . so I, totally agree with Lynn ^^ We’ve having a heatwave. In our part of France it was 35°C yesterday and still 29°C at 2am this morning. Stifling hot indoors since (most) homes aren’t equipped with aircon.

      • #8 by tialys on June 22, 2017 - 13:26

        Yes, the nights are a bit sleepless. At least I’ve been able to have the fan on during the night because of the husband not being here but he’s back tonight and can’t sleep when there’s a fan on in the room so I’ll have to resort to other measures. Perhaps he could sleep downstairs with the dogs and share a marrowbone 😉

      • #9 by katechiconi on June 22, 2017 - 17:42

        Yes, of course, house construction too will make a difference. Ours are built (a) with aircon and (b) to allow maximum airflow. I sympathise with your hot nights, which must make it very hard to bear without suitable cooling. Lots of dampened sheets are called for, so the evaporation cools you down!

  3. #10 by CurlsnSkirls on June 22, 2017 - 13:47

    Lovely post and photos – thank you!
    Know what you’re dealing with, having been in San Francisco Bay area – very dry heat and most places & housing have no air con or thick stone walls.

    • #11 by tialys on June 22, 2017 - 14:06

      We shouldn’t really complain but moaning about the weather – hot or cold, rainy or sunny, – is a universally bonding exercise don’t you find? Anyway, I don’t really mind during the day but I do get upset if I can’t sleep 😦

      • #12 by CurlsnSkirls on June 22, 2017 - 20:24

        “…universally bonding exercise…” so true!

  4. #13 by dorothyadele on June 22, 2017 - 14:26

    I like the don’t do housework rule.

    • #14 by tialys on June 22, 2017 - 18:20

      I do too. ‘Too hot’ is my second favourite excuse after ‘I’m having renovations done’ although that one is rather expensive and only resorted to in desperation.

  5. #15 by M. L. Kappa on June 22, 2017 - 16:57

    Good tips – but don’t forget about ice cream! You can also freeze the wine into Frozé!

    • #16 by tialys on June 22, 2017 - 18:18

      Frozé! I’d never heard of it. Rosé is my favourite type of wine so I might give it a try but I won’t mention it to any French people – it’s probably some sort of sacrilege.

      • #17 by M. L. Kappa on June 23, 2017 - 11:30

        Yes, I’m sure! I think it’s a Brit thing😂

  6. #18 by Laura on June 22, 2017 - 22:09

    I’m not really a fan of hot/humid days. I would love to dip my toes in your pool 🙂

    • #19 by tialys on June 23, 2017 - 10:43

      I actually went in twice yesterday – it was worthy of a text to my husband to let him know of such a miraculous event.

  7. #20 by craftycreeky on June 22, 2017 - 22:43

    I’m not very good in heat, 30′ and I’m wilting :-/ I’ll stick to the no housework rule though, til it’s at least down to single figures 🙂

    • #21 by tialys on June 23, 2017 - 10:42

      I’m beginning to feel I’m not so alone as I thought in my aversion to housework.

  8. #22 by sew2pro on June 23, 2017 - 00:00

    Tiled floors!! Areas of tiling: should be a building requirement for all new homes in case of hot pets!
    Lovely post, I laughed even without seeing the pics when I read it first on my (ancient) phone.

    • #23 by tialys on June 23, 2017 - 10:25

      We only have tiles or wood on the floors in this house which is a good thing in times of extreme heat (occasional) and excess animals (constant). We do have rugs though otherwise the acoustics would be weird.

  9. #24 by magpiesue on June 23, 2017 - 00:10

    We’re being told to prepare for heat here too. If I were where you are I wouldn’t be able to stay out of that pool! You’ve made several good suggestions, with the possible exception of redesigning the tool roll. Sure hope the culprit doesn’t get into hot water over that (pun intended).

    • #25 by tialys on June 23, 2017 - 10:27

      I actually ended up going in twice yesterday in the end which is a record for me, especially as the water temperature hasn’t reached bath temperature quite yet 🙂

  10. #26 by Born To Organize on June 23, 2017 - 00:20

    I found the hidden question mark on the second pass. That was good fun. What exactly is it, do you know? I love all your cat and dog pics. Animals know exactly what to do. And I’m with you on setting aside knitting and crochet for the time along with anything that invites overexertion. I’m sitting in the dining area in the dark, blinds drawn, with a mobile AC inserted in the window. It’s bliss. It’s 100 F right now, but this is the last of this heatwave. We’ll drop by 10 then 15 degrees over the next few days.

    I love your wild sweet peas. What a stunning color.

    • #27 by tialys on June 23, 2017 - 10:34

      Well done Alys – you are the winner of absolutely no prize. The question mark – which I only noticed myself when flicking through the post just after I’d published it – is formed of white roses. Maybe it’s a sign like your little mossy cat was for you – although obviously mine is more of a mystery 😉

      • #28 by Born To Organize on June 27, 2017 - 23:54

        Oh I like a good mystery. I’m amazed that the question mark is made of roses. That’s got to be a sign. Please let us know when you find the answer, or the answer finds you. 🙂

  11. #29 by dezertsuz on June 23, 2017 - 00:49

    Your humor cracks me up. That IS hot for you! I hope it wasn’t terribly humid, too. That’s the combination that I don’t like. I’d rather have been in Phoenix in 117 with 7% humidity than here with 85 and 93%!

    • #30 by tialys on June 23, 2017 - 10:12

      Not really humid but the nights don’t cool down so it’s the lack of sleep that gets me – we don’t have new fangled stuff like aircon in rural France.

  12. #31 by nanacathy2 on June 23, 2017 - 09:13

    My advice for the heat. Do nothing, it’s amazing how much nothing can be fitted into a day with ease. The cats and dog know! Love this post and photos.

    • #32 by tialys on June 23, 2017 - 10:11

      Yes!! Plus there’s a very good excuse so you don’t even have to feel guilty 🙂

  13. #33 by KerryCan on June 23, 2017 - 12:26

    This must’ve been fun to write–so clever, and you got such good kitty help. Your pets have life figured out! The pool looks very inviting–glad to see that you took advantage of it since there’s probably no better way to really cool down. And the search for the question mark was a fun diversion–once you got me looking, I saw it!

    • #34 by tialys on June 24, 2017 - 08:41

      It’s a good job I took advantage as the next couple of days have been drizzly – hot but drizzly. I think it might be because I washed my car – that always makes it rain.

  14. #35 by Dartmoor Yarns on June 24, 2017 - 15:44

    Think you scared the hot weather away with your suggestions. Surely no one really likes housework? There’s so many better things to do is always my excuse. Funny how the best spot, however warm or cold it is, is always in a doorway. The other problem with cool floors is that they’re also the slippiest. Poor HRH has been doing his Bambi on ice impression every time he gets up 😦

    • #36 by tialys on June 24, 2017 - 20:23

      No, it wasn’t my suggestions it was because I washed my car. Works every time.
      My old boy is also very unstable on the tiled floors bless him, but he will still insist on laying on them.

      • #37 by Dartmoor Yarns on June 25, 2017 - 11:58

        Cars can washed? I didn’t know that.
        Bless him. It’s so hard wearing a fur coat in hot weather. Give him a hug from me now it’s cooled down.

  15. #38 by sewchet on June 27, 2017 - 13:32

    Oh no, the tool roll! Chewed beyond repair, or just a new, interesting shape? Our dogs spent all of the heatwave (which has now given way to dull, grey days) on our kitchen floor tiles, too. I must say, I was tempted to join them on several occasions.

    • #39 by tialys on June 27, 2017 - 17:33

      It was Flo what dun it – his favourite – she can do no wrong so he would probably call it an interesting, new shape. :/

  16. #40 by Kim on July 5, 2017 - 12:09

    I agree with everything you have written – particularly the no housework bit. That can wait for a rainy day. If I get really twitchy I can always do a bit of dead heading in my garden (slightly tidier this year post retirement). I can’t believe you have those sweet peas growing wild! I almost bought a pot this spring but planted the ones that smell instead.
    Enjoy the sunshine whilst it lasts – and I actually quite like the new shape of the tool roll….

    • #41 by tialys on July 5, 2017 - 20:55

      Well, so must Mr. Tialys as he hasn’t bothered to make a new one yet!

Leave a Reply

