I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face

Remember the super sized amigurumi dog I made from the ‘Edward’s Menagerie Dogs’ book?

Well, I’ve made her a baby.

Actually, this is the ‘standard sized’ dog – there is a smaller one which I might attempt one day although I suspect it might be a bit fiddly and, anyway, I quite like this size.

This time I didn’t take any chances with the placement and used things to mark where I wanted to put the eyes and nose.  I used a piece of felt to mark where the nose should go and then  sewed it on anyway because it looked just right to me.

I gave him some eyebrows because I love dog’s eyebrows – they make me laugh.

I also gave him a rakish grin and a pretend collar and bell so the rabbits will hear him coming.

I know I asked for advice about his Mum’s features because they are nowhere near perfect and  I was going to change them but, as Professor Higgins said, ‘I’ve grown accustomed to her face’.  She will henceforth be known as Eliza – if anybody should ask.

Anyway, I have two dogs under my belt now – things can only get better – I’m going for the English Bull Terrier next.

As you know, I recently finished the divine Eastern Jewels blanket.  I’ve worked out that I probably have enough yarn left in some of the colours to make another one with the purchase of just 5 or 6 more balls.  Hooray!

But not yet.

Firstly, I have another project up my sleeve.  I was tempted by my favourite wool shop who sent me the object of my  desire in their lovely tote bag.

The pattern is by Emma Varnam in Scheepjes River Washed and Stone Washed yarns and came as a kit.

A small photo of my instructions which came with the yarn but you can see the whole beautiful, ripply blanket on Emma’s blog here.

It’s very lovely but what really tipped me over the edge tempted me were the teeny balls of wool in their own box which, together with three 50g  balls of cream coloured Scheepjes Stone Washed yarn included in the kit, will make the blanket.

Be still my heart.

Fifty fabulous little 10g balls of wool.  Trouble is, they look so cute in their box, I don’t want to open it.  I might have to buy another one and hang it on the wall but that would be the work of a crazy woman.  Wouldn’t it?

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by craftycreeky on May 3, 2018 - 15:21

    Eliza’s baby is seriously cute, one day I shall try one of these animals, I’ve even got one of the books! As for the box of wool, even I would have fallen for it! It would make a lovely picture, but instead, if you have enough left, why not make a little square of each colour and arrange them in the same order to make a wall hanging 🙂

    • #2 by tialys on May 3, 2018 - 15:31

      Good idea – I knew I wouldn’t be the only crazy woman.

  2. #3 by katechiconi on May 3, 2018 - 15:29

    I fear it would be slightly, um, eccentric, to buy one just to look at. I suppose you could put it in a frame with a glass panel in front, and label it “In a yarn emergency, break glass”. Could you take a really good photo of it and hang a large print, perhaps in a shadow box…? The blanket is really beautiful, and Eliza’s puppy is gorgeous – will you call him Higgins? I think it suits him!

    • #4 by tialys on May 3, 2018 - 15:36

      I think I’m getting more and more eccentric actually. When I was in the U.K. last week, I was actually talking to strangers on trains and in queues. My daughters think I’m nuts but, at their age, I remember thinking it was seriously ‘uncool’ to chat to people at random. It probably still is ‘uncool’ but I no longer care.

      Higgins it is!! I am keeping these two but am hoping to get the art of dog whittling in wool down to a fine art – i.e. quick and acceptably well made – all the better to raise funds at the fairs we do for the old doggies.

      • #5 by katechiconi on May 3, 2018 - 15:52

        I think you’ve achieved a very acceptable result with young Higgins, I’d pay good money for him. Do you have plans for doggie trinkets for your yarn puppies – collars, bandanas, etc – to inspire dog owners to adorn their own canine companions?

      • #6 by tialys on May 3, 2018 - 16:15

        I did try one of my very smallest collars on him but his neck is too skinny. I think I’m going to make a teeny bandana for the next one. Bandanas always give a touch of ‘je ne sais quoi’ to any dog in my opinion.

      • #7 by claire93 on May 3, 2018 - 16:39

        Gibbs most definitely looks most debonnaire (spelling?) when he’s wearing his bandana ^^

      • #8 by tialys on May 3, 2018 - 18:23

        Of course he does – he’s a very dapper dog.

  3. #9 by claire93 on May 3, 2018 - 15:36

    how little is the little blanket going to be? Can’t be very large since there’s not much on a 15g ball.
    Kate’s idea, of taking a photo of the box, to frame, sounds like a brilliant idea to me . . . but then I like her “in yarn emergency” idea too lol.
    As for Eliza and pup – well done! I am so pleased to hear that all rabbits in the neighbourhood will have fair warning!

    • #10 by tialys on May 3, 2018 - 16:07

      Actually, there’s only 10g on a ball (my error) so even littler!! The measurements of the blanket are only 90 x 100cm so just right for lap or baby really.

  4. #11 by Jo on May 3, 2018 - 17:25

    Those little balls of yarn would tempt me too, how pretty they look encased in their box. I bet it will be a wrench to break into them. Your doggies are so cute, I really must have a go at amigurumi and then I can make one for myself.

    • #12 by tialys on May 3, 2018 - 18:22

      It will be a wrench – I might have to delay starting it for a little while just so I can feast my eyes a little longer.
      I’m hoping the pups will get even cuter as I get more used to them – I’ve a feeling they might sell well at the doggy fund raisers.

  5. #13 by Oh Sew Tempting on May 3, 2018 - 18:37

    Your new project looks lovely. I’d be sitting staring at all those little balls of yarn all day 🙂 The dogs are brilliant too. I love their expressions. Aw!

    • #14 by tialys on May 3, 2018 - 19:25

      There you go! Another crazy woman 🙂 We know what we like.

  6. #15 by magpiesue on May 3, 2018 - 19:30

    LOL! Call me crazy, I’m right there with you where the balls of wool are concerned. All those hand dyed flosses I’ve been buying sit in their plastic scrapbooking case (a convenient 12″ square) with the lid open right at my feet most of the time. Whenever I need a rainbow shot all I have to do is glance down. 😉

    Meanwhile, Eliza’s puppy looks for all the world like Snoopy from the Peanuts cartoons. Different coloring of course, but otherwise he could be a twin, certainly a litter mate!

    • #16 by tialys on May 4, 2018 - 08:21

      ‘A rainbow shot’ – a great way to describe it!
      The dogs in the pattern book are all made with the same shaped body which is indeed very Snoopy like. Only the heads, ears and tails are changed for the different types of dog.

  7. #17 by nanacathy2 on May 3, 2018 - 20:43

    Yes! You could hang it for a while and make the jewels one again! Love those woofers.

    • #18 by tialys on May 4, 2018 - 08:26

      I am very good at procrastination – especially when there’s a good reason – so I’ve started on a round blanket using one of those yarn cakes that has different colours as you go along ‘just to see how it turns out’. I only have one 200g yarn cake though so it will probably be a cushion rather than a blanket – then I’ll just have to open that box.

  8. #19 by nikkibnb on May 4, 2018 - 09:21

    Love how the newest dog has turned out, they look lovely together.

    • #20 by tialys on May 5, 2018 - 08:42

      Thanks Nikki – I don’t think I’m going to be able to separate mother and son so I suppose I’ll have to find a corner of my workroom where they can sit happily together looking cute.

  9. #21 by Kim on May 4, 2018 - 12:13

    Eliza and pup are gorgeous – I agree with katechiconi, I would pay happily for one of them.
    I also think the box of yarn looks fabulous. Definitely art. Enjoy making the blanket (eventually 😉).

    • #22 by tialys on May 5, 2018 - 08:40

      Thanks Kim – I think it’s going to be fun making it, once I allow myself to open the box.

  10. #23 by KerryCan on May 4, 2018 - 12:34

    That is brilliant marketing of the blanket kit! The yarn colors, boxed up like that, would be impossible for many of us to resist (and I don’t even crochet!) You’ve got a lot of goodness in this post–those pups have distinct personalities!

    • #24 by tialys on May 5, 2018 - 08:39

      I know you can buy the boxes separately from the pattern but I was glad of a bit of guidance on how to use such tiny balls of wool.

  11. #25 by mariannasew2pro on May 4, 2018 - 23:23

    Adorable!

    • #26 by tialys on May 5, 2018 - 08:38

      Thank you – I’m rather taken with them myself.

  12. #27 by Lindashee on May 7, 2018 - 16:10

    These dogs and the jewel blanket are absolutely gorgeous ! Like Kate said the box of yarn sounds like a DIY project, like a wall cabinet/shelf to store all your different colours neatly and free of dust. You could just fill the gaps back in later by buying more wool.

    • #28 by tialys on May 7, 2018 - 20:12

      Thank you! I’ll take any excuse to increase my stash of wool and this one’s as good as any 🙂

  13. #29 by sewchet on May 8, 2018 - 23:04

    After your admission, I feel okay confiding that I have not one but TWO unopened boxes of coloured threads because it pleases me to look at them intact! Pleased to hear that you now love Eliza complete with all her facial ‘imperfections’, and surprised to see that she already has a companion!

  14. #31 by Ramona on June 26, 2018 - 13:51

    So so cute! I love how they turned out! ❤

    • #32 by tialys on June 26, 2018 - 15:27

      Thank you. I’m wanting to make a Westie for my sister next – I’ve started it but having trouble with the loop stitch. I need to sit in front of a YouTube video while I’m actually hooking. Thank goodness for the internet!

      • #33 by Ramona on June 26, 2018 - 16:20

        Hehe, you’re right. This is how I learned to crochet, I followed a video on YouTube. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.